We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveller rating
954
282
53
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
282
53
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake manyara tented camp happy hour stir fry swimming pool maasai guide lunch box nature walk animals roaming buffet style canvas walls short drive view of the lake mosquito netting dining area watching the sunset guided walk
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Our family (mom, son, & grandmother) really enjoyed this lodging for 2 nights as we explored the nearby parks of Tarangire & Lake Manyara (not too bad a drive for either) in late June 2018.

The service was wonderful - be sure to enjoy the samosas by the pool during happy hour! Our triple tent was very comfortable, with 2 extra wide twins and a larger queen in the middle. They do turndown service while you are at dinner, so be sure to keep the beds free of too many personal items/suitcases (they thought we didn't want to use one of the beds because we had so much stuff on it).

We got different responses to "is the water safe for us to use our toothbrushes?" so we opted to use the watercooler in the room (very nice - hot & cold water at your disposal!). There is also coffee and tea in the room as well as a safe, fans, hair dryers, hot water in showers, and "normal" flushing toilets.

The long "driveway" into the camp is full of wildlife, and there are lots of animals all around, especially zebra, wildebeest, & gazelles by the pool, and even a family of warthogs under the raised pool platform. We also saw giraffes on our way in one day.

The camp has lots to offer - pool (not heated, but beautiful setting!), incredible views of lake and wildlife, laundry services crazy inexpensive (most items were $1 each), luxurious tents, baggage service for hauling your gear, good food, friendly service, guides to get you to your tent after dinner (it is very dark when the sun goes down, so you have to be escorted from 7:30pm until 6am), and a lovely store with plenty of essentials and splurges alike.

Highly recommend this camp! It never felt like we were "roughing it" or having to make any sacrifices.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkhollis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Some friends recommended us to stay in this hotel and it was a success. The service is very good, but especially the views from any point of the hotel are impressive. Completely recommended for couples on honeymoons, we were treated to luxury with all services included!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adedaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

This stay was at the end of our safari and proved to be a great place to finish. Staff are enthusiastic and we loved our sunset walk with our Masai. Lots of knowledge and laughs. I finally found some elusive flamingoes. The tents are spacious with all that you need- running shower, fresh chilled drinking water and a comfortable bed. Food was great based on a buffet style and the make your own picnic lunches was the best I had seen in our travels. Sundowners by the pool overlooking the lake was a great way to end the day, with snacks and beverages. Plenty of animals roaming around and security was great walking you to and. From your tent at night. A great tented camp!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TrudyN650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanganyika W, Manager at Maramboi Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Trudy,
Thank you for choosing Maramboi Tented Camp during your stay in Tanzania and thank you for sharing your observation via Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of Maramboi team I would like to take this moment to welcome you back at Maramboi Tented lodge.
Thanks,
Tamia Ndossa,
Maramboi Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This was the first camp we stayed at on our 9 day safari near Tarangire National Park in Tanzania. The view was breath-taking and the people were so warm and friendly. They took very good care of us. The breakfasts were varied and delicious, with everything anyone could want, whether you are from the USA, Europe, Africa, the Middle East or anywhere else. The lunches and dinners were also great! Everything was so comfortable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanganyika W, Manager at Maramboi Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Sandee,
Thank you for choosing Maramboi Tented Camp during your stay in Tanzania and thank you for sharing your observation via Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of Maramboi team I would like to take this moment to welcome you back at Maramboi Tented lodge.
Thanks,
Tamia Ndossa,
Maramboi Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We arrived at 6pm after visiting Tarangire and left early the next morning for Lake Manyara. We were really impressed with the property, but more importantly the service.

PROS:
Amazing Views of lake and wildlife
Free Happy Hour with drinks and snacks with a fantastic view. (get there before sunset)
Fantastic Staff in all regards and every respect. Friendly, helpful, well trained.
Amazing Food for all meals. (breakfast crepes and dinner buffet were fabulous)
Great shower
Nice rooms
Good wifi-all things considered.

CONS:
Honestly, nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanganyika W, Manager at Maramboi Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Avi,
Thank you for choosing Maramboi Tented Camp during your stay in Tanzania and thank you for sharing your observation via Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of Maramboi team I would like to take this moment to welcome you back at Maramboi Tented lodge.
Thanks,
Tamia Ndossa,
Maramboi Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews