We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
38
11
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
11
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camper cabin wonderful week short walk camping trip northern mn fire pit gun flint shari frame campsite canada grandparents miles lakes paddle dog trail
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Well it took me a while to write this. Was there in mid August camping. Came 400 miles from the UP of Mich and was it worth it. Great central location to travel from. Wildlife was all over the place. The best part was meeting with Shari and Sandy in the morning for coffee. In the evenings their get togethers down at the boat landing for the familys and kids are second to none. Definitely going back next summer. This time hopefully for 2 weeks

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank mattpaup58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintPinesBakers, Owner at Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We enjoyed coffee with you too, and may have to have a mug set aside just for you when you return! Thanks for the kind words - Hope to see you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Been coming here for 7 years and should have given a review a long time ago! Wonderful, relaxing campground with an excellent staff. We have stayed in the campground and the A-frames and cabins, love them all. I have already reserved for 2018!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank trinette11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintPinesBakers, Owner at Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Always love hosting your family! Summer or winter - but especially over the 4th of July! See you sooner than we think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The area is absolutely gorgeous; our daily canoe trips on smaller lakes near-by were the highlight of the trip. And we loved that there was no cell service or WiFi. Nice that we weren't checking our phones all the time!

The resort is very relaxed and dog friendly, which counts for a lot in our book. Overall this outweighed the negatives below.

It seemed very understaffed, as far as we could tell it was just Shari, her not terribly helpful son and another young man doing everything. Probably because of this, there seemed to be quite a bit of deferred maintenance. And you could never just quickly pop into the office/store to ask a question or buy something, because Shari was always on the phone having lengthy conversations with potential customers. And since she was the only one working, you'd wait, and wait and wait. And she just seemed burned out, which is understandable, but not very conducive to feeling welcome.

We stayed in an A-frame, even though a cabin would have fit our group, because we were told that the A-frames are on the water. This is not really true. Only A-Frame #1 has true lake access. The other three are set back from the lake, with limited views of the lake due to the trees and no path down to the shore. The deck on our cabin was very small...and because of the mosquitoes we spent almost no time on it.

The first floor of the cabin was nice. Sadly, there weren't screens on the doors or the lake-facing-windows, so you couldn't get a lake breeze.

My main complaint/concern was with the 2nd floor. First of all it was reached by a very, very steep open stairway (hint: if you have little kids don't stay in an A-frame!!) which did not have a light, so the poor person sleeping upstairs had a perilous climb up to bed. Also the stairway opened directly onto one of the bedrooms...so if a person were to get up to use the bathroom at night and miscalculated where the hallway was, there could be a very nasty fall. All I could think is "a lawsuit waiting to happen!"

All in all if we were to do it again we'd stay in one of the cabins. Granted they are across the drive from the lake, but the view from the A-frame wasn't great anyway. And the cabins have screened-in-porches, which in the summer is way better than a deck!

Room tip: A-Frame #1 is the only cabin/A-frame with true access to the lake.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoSoCak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintPinesBakers, Owner at Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your review and constructive comments - it's actually very helpful. Yes we were understaffed this past summer. We usually run with a staff of 4. This particular summer we decided to get by with 3 because the returning staff member was a strong, motivated and equal player in our team so after discussion we decided it was more beneficial than trying to train in another for such a short period of real need - unfortunately our "plan" did not work out as planned when the 3rd member had a family member die unexpectedly just as things ramped up for the peak of season. Finding summer help in such a remote area for such a short time and expect them to learn all that is necessary to run a small resort is almost impossible and would be unfair to the hired person as this is not just one job, but many, many different jobs at once. I made a mistake and learned from it. I sincerely apologize.

Your other comments will be taken to heart to see what we can do about them. (P. S. There are screens on both doors, but they are "screenway" doors which roll up out of the way - we have since put labels on them so guests know they are there!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a spa to be pampered in, this is not the place for you. That said, this is an outdoorsman dream come true. No TV, phone, cell service or internet. We atayed in one of the A-frame on the lake. Very rustic cabin like but had everything you might need. Full kitchen set up, 3 bedrooms including one in the loft. Balcony with chairs to sit and enjoy the view to Canada. Kayaks and canoes as well as a paddle boat are at your disposal. Very nice dock area with fire ring. We could only stat one night this time but will be back wit the rest of the family. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintPinesBakers, Owner at Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed our neck of the woods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights on a site next to the lake. IT WAS PERFECT! The fire ring was next to the lake. The sites were well maintained and great for tent or campers. Everything you need is here we rented a boat, some kayaks, they have games in the office area, groceries and ice cream. The area was quite and beautiful. Definitely will be back again!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintPinesBakers, Owner at Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you Kathy! We'll look forward to hosting you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews