We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
11
32
33
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
32
33
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews donuts room was clean view of the lake older hotel desk staff hotel experience other hotels location is excellent walking distance would stay again gunflint tavern sound of the waves squawking lakeside soaps renovation gulls
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This was our 2nd stay here. Beds are comfortable, older hotel, plenty of cable tv channels if the weather is bad. Great view of lake superior, especially if you have a lakeside view. Nice cement patio to sit out on. Bathroom soaps/ shampoos are downright good, Off street parking, Clean rooms. The downside, needs all new windows- still single pane windows, which do work, just a little stiff in opening and closing. No elevator to the 2nd floor. Room darkening curtains in our room had holes in them, mini frig control temp control button was missing. I wish they would power wash the cement deck at least once per day and clean off the seegull poop from the deck and tables thru out the day for the patrons, and whatever they can do for the comfortable padded chair cushions. The hotel has an old- musty or smoky smell to it. It appears the reinvestment by the owner in the hotel is minimal at best. Breakfast is minimal, cereal- milk (whole milk I think) donuts and bread/ toast. All of these items are easily correctable if the owner desires to proceed, with the exception of the elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This ok s an older hotel, but always clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, within walking distance of restaurants and shops. It is a bit pricey for an older hotel, but in line with the other hotels in town.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are more expensive, but have a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCM196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Hotels aren't cheap in grand marais. We should've gone to the super 8 so my buddy wouldn't be so hard on me choosing here. Comfy beds, great views!! Walk a block to the co op, sven and oles, and gunflint tavern. Totally clean

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank adamwaultee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

On enterance, we had to wait and call for staff to come to help at 6pm. Staff came out carrying food and eating. Bed was comfortable. The room we were in was very hard to control the heat. We had to leave the window open. Shower was hot. Room was quiet on the 1st floor. Room was clean but, mold continues to grow in the shower/tub tiles. Spilled paint on the carpet we were told they are getting new carpet. Breakfast was basic, muffins were dry, but coffee was good.It's very hard to find a place that is reasonable to stay in this town even in off season.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lwpmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

As soon as I walked in we received a warm greeting and my son was given a toy! We visited in the off season and since they weren’t booked up we were upgraded to a top facing the lake at no charge. They made sure we were comfortable and were so nice and helpful. I’ve never had a better hotel experience!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews