We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay; a few areas need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Madison
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We were in Madison for six nights and decided to give the Hyatt Place a try. We arrived late at night and were greeted by a friendly front desk person and were in our room within minutes. We were impressed with the ease of check-in and the friendliness of the front desk staff. We were on the 11th floor and were impressed with the size of the room and its layout.

The bed proved to be very comfortable and the room very quiet.

Overall, the hotel is well maintained. That said, a fews were noted during our six day stay. First, our room was never vacuumed, and the hall outside our room had some small scraps of paper that were there the entire stay. I noted the lack of vacuuming in our room due to some items that were on the carpet when we arrived and were there when we left. Granted, I could have picked them up, but I wanted to see if the maid actually vacuumed the room. Obviously, that was not the case. The showers are in need of deep cleaning and caulking as well.

While the breakfast is good, it was curious that the items on the breakfast buffet also seems to be nearing or at the "empty" stage. For example, two mornings we had to find the staff person in the breakfast area to tell him that there was no bread for toasting; twice there was no shredded cheese or diced ham; once again we had to ask. And one time there were no napkins and forks. It's not that there wasn't staff around---he simply wasn't paying attention. Also, we noted that tables were not wiped down after guests leave.

Finally, the staff are all very friendly and it made for a very pleasant stay---with one notable exception. We encountered a gentleman whose name badge identified him as the assistant general manager on three occasions. (once in the elevator; once in the hallway and once when he was taking a smoke break in the parking ramp). He never acknowledged us or asked if we were enjoying our stay. It was very strange, especially considering how friendliness of the rest of the staff.

The location is great; rooms comfortable and quiet and parking easily accessible.

Will we stay there again? Sure; we would stay there again and I mention the few negative items not to complaint, but to point them out to management so that they can hopefully make some adjustments. There are more and more hotels opening in the area (i.e., AC by Marriott, etc.) and I would hope that the Hyatt Place would not fall into a second tier capital square area hotel for lack of attention to the small details.

Room Tip: High floors are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gregjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

I stayed in the Hotel Hyatt Place, in Madison, Wisconsin, visiting my relatives, but instead of staying with them, I preferred to go by own, and feel very free,instead of being in a House. This Hotel, really feels like any Hyatt Chain, very satisfactory service,,besides food and location to visit the Capital of Wisconsin State I love their yearly farmer's fair.

Room Tip: When checking in, just tell the clerk, to assign you the best bet of a room, without any kind of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoseDarioOchoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Pattie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank lynaeg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

I didn't realize it was graduation weekend, and after confirming my stay needed to cancel for family reasons. Tried to contact the manager on several occasions without a return call. Booked two rooms for family who was told they had to pay balance of a very expensive pre-paid room. Very poor check in and customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
0.9 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Madison

Address: 333 W Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53703-2968
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madison
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#8 Family Hotel in Madison
#18 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: RM494 - RM836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Madison Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing