We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
226
16
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
16
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walkie talkie heated toilet seat camera settings viewing deck aurora borealis northern lights cleary summit facing windows hot drinks and cookies soy sauce bucket list naked eye take pictures toaster oven photography tips snow shoes three nights
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

I stayed at the Aurora Borealis Lodge for 4 nights from April 5-10. To say it was superb is an understatement. I was lucky enough to see the Aurora EVERY SINGLE NIGHT. My room, which was room 2 in the Cedar Lodge was beautiful. The views were great. Mok was very accommodating and I could not ask for a better place to stay. The amenities were beautiful and clean. The wake up call if the lights were out was perfect! I wouldn't even attempt to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: April 2018
4  Thank suelotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Reservations were easily made online, we were picked up promptly at our hotel, the Aurora began as we were arriving at the Lodge and Mok greeted us but held his talk until the lights tapered a bit. There was hot chocolate and cookies during the quiet times, and while the lights were active, Mok used his photography skills to get fabulous photos to keep our memories fresh. Highly recommended for professional and courteous service to everyone.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We spent three nights in Fairbanks for aurora viewing, and this was hands-down the best spot. We used our 4WD rental car to get here, which was an easy trip from Fairbanks. The ability to sit inside when the aurora fades was essential, and even at capacity it never felt crowded.
Mok is also great at communication -- he was texting us before we arrived to let us know that the forecast for clouds was NOT accurate and we should head up the lodge. He also offers photos, which he's clearly an expert at. His photo was better than anything I could do myself (and is to date still my most-liked Instagram photo ever).
A must visit!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Mok was organized, polite, friendly, and warm to his guests. Reservation and wait list were promptly communicated and follow up. The cabin was comfortable, although a little too dark inside, and the location offered the best view of the Northern Light. The bonus is that Mok offered to take pictures of us with the light which we couldn't ever capture on our own, a best value to remember our trip. This outing was the highlight of our trip to Fairbank, Alaska.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Je M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We visited the Aurora Borealis Lodge for an Aurora viewing session in early/mid-March. We were deciding between a more active “aurora seeker” tour and a viewing session like this. We were quite happy with the lodge viewing session- we loved the opportunity to go outside when the Aurora were active, but also to stay warm inside when things died down.

The lodge owner goes out of his way to ensure a great experience. You are picked up at your hotel. You have about 3.5 hours to view the Aurora during peak viewing time. We had about 15 people in the lodge our night, but it could easily hold double that. There are comfy couches to rest on and very large viewing windows. There is a huge porch for viewing and taking photos. Mok (the owner) can offer camera setting and photography tips. He even had an extra battery charger for when the cold temperatures caused our battery to die much sooner than expected. He can also take photos with his camera that he will sell for a small fee. While you’re in the lodge, there are hot drinks and cookies. Bring more layers than you think you will need as the temperature will drop during the time you are there!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews