We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for Aurora viewing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Borealis Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed in early Decemeber 2016 for 4 nights as a family and were blessed to see the lights every night! This is a superb location to view the lights as there is no light pollution, unblocked views and apparently, the chances of clear skies appear to pretty high here. We stayed in Cedar Lodge upper floor rooms which had large windows facing where the lights usually have their display. Our room was very clean, spacious, well appointed and warm. Loved the heated toilet seats! The fully equipped kitchen even had a rice cooker! There's a walkie talkie set in each room for to buzz us in the middle of the night when the lights come on.

Mok, the lodge's wonderfully gracious owner, helped us set up our camera and also took some great family photos on his camera for a small fee. The main viewing lodge was well stocked with hot drinks and cookies. Excellent alternative to zip in out of a warm and cozy place to catch the lights if you don't want to do it from your room.

Look no further if you want the perfect place to view the northern lights.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Borealis Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We went to Fairbanks for my daughter's sweet 16 and stayed in Logan's Chalet. It was worth every penny! Mok was a wonderful host---and the views are AMAZING! Mok was
quite helpful with finding things out about Fairbanks prior to the trip---always willing and available to answer questions. The Chalet is BEAUTIFUL---warm---comfortable---everything you could ask for----we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank poundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The Aurora Borealis Lodge was amazing! Mok and his family are so welcoming and kind. We traveled to Fairbanks to see the lights. We stayed eight nights and saw the lights five nights, two nights they were pretty faint but three nights were great for pictures. Our stay was divided between two rooms (one on top and one on the bottom) and they were both fantastic. The rooms have a great layout, they are spacious and very clean. Everything about lodge is so peaceful. I watched the sunrise every morning, the sunset every night, and multiple light displays all from the comfort of my room. My family will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 for three nights and room 2 for five nights (both were amazing).
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CharleeA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Despite the name, where you see the Aurora is a house, not a "hotel". We were picked up at our hotel and arrived at the Lodge around 10 pm. The Aurora was just starting as a green glow in the NE sky. It grew throughout the evening, spanning the sky from east to west. This is a good location for viewing because you are at the top of Cleary Summit with 180 degree view of the north sky. Mok took some great pictures of us with the Aurora. The Lodge felt crowded inside, but there is plenty of room outside on the deck. Hot drinks, cookies, an inside bathroom and a place to warm up made this ideal for Aurora viewing.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Roxy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We LOVED seeing the Northern Lights on our first night in Fairbanks. The lodge was comfortable and warm, quiet with candles to preserve the ambience.

Mok was kind enough to help me with camera settings and my pictures appeared more impressive than seeing them with the naked eye. We stayed until 2am as promised.

After one night, tourists could drive to Cleary Summit on their own. Or we also saw the lights on our way back from Chena Hot Springs.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the lodge; just went for viewing Aurora.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank ryser7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
30.4 km away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,206 reviews
23.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
27.2 km away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
29.3 km away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
394 reviews
1.7 km away
Mount Aurora Lodge
Mount Aurora Lodge
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Borealis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Borealis Lodge

Address: Cleary Summit Rd., 1906 Ridge Run Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range: RM836 - RM940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Aurora Borealis Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing