We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions District 26-M5 Convention Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Higher Ground Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Our Lions District wanted to be close to the Truman Presidential Library and the Truman Memorial Building (on the Independence Square). We contacted Higher Ground Hotel and found the staff to be easy to work with. During the time of our stay we had several convention guests say how much they enjoyed the accommodations that Higher Ground provided. The rooms were clean,spacious and everything we wanted for our Convention Hotel. Plus we had breakfast provided each morning. Looking for a place to stay contact Higher Ground. Sincerely, Lions of District 26-M5 and Lions Club International District Governor 26-M5.

Room Tip: All rooms used were great accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionsbeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting your group. Your attendees were nice people and easy to care for. We hope to see you again sometime at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This location was convenient to all the Truman attractions. Located in a quiet neighborhood, I could have walked to most destinations. My room, 309, was well attended, large and comfortable. My view was of the Truman Home.

The management was very nice and informative. In fact, if you will let them know when you are going to be down for breakfast, your eggs will be cooked and ready.

On the third floor there was a nice common area with seating and library books. on the first floor the breakfast area was large with more than enough chairs for everyone to be seated comfortably.

Room Tip: I loved room 309 with a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjt35650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are walking distance to 9 restaurants, many shops, and Historic attractions. Yes, some of our rooms are quite large. Some have skylights to the stars and some overlook our beautiful garden with a goldfish pond. Our smallest rooms are our single queen bedrooms. All have a private bath with the necessary amenities for your comfort. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Higher Ground on a Wednesday night. Since I have some trouble with stairs, I was relieved to find that this small hotel has an elevator. Although we had booked a discount rate through booking.com, the desk clerk said that the hotel wouldn't accept that rate. Eventually, he accepted our payment at the lower rate. Our room was small with one queen bed, a TV, and a Keurig coffee maker. Our room had a small window in the bedroom and a larger one in the bathroom. The wifi reception was weak. Everything was neat and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub did not drain well. On the third floor, there was a library with books and a sofa. Breakfast included the usual cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, etc. Overall, we expected more than we got for the price we paid.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cynchChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us . Our Queen Rooms, of which there are four, are the smallest rooms in our hotel. That is why they are the least expensive price. Our King rooms are much larger for just a little more. Some of them overlook our beautiful garden with the waterfall and pond. You can see the fish swimming from the large windows that take up one wall. We hope that you will try us again and stay in one of the larger rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

. Recently we spent two nights at Higher Ground and enjoyed every minute. The Innkeepers are friendly, helpful and operate a very clean, attractive boutique hotel with every amenity available, including breakfast. The location is terrific near all attractions (across the street from the Truman home) and gardens a lovely place to recuperate from a day of sightseeing. We would be so happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our garden is still thriving and is a loving place to hang out. Our location is close to all the attractions that our Historic area has to offer. Harry Truman's Home is right across the street from the hotel and we are within walking distance to 9 restaurants and several shops. We hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Friendly warm and beautiful inside with an old time feel and modern conveniences. Right across from Bess &Harry’s home. Nice to get away from sterile Holiday Inn type hotels. A definite recommendation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We work hard to make sure our guests enjoy thier time with us at Higher Ground Hotel. It was a pleasure getting to know you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
9.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
7.7 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
5.2 km away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#6 of 18 in Independence
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
Hilton Garden Inn Independence
#5 of 18 in Independence
677 reviews
8.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence
9 km away
Candlewood Suites Kansas City - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Ground Hotel

Address: 200 N Delaware St, Independence, MO 64050-2633
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: RM 394 - RM 484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Higher Ground Hotel is a boutique hotel located in a wonderful Historic District across the street from Harry S. Truman's home and close to his library and other attractions. We are within 3 blocks of Independence Square surrounding the Historic Courthouse. There are many restaurants and shops on the Square, plus a movie theater and a bowling alley. There are several museums in our area and many fun things to do like take a covered wagon ride around the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can relax. We have a large selection of Blue Ray Movies that you can watch free in one of our 2 lounges. You can also order High Tea in the Afternoon served in our library or your room. There is much to enjoy at Higher Ground Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Higher Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing