We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful! Great place to stay and...”
other traveller has booked this property
View of Rice Fields over Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Rice Fields over Infinity Pool
Living Room Area Overview Living Room and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
View of Rice Fields over Infinity Pool
Living Room Area Overview
Living Room and Dining Area
Living Room
Kitchen
Main Bathroom with Access to Pool
Bathroom Detail
Pool and Pool Deck; Delightfully Refreshing Water
Upstairs Bedroom and Indoor/Outdoor Area
King-Size Bed with Mosquito Net Upstairs
King-Size Bed and Bedroom Balcony
The Bedroom Balcony
Welcome Fruit Basket
Fresh Flowers all the time
Our Wonderful and Attentive Staff
Patio Outside Front Door of Villa
Sunset over the Palm Trees
Freshly Planted Rice Fields to the South of the Villa
Cala Lily in Our Garden
Balinese Statue
Upside Down Ganesha in Our Pond
Another One of Our Statues
View to the West
View to the North
Planting Rice in Surrounding Paddies
Storm Clouds to the South
One of Our Neighbors
Harvest Time
Tea Anyone
Local Heron (might be an Egret)
Plowing the Fields (Modern Approach)
Ceking Rice Terraces (only 2 km away)
Young Entrepreneur in Kintamani (only 20 minutes away)
Pura Danau Bratan (about an hour away)
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Tegalalang, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jim P
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful! Great place to stay and relax!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We, my partner and I, spent an entire month here at the villa! I didn't expect to last that long, but I really got into it. The villa was an excellent choice. So very peaceful to be among the rice paddies and away from town. Although town is a easy and inexpensive ride by taxi. The owner was very gracious and helpful. The staff could not be more accommodating. My partner and I have traveled the world and this is a vacation we'll remember fondly. Great accommodations, people, staff, Max, Nico, and location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan K
2 reviews
“Amazing villa for rest and relaxation with entertainment and dining options nearby!”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We visited Max's beautiful villa at the tail end of a three week Southeast Asia vacation. After an active trip visiting numerous crowded and energetic cities, the quiet and beautiful surroundings were exactly what we needed.

We flew into Bali from Singapore and were greeted by Nyoman and driven to the villa. For extended stays, Max provides complimentary airport transportation. Unfortunately, we only had a few days to stay in Ubud. The transportation costs were still very reasonable and highly recommended. Nyoman stopped at a small shop so that we could purchase drinks and snacks to take to the villa. We also stopped by the bank to get some cash.

Upon arrival at the villa (at night so we really didn't know what the surrounds looked like) Nyoman showed us around the villa and gave us all of the information we needed for our stay. We woke up the next morning and were awestruck by the natural beauty of the area. The villa is surrounded by rice paddies being actively farmed by local residents. It was truly stunning.

Breakfast is provided and is delicious. We chose a time to have breakfast and let the staff know via text what we wanted the night before and it was brought over the next morning. Sitting in the dining area with the wall of glass open and a cool breeze blowing through the villa was perfection.

The first day we spent at the villa was a chill day with no plans. We wanted to relax, enjoy some quiet time, and most importantly, get a massage. Max helped coordinate an in-house massage by Coco. I get massages regularly and I can say hands down that Coco is the most talented massage therapist that I have had. She sets the table up in the villa and arranges the music and incense to maximize the experience. Highly recommended!

Max also helped us to organize active pursuits as well. The villa is close to the Ubud city center and all of the dining and activities. We ate out a couple times, but also enjoyed picking up some take out and eating at the villa. After the hot days out on bikes or hiking around, the pool outside is nearly a magical experience and we used it almost every day of our stay. If there are other visitors in the other villa you may share the pool, however, during our stay we were the only ones there. Even with other visitors, the pool area is big enough that each party can enjoy some private time.

At night you can listen to the sounds of frogs and geckos galore. Be prepared for it. After the first night, it is just part of the natural background noise of the area and it really makes the experience that much better. We also saw fireflies! Coming from Arizona, I hadn't ever seen these things and it was a surprise and delight.

I can unequivocally say that this stay was the highlight of the vacation and it was due in a large part to the villa, and especially Max's suggestions and hospitality. Do yourself and favor and book this villa for your stay! You will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaquelR44
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stay, beautiful scenery, gorgeous house, great owner!”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My sister, I and my partner (all in our late twenties, early thirties) stayed from Nov 30th-Dec 5th at Max's beautiful Ubud home nestled away in the tranquility and beauty of the rice fields. If you want to wake up every morning to the sounds of nature, rice paddie farmers farming the lands and some of the most beautiful scenery of volcanoes and greenery than this is your place!

I would highly suggest staying here, you are about 20 minutes drive from Monkey Road and downtown Ubud, however it gives you that authentic and traditional experience away from the tourist areas, which we MUCH preferred. Especially as you go closer to the more tourist areas the price of goods and foods significantly increases, so check out the shops as you drive in to the main area!

We loved our stay and Max was very accommodating with everything from arranging our rides, to suggesting hip locations for dinner and shopping and even providing us with a local phone to stay in touch. I would suggest taking a taxi in at night to the main area (Monkey Road) and perhaps using the scooters for the day, if you decide to rent them. The driving can be a bit intense, so we opted to take taxi's at night especially if we were drinking.

You are provided with breakfast in the morning that is served at your choice of time in your home overlooking the infinity pool and rice fields, it is quite lovely and includes eggs, fruits, bread, banana bread, a fruit smoothie and either coffee or tea.

In terms of tours, I highly suggest taking the eco bike tour (you really get your bang for you buck), the volcano sunrise tour of Mount Batur, (I would suggest perhaps bringing a back pack with a few extra snacks as our tour did not provide much food at the top of the volcano climb and we were a bit hungry), also the elephant sanctuary was AMAZING! You get to both wash and swim with the elephants!

If you ask Max for help on anything he will be sure to help you everything and anything, he is very accommodating and is a fellow Canadian :)..so he speaks very good english!

Thanks Max, wish we stayed longer and miss the puppies!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica M
1 review
“Great Place, Gorgeous Surroundings”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We’ve stayed for 4 days with our two and a half year old son and we loved every minute of it. The villa is beautifully decorated, very spacious and has all utilities one usually needs (even a cot big enough for our toddler). The surroundings are simply stunning. The owner and staff are extremely kind and available. It is only a short 10/15 minutes’ drive to the center. In sum, highly recommended!
Also, if you ever stay here, please make sure not to miss Coco’s massages… One of the best ever (and I am a massage aficionada).

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistrictF...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family Retreat”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a week with our 10 and 7 year old children. The home is very spacious and Max was incredibly accommodating supplying extra beds for the kids. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool every day. We enjoyed the upstairs balcony in the morning with our coffee and again in the evening with a cold beer. The house is serene and surrounded by rice paddies. It is not near any restaurants, etc and would not be easy to walk from town. However you can take taxis and use the driver on site. We slept with the windows open and never had any issues with mosquitos, unlike another couple we met that was staying in town. If you are looking for a quiet family retreat this is a great place. If you need more action you may want to consider elsewhere.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing