We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, spacious, home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Senani Bungalow Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Lounge
Fireplace
Lounge
Dining Hall
Dinning Hall
Room 1
Room 2
Room 2
Bathroom 2
Family Room 3
Room 4
Breakfast Room
Putting Green
Putting Green
Lavender Field
Strawberry field
Alstroemerias
Part Of Herbal Garden
Fuchsias
Night Time At Senani
New Rose Garden Terrace
Herbal Garden
Gazebo
Gazebo
BBQ In Progress
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
725barbar...
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, home away from home”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay, Marcus, Prema, & Nama is the star of this bungalow. Marcus was willing to assist to our needs, Prema was willing to cook anything we wanted, Namea was humble and assisted us with good service. Rooms & Bathrooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom requires a air vent or a fly screen for the window for privacy.
It was easy to deal with the owner Wolfgang direct, all answers to our questions was answered promptly. Lots of flies in the kitchen area and cats around and running in the cealing which I was not comfortable.
Entry to the banglowe is passed the Kovil & a restaurant it is noisy with loud music and functions everyday where the pathway road was blocked with thishaws and vans, that we had to walk leaving our vehicle sometimes in the dark especially on hill & rocky pathway.
Thank you to Marcus, For organising my husband special Burthday, Prema for the cooking & Nama for the service, which is memorable to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was good
Liked least: Flies in the kitchen, cats running on kitchen benches,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2015
Dear Barbara, thank you for your review and your hints to improve our bungalow. In the meantime we have installed electrical tube light fly catcher machine. The three Senani cats are on duty, but never within the guests section of the bungalow, they keep the bungalow area mice free. Bathroom exhaust fans are already bought and will be installed shortly. We have already informed the local authorities to help us keep this small, 100 meter long public road up to our main gate, clear. The Gayathri Hindu Kovil is abt. 100m away from the bungalow and every now and then there is a Hindu festival,
naturally with religious music and many worshippers. Other than that we are happy that our four member bungalow team made your stay enjoyable, and Prema?s cousin was very much appreciated.
Thank you for staying with us.
With warm regards Dusica & Wolfgang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana W
Sri Lanka
1 review
“Homely, cosey, welcoming, informative good location for travel in this area to Hagala gardens and Worlds End.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Arriving through the late afternoon highland mist ,we came upon this haven within the city of Nuwara Eliya, or 'Little England', as it was known in it's hey day. Both the original style of the bungalow and the beautifully kept gardens provide a haven from the hustle and bustle of down town Nuwara Eliya. An excellent spot to base yourself for trips such as Horton plains and a visit to the local botanical gardens. Stepping inside we found a roaring fire and were welcomed by the charming local couple who cook and do, whatever it takes to make your stay both enjoyable and informative The glowing firelight set a wonderful atmosphere of warmth and homeliness. I really enjoyed the egg hoppers for breakfast and the array of fresh herbs used in the dinner preparations, all grown in the bungalow gardens was stunning. congratulations to the Senani Bungalow team especially for providing me with the finishing touch a hot water bottle at bed time! A marvellous contrast to, and a great escape from the humidity and heat of Colombo. Spent the morning with the most intriguing books in the bungalow library. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fireplace and the food
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinda K
1 review
“No regrets of choosing Senani”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed two days in Senani with my family members. The bungalow is located in a convenient place to reach prime tourists attractions in Nuwara Eliya. The stay in Senani made us feel almost “our home” as we had no restrictions over using the bungalow and its amenities. Same time it gives you different experience and a proud feeling of living in an old colonial set up. As you look around you can see a nice view that reminds you the beauty in Nuwar Eliya.
If you travel with young fellows this is an ideal place for them to move around and enjoy. They did cooking for us and the lady in charge did a good job preparing the meals for our taste and she helped us arranging food separately for our kids.
The rooms are spacey , beds are comfortable , heaters and hot water showers work well and cleanliness is superb. We had to reschedule our dates and the management was very flexible and made no complains over that.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Hello Kavinda,
Thanks for your review and comments. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the excellent cooking of our cook and soul of the bungalow, Ms. Prema.
Please visit us again in spring 2016, when you will experience an upgraded bungalow.
Best regards
Dusica & Wolfgang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idlebante...
Singpore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Charm in Colonial Bungalow”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Situated close to the centre of Nuwara Eliya, this lovely bungalow ,to me as an Englishman , reminded me of my Aunts Bed n Breakfast house in the UK back in the 1970.s with a great garden where we had afternoon tea, its large fire place and high ceilings in the lounge, to the expansive bedrooms and chunky bathrooms ,which were beautifully adorned with large towels and soaps ..

Most of all , the house was immaculately clean, which as a Westerner living in South East Asia for 18 years , does lead to some surprises when travelling ... this house was as clean as the new 4 Star hotel my wife and I had stayed at in Colombo a week earlier ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean
Liked least: Not easy to find
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Dear Paul,
thank you very much for your nice review, describing our cozy bungalow, the way we see it. We have put lots of efforts to make it our second home and love to share it with guests like you. Hoping you will visit Nuwara Eliya again and enjoy Prema's excellent cooking skills a few days longer.
Dusica & Wolfgang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asian-Oas...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff with superb local cuisine”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I travelled with a group of friends. I would like to thank Marcus (the chief staff) for all his help during our 5 day stay. The house is about 140 years old but it's well maintained. It sits on top of a small hill surrounded by gardens and local farms. The food is impressive. Each night, we asked them to prepare local food for dinner and it never disappointed us.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing