We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Independence(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Truman Inn(Independence)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Silver Heart Inn(Independence)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
184
69
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
69
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruman homeoffice buildingbeautiful gardenhistoric districttruman libraryboutique hotelno windowfish pondkansas citytown squaresmall hotelyogurtoff street parkingbowling alleycoin laundryroom was spotlesscommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This location was convenient to all the Truman attractions. Located in a quiet neighborhood, I could have walked to most destinations. My room, 309, was well attended, large and comfortable. My view was of the Truman Home.

The management was very nice and informative. In fact, if you will let them know when you are going to be down for breakfast, your eggs will be cooked and ready.

On the third floor there was a nice common area with seating and library books. on the first floor the breakfast area was large with more than enough chairs for everyone to be seated comfortably.

Room Tip: I loved room 309 with a queen bed.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjt35650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are walking distance to 9 restaurants, many shops, and Historic attractions. Yes, some of our rooms are quite large. Some have skylights to the stars and some overlook our beautiful garden with a goldfish pond. Our smallest rooms are our single queen bedrooms. All have a private bath with the necessary amenities for your comfort. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Higher Ground on a Wednesday night. Since I have some trouble with stairs, I was relieved to find that this small hotel has an elevator. Although we had booked a discount rate through booking.com, the desk clerk said that the hotel wouldn't accept that rate. Eventually, he accepted our payment at the lower rate. Our room was small with one queen bed, a TV, and a Keurig coffee maker. Our room had a small window in the bedroom and a larger one in the bathroom. The wifi reception was weak. Everything was neat and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub did not drain well. On the third floor, there was a library with books and a sofa. Breakfast included the usual cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, etc. Overall, we expected more than we got for the price we paid.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cynchChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us . Our Queen Rooms, of which there are four, are the smallest rooms in our hotel. That is why they are the least expensive price. Our King rooms are much larger for just a little more. Some of them overlook our beautiful garden with the waterfall and pond. You can see the fish swimming from the large windows that take up one wall. We hope that you will try us again and stay in one of the larger rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

. Recently we spent two nights at Higher Ground and enjoyed every minute. The Innkeepers are friendly, helpful and operate a very clean, attractive boutique hotel with every amenity available, including breakfast. The location is terrific near all attractions (across the street from the Truman home) and gardens a lovely place to recuperate from a day of sightseeing. We would be so happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our garden is still thriving and is a loving place to hang out. Our location is close to all the attractions that our Historic area has to offer. Harry Truman's Home is right across the street from the hotel and we are within walking distance to 9 restaurants and several shops. We hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Friendly warm and beautiful inside with an old time feel and modern conveniences. Right across from Bess &Harry’s home. Nice to get away from sterile Holiday Inn type hotels. A definite recommendation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We work hard to make sure our guests enjoy thier time with us at Higher Ground Hotel. It was a pleasure getting to know you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Higher Ground. It is a lovely small hotel near the stadium and right across the street from the Truman home. Rooms are well equipped and very clean. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words about our hotel. We are only 3.9 miles from Arrowhead Stadium and walking distance to most of the Historic Sites in Independence. Harry Truman's Home is right across the street. We are very happy that you were comfortable during your stay with us a Higher Ground Hotel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews