We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$211
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$89
    US$77
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lake Palace Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$84
    US$65
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
    US$110
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$47
    US$36
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Savings alert! 35% below average rates

    The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$70
    US$59
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Kait's Home - Farm Life Resorts(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$16
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Aamy's Home Stay(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    US$21
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Dazzle Dew(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (89)
    Filter reviews
    89 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    30
    16
    16
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    19
    30
    16
    16
    8
    See what travellers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 89 reviews
    Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

    We were around 18 persons, booked 6 Air conditioner rooms. The hotel is a mixture of old and new. The main old block was built way back in 1946. 3 of our rooms were in old block and 3 were new built cottages.

    The rooms in the old block were spacious enough and the bathroom was so big and clean. The new built cottages rooms were furnished beautifully but the bathrooms were little bit congestive but clean.

    There was no running hot water. One needs to ask the room boys for hot water.

    The hotel in charge Mr. Binu was so helpful. We are pure vegetarians. He helped us get good food all the time. He guided us in our sightseeing plan. He arranged us a boat ride in the backwaters.

    All the service persons were so helpful and kind. The dining area was very likeable one. Children enjoyed playing in the vast area near entrance.

    We enjoyed our stay in Gowri.

    Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    Thank Karthik_Svpr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Binu D, Manager at Gowri Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

    Dear Mr Karthik,

    We at Gowri thank you for taking time out to review us. It is always our pleasure and duty to serve our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you at Gowri Residence soon in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 September 2015

    I was with a group of 15 and we booked a few nights from information available via Lonely Planet... mistake. The place has the potential to be good but first it would need to develop a decent service culture, water that runs (and occasionally warm would be nice), and reduce the number of cockroaches running around. The number of mosquitoes is a pain which was not the case at another location in the same town that was also near the waterways.
    We had rooms based in the main building, that were generally alright (accepting the comments above). We left after two nights after we had found somewhere better, and cheaper (not that that was the reason for moving).
    There are many places to stay in this town... this would not be one that I would choose to go to again.

    • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ian B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Binu D, Manager at Gowri Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

    Dear Guest,

    We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the bad experience you had at Gowri Residence. We also apologize for the delay in responding to the same, as there has been a change in the management at Gowri Residence.
    We really appreciate your comments and we have taken up all the issues you mentioned in your review and much more. We have been working towards transforming Gowri residence since November 2016 and the renovation work is still going on.
    I assure you of a memorable stay at Gowri Residence the next time you are visiting.
    Thanking you once again and we assure you of the best.

    Best regards
    Binu D

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 May 2015

    The two nights spent on this converted rice barge cruising the Kerala backwaters have been the highlight of our month in India. The scenery was fantastic and the staff and food was exemplary. The area is picturesque and to witness the daily routines of life of Keralan’s as the go about their business was fascinating. The first we moored for the night was off from a little village and not the nicest spot but that is, along with the flying bugs at night of course, the only negative. The bathroom was a bit average but most time is spent on deck anyway. A big positive as A/C at night, great move! The second night we moored in a much nicer spot and had the best meal we’ve had in India by far. We’re vegetarian so the chef cooked homely style Indian and Keralan food. It was next level amazing and we were able to get the recipes from chef the following morning for which we are infinitely appreciative.

    Room Tip: Open your mind and heart to vegetarian food and the chef will make you some of the best home style Keralan cooking!
    • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Ben S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 February 2015

    Pretty tired location, lot of construction half finished around the site. More mosquitoes than any of the other places we stayed, the staff were alternately absent or asleep at the desk. Food on site was OK, but sitting outside as a group in the evening was not possible even with 80% DEET. No hot water, sometimes no water.

    • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Joseph B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 January 2015

    for all pot heads if u want weed there, vishnu is the manager of gowri you can ask him a bit costly but we can njy the trip And if u want to go to beach go to marari beach its really good and for food u can order from gowri itself or you can have food in thaff restaurant nearby 500m reasonable rates and after getting stoned go to 'cutie pie' you can have pastries their and i miss gowri and you can take bikes for rent also

    • Stayed: January 2015
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank preetam99
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews