We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borealis Stay(Fairbanks)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$129
Bear Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
9th Ave Hostel(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borealis Inn(Fairbanks)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Alaska Heritage House(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ah Rose Marie Bed and Breakfast(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brennan's B&B(Fairbanks)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
217
16
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
16
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalkie talkieheated toilet seatcamera settingsbig windowsaurora borealisnorthern lightscleary summitviewing deckhot drinks and cookiesdaytime viewsoy saucebucket listprofessional cameranaked eyetake pictureswell equipped kitchenwhite mountains
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We went to Fairbanks for my daughter's sweet 16 and stayed in Logan's Chalet. It was worth every penny! Mok was a wonderful host---and the views are AMAZING! Mok was
quite helpful with finding things out about Fairbanks prior to the trip---always willing and available to answer questions. The Chalet is BEAUTIFUL---warm---comfortable---everything you could ask for----we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank poundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The Aurora Borealis Lodge was amazing! Mok and his family are so welcoming and kind. We traveled to Fairbanks to see the lights. We stayed eight nights and saw the lights five nights, two nights they were pretty faint but three nights were great for pictures. Our stay was divided between two rooms (one on top and one on the bottom) and they were both fantastic. The rooms have a great layout, they are spacious and very clean. Everything about lodge is so peaceful. I watched the sunrise every morning, the sunset every night, and multiple light displays all from the comfort of my room. My family will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 for three nights and room 2 for five nights (both were amazing).
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CharleeA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Despite the name, where you see the Aurora is a house, not a "hotel". We were picked up at our hotel and arrived at the Lodge around 10 pm. The Aurora was just starting as a green glow in the NE sky. It grew throughout the evening, spanning the sky from east to west. This is a good location for viewing because you are at the top of Cleary Summit with 180 degree view of the north sky. Mok took some great pictures of us with the Aurora. The Lodge felt crowded inside, but there is plenty of room outside on the deck. Hot drinks, cookies, an inside bathroom and a place to warm up made this ideal for Aurora viewing.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Roxy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We LOVED seeing the Northern Lights on our first night in Fairbanks. The lodge was comfortable and warm, quiet with candles to preserve the ambience.

Mok was kind enough to help me with camera settings and my pictures appeared more impressive than seeing them with the naked eye. We stayed until 2am as promised.

After one night, tourists could drive to Cleary Summit on their own. Or we also saw the lights on our way back from Chena Hot Springs.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the lodge; just went for viewing Aurora.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank ryser7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

If you are traveling in a group of 3-4 people, the Logan's Chalet at Aurora Borealis Lodge would be your best choice. We stayed three nights. The chalet was absolutely neat, and there is a kitchen. With a private observation deck and Mok's call through walkie-talkie from 9 pm to 2 am, it was quite easy and pleasant experience: we stayed in door warmly and only went outside when aurora was out. We were very lucky to see the best Aurora of the season on our first day there. Mok was extremely helpful. Not only he sent us aurora alert, but also he taught us helpful photography techniques. If you stay there and are not good at photography, definitely ask him about it once you arrive. There were snow boots for guests' uses. We took an hour walk around the lodge and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: best views, helpful owner, neat rooms, convenience
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews