We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$277
US$259
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Creek Lodge(Gatlinburg)
US$139
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$229
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Edge Motor Lodge(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bent Creek Golf Village(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveller rating
1,289
131
39
45
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,289
131
39
45
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablehot tubrain showertheater roomdoor codebeautiful cabinsurround soundluxury cabingas grillthese cabinsarts and crafts communitythe lower levelair hockeyour honeymoonfood citypigeon forgeanother cabin
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our family stayed in 3 cabins for our biennial family reunion. The cabins we rented were: Diamond In The Rough, Lumber Jack and Serenity. I had the pleasure of staying in 2 cabins. Other family members rented smaller cabins and some rented local hotels because of the wild life. In all there was a little over 60 of us who gathered daily for the events. We all loved the cabins. They were clean, well supplied with kitchen appliances including cutlery, cups, glasses, plates, refrigerator, microwave and range. We utilized the BBQ grill and the hot tub. We were all really pleased. There were several other family members that came up for our family gatherings which included a family breakfast, a luncheon, a Pajama/House Party and our Western Night. We aged from 15 months up to 70+. This was the best yet! Everything was beautiful including the scenery, the cabins and the fellowship. We had lots of food and a lot of family members so we had to have the trash emptied daily. We called maintenance and there was never a problem getting anything we needed.
The roads are dark and narrow at night so we got our food and supplies and made it back up to the cabins before night fall.
My immediate family and stayed an additional day in the Serenity Cabin to go to Dollywood. We had a wonderful time at the theme park and the staff was most friendly. Especially Sherry who works at the Big Skillet stand.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabins in the mountains. Get there during daylight, the roads are dark and narrow.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, Indiana
43
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I like short reviews so here is the bottom line: PICK THESE CABINS! If you want more info, keep reading...

We stayed at the Ridgetop Retreat (#50) cabin and it was better than the pictures on the website! This particular cabin was located at the Legacy Mountain Resort which is perfectly located for anything you would want to do. It's 15 minutes from Pigeon Forge, 20 minutes from Sevierville, and 20 minutes from Gatlinburg. Peacefully located on the side of a hilltop with a picturesque view that should be in a movie or on a post card. We only did a quick weekend getaway but kept telling ourselves that we could spend a couple days just laying around this cabin, reading on one of the two decks, playing pool, sitting in the hot tub, or just watching tv on a rainy day. We wish we could have picked up this cabin and taken it home with us. We will be back with the kids and bring family or friends.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Our family of four stayed at Hawks Ridge for a week. It's a beautiful cabin, even nicer than the pictures. The location couldn't be better, far enough to feel secluded but close enough to get to everything quickly. We did lose a/c at one point but they had it fixed within four hours. We had more than enough room and the views were gorgeous from the decks. The kitchen had everything we needed and we loved the game room and old school video games. I would stay here again. Thank you for a memorable family vacation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank KatrinaRose223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Our family of 21 (grandma age 80, 6-age 50 something, 9 age 25-30, and 4 little ones ages 1-5, just returned from Elk Springs Resort- Big Bear Lodge. This property gets a 4.5 star rating from our family. We would all go back and recommend it highly to friends traveling to the area. We have rented a summer vacation home every year for over 30 years in various places around the central and southern US, so we know the details that families are looking for and have a lot to compare this property to.

It is in the mountains, and it is a beautiful drive up the mountain!
The parking area is large (probably comfortably 8 parking spaces) and is on a flat plain area of the mountain so seems very safe. It is only 20-25 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg and Dollywood, so very convenient between the 2 towns either way you go, and not a difficult drive between either, in fact, enjoyable.
The decks are very usable and safe as long as an adult stays with the kiddos. The lower level has a convenient outdoor hose so we filled up a little blow up pool for our young kids next to the hot tub that they used daily.
The kitchen is well equipped, blender, bullet, skillets, wine glasses, mixer, large fridge, and another small one for drinks on the top level.
The bedrooms all have their own mirror and sink, so no need to feel like you are taking up the bathroom for lengths of time to do hair or apply make-up. VERY convenient… the best set up for bedrooms/bathrooms I have ever seen in 30 years of vacation rentals.

Each floor has its own central air conditioner unit and temperature control, so none of the freezing up if you like to run it a 70-72 that can be a problem in large rentals. Bedroom stayed cool even on the top floor.

Pool table is in a huge room, plenty of space to have other things going on around it, like a table for family puzzle, card game, we even set up our giant Jenga game and used it while Pool games were going on in the same room.

There are 3 simple things Elk Springs could do to make this place more marketable to vacation renters, and just bump it up to an above and beyond “5” place to stay:

1. Update your website photos and information, there are some key misleading photos and information on there, particularly about pool access and theater room. Describe a better layout of the building and add a picture of the front of the building, not the rocking chairs out back. We agree the view is beautiful, but the front of the house would be a lot more helpful when finding it and understanding the parking and 3 levels. Some of the website information is sketchy and misleading. There is not a “theater room” even though I called and specifically asked, I was misinformed. It is and awesome projector on a screen in the middle floor family/game room. There are 2 couches that do not have tiered seating facing it, in the middle of a huge room in front of a theater size screen. Directly behind the couches is air hockey and foosball, so it had to be a choice of games or TV on that level, because both games get rowdy. The website video and information both show and describe access to a pool. There is no pool, even at the main Elk Springs property area. I called Elk Springs the day before and they were honest that the website is wrong. They were very vague and just said “there is a community center you can go to for something like $2” We had to do our own search for it and that took time, and it is $4 a person. We also did a search for a children’s water area, also $4 a person. Both are a 25 minute drive.

2. Provide specific information for accessing a pool and fitness center in the area. At least put available community option in the area, what exactly they offer for all ages, directions to a pool/fitness area, and the cost on a laminated card at the house or in your welcome letter. Even better, get an agreement with the fitness/pool access places in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and include it with maybe a small discount. Travels should not need to waste vacation time searching for simple things like that and guessing at the best options for various ages. I even called and emailed ahead to Elk Springs and asked these questions but got vague answers. Please do a better job of describing the layout of this house on the website, add a floor plan. The main level is actually the lowest level, kitchen/living room and 2 bedrooms. This is the quietest bedroom level for young children who take naps and our 80 year old grandma to navigate. Big groups need to work out who will be where BEFORE arrival. Grandma, age 80, ended up on the top floor, luckily she is still in great shape and a trooper when hiking up and down stairs all day.
3. Update the technology at the house a little more professionally. The entire house, all common areas and bedrooms have Direct TV which is awesome, including the primary TV in the theater “area” on the middle floor. The theater TV has surround sound, but it is an old amplifier that is not compatible with hdmi dvd/blue-ray for audio. So if using just TV it works perfect but to actually watch a DVD, you can’t connect the audio of updated components, except for the little speaker on the projector. WiFi is good on the main floor if not too many people are using it at the same time, however, on the top 2 floors it was weak, and most of us ended up using our phone as a hotspot.

Elk Springs staff made check in and out easy, sent maintenance within 2 hours when we called about a couple of very minor things.
Thank you from our entire family!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thelucketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Just finished a wonderful family vacation for 7 nights at this beautiful cabin located on Webb Creek. We had 6 adults and 3 children. The highlight of the trip was the cabin location on the creek which was beautifully landscaped. Our day started with coffee on the porch overlooking the creek and moved on to playing in the creek. Located next to the creek is a swing and bench. Family meals were enjoyed on the screen porch which has seating for 10-12 adults. All of the bedrooms were very comfortable. We grilled a couple of nights on the covered porch/outdoor fireplace. A new gas grill was nice. My daughters and granddaughters spent time in the hot tub and enjoyed it. From the time we turned into the driveway we fell in love with the cabin and the landscaping. Creeksong is located just close enough to Gatlinburg but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility of The Smokies.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 957rwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. This cabin certainly is very special for a lot of reasons. *** Reminder: as a repeat guest you get 10% off all future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews