We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy with a pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I have stayed a number of AmericInn properties around the Midwest and they vary from el cheepo to mid range. This one falls in between. I am guessing this was a property with a different brand name at one time and AmericInn changed it over some years back. That is a common move when a property starts to deteriorate and no longer meets the higher standards of a higher priced operator.

This is a multi-story property (5 floors) with a pool. There is ample parking and the property is located in an area with lots of fast food and some off-price shopping (Burlington Coat Factory and Ross Dress For Less) The reception area was clean and adjacent to the breakfast area which had plenty of seating and space. (Free breakfast included)

We were on the 3rd floor and the hallway carpet looked like it had been recently replaced. The room was a 2-bed queen. The room was small with not enough room for two people to pass between the end of the bed and the wardrobe and TV counter. The bathroom was also small with a corner sink and tub/shower. There was some extra shelving that helped make up for the lack of counter space.

The beds were comfortable but not luxurious. The linens were decent and there were 4 pillows on each bed. The carpeting looked okay. The desk and chair had a lamp with easy to access power for computer and phone charging. There was a small refrigerator and microwave, plus a coffee maker with several choices including hot chocolate.

Lighting was decent and there were a number of full length mirrors.

The economy feeling really kicked in when it came time to sleep. The HVAC system had a constant fan switch that did not keep the fan running which means the heat cycled off and on all night long and was fairly loud. Even worse, the refrigerator turned off and on all night and made a lot of noise. At time they ran together, but I doubt there was more than 5 minutes between loud noises all night. There was also the issue of an extremely bright LED on smoke detector. So bright that you could nearly read by the light which shown directly on the beds.

I paid a modest price for the room and it was priced correctly.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the elevator and not above the trash dumpster
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Hi Richard,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, which helps us to improve our guest satisfaction scores, continue to provide the amenities you look for most, and to remedy any areas that we can to make each stay with us a comfortable one. We certainly take your suggestions and comments to heart.

Happy Holidays,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016

We stayed for 2 nights while in Madison to attend the Gopher-Badger football game. The location is nice and is near a lot of food options. It was only around a $12 Uber ride to get to State Street and to Camp Randall.The room itself was showing a little bit of age but the beds were comfortable and the shower had decent water pressure. The manager's reception every night from 5-7 pm was a nice touch. We were able to have a drink and some snacks before we went out to dinner. The complimentary breakfast is nice as well. They offered waffles, eggs, and biscuits and gravy, as well as cereal and bagels and such. I would definitely stay here again on a future visit to Madison.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi Chris,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is nice for us to receive feedback about the amenities you appreciated and the convenience of our location in getting to downtown and the Badger football game at Camp Randall.

We appreciate your business,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The room said it slept 5. Not sure if our 5th person was supposed to sleep in a chair. Luckily, we brought a single air mattress, but it was tight as the rooms were really small. The shampoo and conditioner was crappy. They had a large assortment for breakfast, but it was so busy and there were not enough tables to sit. I was awoken this morning by a loud drilling sound. When I called the front desk, I was transferred to the 800 number, and they made me dial the local number to reach someone right downstairs. The receptionist had no idea what the noise was. I asked if they could send someone to the 5th floor to check it out. The man they sent up seemed annoyed that I had complained and said they were doing some construction (at 9:00 am on a Sunday!) I asked if he could make it stop. After another 15 minutes, it finally stopped. Great! Now I'm awake.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mahoney100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am happy to inform you that the light construction that we are undergoing outside of our building is near its completion. I am also glad to hear that we were able to remedy the situation by getting the noise to stop. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience as the workers had not informed me or my staff that they intended to be working on Sunday. Thanks again for the feedback and your understanding. I will be sending you a personal email today with a considerable discount for a future stay to make up for the issue at hand.

Thanks,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

This is a terrific place to stay! Clean, comfortable, and convenient to all kinds of shopping and restaurants. It is located in a nice part of town but is quiet. We loved the free beer, wine and snacks at happy hour. For a very low cost you could buy beer, wine and pizzas to consume on site.Breakfast includes hot items and is very good.The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. And it is so affordable! We liked it so much that we stayed there again on our return trip home.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello,

That is wonderful to hear that we have become your go-to hotel when in Madison. Thank you very much for your awesome 5-star review and for sharing your thoughts for other guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Rooms are very small but really clean. Breakfast has nice selection of food but the supposedly hot food was cold. The staff was standoffish in the AM but PM staff was nice. A good value for Madison Wisconsin if your a single traveler .

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank weliketoeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hello,

Thanks for your feedback and your business. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff to see where we can improve.

Thanks again,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
0.2 km away
Best Western West Towne Suites
10.3 km away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 63 in Madison
549 reviews
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
7.5 km away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#12 of 63 in Madison
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Address: 516 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
#19 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: RM357 - RM1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, Wisconsin the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy appetizers, beer and wine each evening from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. Stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Americinn Lodge And Suites Madison West
Americinn Hotel Madison
Hampton Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing