We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
115
21
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
21
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant journeylobby barnice staffeasechoices
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015

It is a smaller China city so not a real vibe in this city. But this is a nice Oasis , with a great gym, an indoor pool so work outs covered, and the food was serviceable and the hotel price is very reasonable.
I consider ti the best property in the city.,

Room Tip: away form the Walmart , the front of the hotel, to noisy
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Location: Central Yixing near city government building. 10min walk to the central park. Not on the water.

Room: Very Good. What you would expect for a 5 star. Actually Hojos in China are much higher end. We were in a suite which is worth paying a bit extra for the space. Bed and furnishings very comfortable.

Facilities: Good. Indoor pool was decent with little people. The Club Lounge was disappointing compared to other hotels. They would only place a few snacks out since they don't get many visitors.

F&B: Decent. What you would expect of a 5 star in a 2nd tier city in China. Lots of variety but low on quality. Nothing to rave about, but filling for breakfast before a day of tourism. Not a destination.

Service: Decent. Nothing special, but at least attentive which you would expect of a 5 star.

Summary: Actually very good value for a 5 star and in a good location. A bit older than the Kempinski and Le Meridien which would be the other 2 options, but location is a bit more central. Upgrade to a suite if the cost difference is not much to enhance the experience.

Room Tip: Suites are nice and do not cost that much more.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I came to Yixing for visiting a factory. The hotel is certainly a 5-star, situated in a beautiful city. Clean rooms, nice restaurant, and with live signing at the lobby bar. This hotel is well maintained and I enjoy staying here.. Keep up with the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Howard Johnson Garden Plaza Hotel is the first international chain hotel in Yixing. It has everything a 5-star hotel could offer but only charges you at a 3-star hotel price.

I traveled to Yixing for business many times over the past three years and always chose to stay at HJ Garden Plaza for its great value for money. This hotel offers guests a particularly cozy and warm ambience which made me feel like home. The rooms are generally spacious, especially for the bathroom. But they do have at least three different kinds of "standard room" configurations. Be sure to choose the ones without the other connecting room. They're bigger in space and less noisy.

Its buffet breakfast is just about average. It's probably the only thing not up to a 5-star hotel standard. But with the price we pay, there's really nothing to complain...

Room Tip: Choose the non-connection rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenFunIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

As a frequent business traveler this hotel's room facilities really make me feel like home. I could always recharge myself for another busy day!

Of course, the live music performance in the lobby is my must-do event for my happy hour."

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews