We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel is in the best place of French Quarter, 2 blocks from the French Market and 3 blocks from Bourbon Street. The hotel is very charming, and the room is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

this is the best hotel in the french quarter trust me i have stayed in the hotel over 50 times my wife and i just got home from the bcs football game and we loved it this time more than ever warren we love you see you next stay

Room Tip: ask for warren he will do anything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I just returned from a weeks stay at the HVC. I stayed in room #303 in the main building. The room was very quiet with very little noise. This is what I requested upon booking and Warren made that happen. The room was very comfortable and had everything that I wanted. This hotel is in the absolute perfect location for visiting NOLA. Everything is right there and within a short very enjoyable walk. This hotel is located steps away from some of the top rated hotels/restraunts on TA. Thanks to all the very helpful friendly staff who work at the HVC. I truly felt like I was visiting family and that I had made it home (thank you Lane.) I will be returning to NOLA and this is where I will be staying. Now for some constructive feedback on what I feel could improve at the HVC and for me to give this property an excellent rating. My only complaint would be the cleanliness/upkeep. Dirty carpet, dusty walls & moldings, stained mattress, burned out lighbulbs, and hair dryer that didn't work. Not complaining and didn't impact my enjoyment in staying here. But could be a problem for others that would like to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I just returned from five nights at the Villa Convento. Let me state at the outset that the concierge, Lane Guidry, made this stay utterly perfect. His pleasant manner and his willingnes to do whatever asked was delightful. He made sure I had cabs quickly, and I overheard him arranging the delivery of a rental car for another guest. The night concierge, Mary, is also personable and willing to stay past her scheduled departure to help a guest.

The location is on Ursuline, between Royal & Chartres. It is five blocks from the Frenchman Street area, about two blocks to the French Market, and two blocks to Bourbon. While a very convenient location, it is also a very QUIET location. Also, I never once felt fearful walking alone at night after parking my car. It also has the delightful happenstance of being directly across the street from Croissant d'Or, which is a lovely bakery that serves breakfast and lunch as well. There is an ATM there as well.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. My first two nights were in a single room, which was basic, clean, and just what I needed. The remaining nights were in a room with two queen beds, sharing with a friend. Huge bathroom with a very deep tub, plenty of hot water, good water pressure, and soft, fluffy towels. The beds were comfortable and nicely appointed.

This is not a luxury hotel, it is a guest house. It is a wonderful place to stay that isn't overpriced or in the middle of the drunken noisy action. I will return here and recommend it without a moment's hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper room that overlooked the beautiful courtyard. So relaxing to wake to the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I read the reviews AFTER my husband booked this hotel, so I approached our stay with a little trepidation....... I was delighted to find that the hotel, while old and undergoing renovations, was very charming. Our room was in the very front of the building, on Ursulines--a fourth floor suite--large queen room with a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower, and another room with a lovely iron daybed, with balconies on two sides--brilliant and gorgeous at daybreak, sunset, or anytime, really, and we could see the boats on the Mississippi River. This room overlooks the beautiful Ursuline convent grounds, and is steps away from the French Market. There is an amazing French pastry shop directly across the street. (The shop is only open until 2 pm, so get there early.--Choc., almond or ham and cheese croissants and wonderful coffee--yum!) Some of the reviews of Hotel Villa Convento complained of poor customer service, but we found that the front desk people (four over our two-day stay) couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. There is a little courtyard in the back and the rooms back there could be the ones that people had negative feedback on--I couldn't say. Parking is a few short blocks away, but it's FREE--which is unheard of in NOLA. It's within easy walking distance of Bourbon street and all other French Quarter fun. Staying here was like staying in a European hotel in any old European city. All in all, I very much recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Front of building, facing Ursulines Ave---top floor has great views and has a queen suite with addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyIpswich_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#109 of 167 in New Orleans
890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#88 of 167 in New Orleans
610 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#115 of 167 in New Orleans
339 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-3204
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: RM524 - RM896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing