We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager really cares AND they have a great houseboat!”
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #131 of 200 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2016

A very pretty place with gardens, nice location to visit temples/shops, reasonable prices. When the DVD player in the room didn't work, the manager rewired the whole system for us. They were really nice about anything we needed (and travelling with kids, we needed lots of things).

We used their houseboat for an overnight trip - oh my goodness - beautiful trip and FOOD we will always remember. (It was THAT good!) They stop and let you pick your own seafood for dinner, and can arrange things like a stop for a massage. It was really, really lovely.

Room Tip: they have one room that's like a treehouse. we liked the cabin-style rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binu D, Manager at Gowri Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We at Gowri Residence take our roles very seriously and try everyday to provide quality customer service and care that our guests expect. Your kind comments are much valued and encourage us to constantly work towards keeping our guests happy.
Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you and serving you on your next trip to Alleppey.

Best regards,
Binu D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Gowri Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We were around 18 persons, booked 6 Air conditioner rooms. The hotel is a mixture of old and new. The main old block was built way back in 1946. 3 of our rooms were in old block and 3 were new built cottages.

The rooms in the old block were spacious enough and the bathroom was so big and clean. The new built cottages rooms were furnished beautifully but the bathrooms were little bit congestive but clean.

There was no running hot water. One needs to ask the room boys for hot water.

The hotel in charge Mr. Binu was so helpful. We are pure vegetarians. He helped us get good food all the time. He guided us in our sightseeing plan. He arranged us a boat ride in the backwaters.

All the service persons were so helpful and kind. The dining area was very likeable one. Children enjoyed playing in the vast area near entrance.

We enjoyed our stay in Gowri.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Karthik_Svpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binu D, Manager at Gowri Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Mr Karthik,

We at Gowri thank you for taking time out to review us. It is always our pleasure and duty to serve our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you at Gowri Residence soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I was with a group of 15 and we booked a few nights from information available via Lonely Planet... mistake. The place has the potential to be good but first it would need to develop a decent service culture, water that runs (and occasionally warm would be nice), and reduce the number of cockroaches running around. The number of mosquitoes is a pain which was not the case at another location in the same town that was also near the waterways.
We had rooms based in the main building, that were generally alright (accepting the comments above). We left after two nights after we had found somewhere better, and cheaper (not that that was the reason for moving).
There are many places to stay in this town... this would not be one that I would choose to go to again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binu D, Manager at Gowri Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the bad experience you had at Gowri Residence. We also apologize for the delay in responding to the same, as there has been a change in the management at Gowri Residence.
We really appreciate your comments and we have taken up all the issues you mentioned in your review and much more. We have been working towards transforming Gowri residence since November 2016 and the renovation work is still going on.
I assure you of a memorable stay at Gowri Residence the next time you are visiting.
Thanking you once again and we assure you of the best.

Best regards
Binu D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

The two nights spent on this converted rice barge cruising the Kerala backwaters have been the highlight of our month in India. The scenery was fantastic and the staff and food was exemplary. The area is picturesque and to witness the daily routines of life of Keralan’s as the go about their business was fascinating. The first we moored for the night was off from a little village and not the nicest spot but that is, along with the flying bugs at night of course, the only negative. The bathroom was a bit average but most time is spent on deck anyway. A big positive as A/C at night, great move! The second night we moored in a much nicer spot and had the best meal we’ve had in India by far. We’re vegetarian so the chef cooked homely style Indian and Keralan food. It was next level amazing and we were able to get the recipes from chef the following morning for which we are infinitely appreciative.

Room Tip: Open your mind and heart to vegetarian food and the chef will make you some of the best home style K...
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Pretty tired location, lot of construction half finished around the site. More mosquitoes than any of the other places we stayed, the staff were alternately absent or asleep at the desk. Food on site was OK, but sitting outside as a group in the evening was not possible even with 80% DEET. No hot water, sometimes no water.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 km away
Cherukara Nest
Cherukara Nest
#51 of 200 in Alappuzha
123 reviews
0.0 km away
Palmy Lake Resort
Palmy Lake Resort
#23 of 161 in Alappuzha
136 reviews
0.0 km away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 200 in Alappuzha
420 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
377 reviews
0.0 km away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: RM205 - RM608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing