We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with some improvement”
Review of Villa Flow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Flow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2016

The Good:

I would give this place 10/10 for staff. They are very nice and professional. The view from the balcony is also beautiful, you can see the beach. The cleanliness is very good. East Bali is a beautiful place and we wouldn't have discovered it had we not stayed in this place. The roads are empty, the locals are very friendly and honest people. We rented a scooter and explored, it is impossible to get lost! Our room was spacious and clean.

The not so good:
Food: The place is aggressively healthy. There is not a lot of choice for food or juices. The juices have no flavour and the afternoon tea is a bitter lemonade with a side. The first day it was an inedible cake thing which had no flavour whatsoever. The second day was a raw spring roll and the third day was a nice guacamole thing on a cracker. There is not a lot of choice for breakfast. The food is small portions (i am not a big eater but even for me it was very little). The fruit is one slice of mango, pineapple and a banana. I think it is good to focus on organic and healthy food, but people should be given a choice if they want tasteless food or a bit of flavour. We would have liked to eat Balinese inspired food and this place felt like it was cut out of the outside world. We found a nice place to eat a few minutes scooter ride and that place (Kebun Impian) was a simple Bali/Australian owner place. Nothing pretentious about it and we had healthy grilled fish (Marlin) and healthy drinks (with flavour). We drove to the nearby town and saw plenty of fruits and vegetables in the market, but it felt like Villa Flow just didn't want to make an effort to include various fruits and vegetables in their food.

Electricity:
I understand that Villa Flow doesn't have a generator, but perhaps they could invest in Solar Panels because every time it rained we had a power cut. We had 5 power cuts in 12 hours! It can get very hot without a fan on a humid night.

Spa:
The spa has only three very basic choices and no option of various oils. We had a massage and lemongrass and lemon was used and I ended up smelling like a mosquito repellent.

Check out:
We checked out early and the staff knew it was 11 am, but there was no one there to help us with our luggage. Only when we were nearly out of the door that they offered for someone to take our bags but by then my husband and transport guy had already taken them to the car.

Hot water:
There was no hot water in the mornings.

No beach:
There is no private beach but a nice walk through the local village (very nice locals) took you to a spot where you could sit and look down at the local beach.

No mini bar:
There was no mini bar so if you are jet lagged and wake up in the middle of the night, it can be a bit of trouble.

No shuttle:
There is no shuttle to take guests to the nearby town. We had rented a scooter and explored the area which came in handy for when we wanted to eat some food.

The place gets many thing right: The staff and the cleanliness but it is the little things that could make it perfect where it scores negative for us. I hope the hotel will improve the choice of food and maybe some activities like yoga (where we are right now, the hotel organises free yoga in the mornings and even have free morning walks) that could make it better.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with the balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladypicassoontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlowBali, Manager at Villa Flow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review about Villa Flow. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and spaciousness of Villa Flow as well as the wonderful views from the balcony and appreciated the cleanliness of Villa Flow and the great service of our team.

We regret that you found some of the details to be unsatisfactory and appreciate your feedback on these points so that we may better address our guests concerns.
We strive to provide our guests with a healthy and varied menu in a setting that is designed to be both relaxing and recuperative. Our food and juice offerings contain no additives and we are selective in the origins of the fruit we use. We generally find that this is high on the list of reasons why many of our guests select Villa Flow as a holiday destination.
We have deliberately not cast Villa Flow as an all-purpose hotel from which to base trips in and around East Bali but rather as a sanctuary for regeneration. However, we do assist to arrange activities should guests so choose. Those activities include various excursions around East Bali, including cycling and walking tours.

We do apologize that there was a problem with the hot water, which should not have happened. We have used your comment as a springboard to verify that the hot water supply in all of our rooms meets the high standards that you and all of our guests rightly expect.
As to yoga and spa, we encourage all potential guests to consider one of Villa Flow's packages. Those packages offer very favourable value for money when compared to booking a room only through a discount on-line travel agent.
We acknowledge that, over one period of 24 hours, electricity was cut several times to Villa Flow and the surrounding village as a result of a tree falling during a heavy storm and the repeated attempts of the electricity provider to correct it. We shared your frustration at the time. This was an exceptional event and we note that, since that day, many in the area have been trimming or felling trees to prevent a recurrence.
One final comment about check-out. As previously stated, we pride ourselves on our staff providing a much appreciated great service. Comments such as yours allow us to monitor more effectively and provide continuous training and improvement. We have already followed up on this point to ensure that check-out procedures are consistent with the high level of service our staff provide.
Despite the aggravations, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Bali and we hope that we will have the chance to welcoming you back at Villa Flow in the future.
With warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Villa Flow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016

My wife and I chose Bali as our honeymoon destination and one of the first recommendations our friends made was for Villa Flow. In the end we split our 10 day stay across Villa Flow in the North and another popular resort in Tanjung Benoa to ensure we got to see the whole island.

The 5 days that we stayed at Villa flow were perfectly serene and amazing in every way - so much so that for the five following days, nothing seemed to compare and we wished that we'd just stayed at Villa flow for the entire time!

The villas: the one that we stayed at was right near the door and designed for two. As you may be aware from other reviews there is no fixed door on the bathroom - more of a saloon door but this wasn't really a problem for us. The beds are king sized and luxurious with mosquito nets and great views over the balcony. The gardens are definitely worth a visit as they grow much of their own food.

Location: Villa Flow is located approximately 90 minutes from the airport (depending on traffic) and within a rural village. It is very remote and fantastic if you want a little bit of peace and serenity but be prepared to book (very reasonably priced) cabs if you'd like to go into town or visit any restaurants.

Service: Absolutely 5 star. Be aware that they do not have a 24 hour service (the kitchen closes at around 10 i believe) but that aside, the service is always amazing. The staff are friendly, efficient, always happy to help and wherever possible they will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. We also booked ourselves in for many massages and manicures etc (all of which were amazing and very reasonably priced) but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to join in the Yoga classes as we had a number of excursions booked.

Food: Be aware that although there is some choice for breakfast, the dinner option is usually fixed. They will enquire about your allergies/ dietary requirements and work around them but there is no option at dinner time. Having said that, every single meal that we had at Villa Flow was delicious, filling and very satisfying. We enjoyed coming back to our room after excursions to find out what was on the menu for later that night and on the one occasion we chose to dine out, we found that the food paled in comparison to what was available at Villa Flow. Breakfast was a similarly sumptuous affair (no breakfast buffet here - but the trade off is well cooked, nutritional and deliciously filling food instead!)

It's difficult to put into words how much we enjoyed our time here - I think the only note of caution is that it also does come down to personal preference - i.e. if you're looking for your typical "resort" style hotel with all of the corporate feel and packages then this is not the place for you. Villa Flow is luxurious definitely but in a much more subtle way. If you're after some peace and serenity and good quality food and amazing service then look no further.

Final note (and more to the owners) - I think that your staff are a real credit to your company as the experience was perfect from start to finish. It is a shame that we didn't have the option to tip the staff directly (they really were amazing). I would have liked to have been able to express our gratitude in that manner at the end especially given how wonderful our stay was.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlowBali, Manager at Villa Flow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Vajak,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your Villa Flow experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate the honesty of your assessment that Villa Flow is not a typical "resort" style hotel with all the corporate packages as we have deliberately positioned ourselves away from that to allow our guests the welcoming embrace of a "home away from home."

As we write, we are up-grading many of the aspects of Villa Flow (that "saloon door" will soon be replaced!). We hope you will return to us in the future to see how our subtle luxury has been enhanced.

Best regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

When you look for a peaceful quite but beautiful place in bali, where you get privacy and a suberb service with the best healthy food we have ever eaten, then you're completely right at the villa flow.
We stayed 4 nights at villa flow in the bamboob house. Without seeing the "normal" rooms, we would say we made the best choice. You get a living room area on the lower level with a bathroom as well as a terrace where they serve your meals and a bedroom with another bathroom and balcony on the upper level. From above you have a beautiful view over the garden, where they plant all the ingredients for the meals, the sea and the sunset.
We can definitely recommend villa flow being a part of your stay in bali, far away from the crowded tourist areas, but still close enough to see a lot of beautiful spots on day trips.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zuerichind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlowBali, Manager at Villa Flow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Zuerichind,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your Villa Flow experience with the TripAdvisor community. Every time we read such reviews from our guests we feel very blessed.

We are wishing you all the best and hope to welcoming you back at Villa Flow in the future.

Best regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My sister and I did the week-long yoga package at Villa Flow and there are not enough kind words to say about this place! We loved every minute of every day we spent here. Everything about the resort was top-notch. The food was amazing, the rooms gorgeous and big, the pool incredible. Although it wasn't a yoga resort, the yoga teacher that came everyday was truly inspiring. Best of all was the service. The kind and lovely workers of Villa Flow were like mothers and fathers to us-they took care of us in every possible way and always with that warm Balinese smile. Every attention to detail was included in everything they did. I simply can't thank them enough for showing us such a wonderful time at this resort. I only hope to one day come back again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank rkalai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This was our second time at Villa Flow. 5 star experience sgain: helpful staff, tasty healthy food, spacious and stylish rooms, very good massage and Kawi's yoga lessons are of course are top class. Hint: rent a scooter and drive around, the area is very beautiful and still pretty untouched compared to other areas in Bali. Will definitely come back again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AKontio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
9.5 km away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
599 reviews
11.1 km away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
815 reviews
12.3 km away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
99 reviews
34.9 km away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
11.9 km away
Sea Breeze Candidasa
Sea Breeze Candidasa
#3 of 28 in Candidasa
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flow

Address: Seraya-Barat, Karangasem 80851, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range: RM676 - RM1,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Flow 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet and peaceful coastal town of Seraya in East-Bali, Villa Flow offers a unique experience to those looking for something special. An intimate boutique hotel of high quality standards and service. Villa Flow offers an excellent healthy cuisine,5-star spa treatments, daily yoga classes, private access to secluded beachfront and tranquility. Villa Flow is the perfect low key exclusive luxury base from which to explore East-Bali, the Gili islands just off Lombok and Bali’s best diving locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Flow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flow Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing