We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
76
56
26
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
56
26
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french quarter bourbon street fresh fruit slave quarters fried chicken place to stay every morning the bed was extremely comfortable short walk three blocks within walking distance home away from home we've stayed cleaning staff free breakfast mardi gras alvin
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Canceled original reservation, they give credit card company wrong card number, they never notified me. Made new reservation. Checked in on Tuesday, no room service until Sunday morning. Asked night manager for sheets on Saturday evening, had to make our own bed. Had to dump our own trash. The room service was not limited to us but also to the 5 other people we were traveling with. Total lack of concern for their guest. DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garylI9910PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robpatrick, Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

All cancellation are at least attempted notification through a direct phone call or email. All rooms are serviced each day though bedsheets are only changed every third day to save on water and time unless the guest asks otherwise. Stayovers have their garbage taken out, toiletries and towels replenished and changed, and floors and tub/toilet scrubbed as needed.

It is entirely possible you may not have stayed with us as we do not have 24 hour staff and the office closes at 11 pm. We do not have a night manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

came in late due to flight issues and called at 4;30 pm to notify them. told to go to another hotel as no one there after 11 pm- previous owner had nite shift staff. never notified policies had changed. I arranged for key to be given to friend who arrived earlier. met with don the manager the next morning who did take 50.00 off our room for 2 nites but no further compensation for the rest of the time there as we were there a week for the jazz fst. however we were in the wrong room - upstairs-.and now scheduled to be there a week and due to mobility issues had requested a ground floor room which was given to someone else even with reservation made 1-18-18. it got worse from there. we moved to a ground floor room 3 days later and the rooms awere dirty, not cleaned, sheets not changed, and had to search for towels daily, tv and fan in room did not work and no effort made to fix them until the cable guy came at 6 pm our last nite there. toilet did not flush regularly. friends in nearby room changed their own sheets, and another friend found a roach in her room. we had been staying in this bed and breakfast since 2000 with ray and alvin who owned it many yrs and finally retired. probably stayed there over the yrs 5-6 times and will not return. they are alienating their long term clientele with such shoddy care and an attitude. clearly the staff does not function in any responsible fashion and has the attitude that every thing is your problem. unfortunate, as the location is great but the place is a dump.

Room tip: choose a room by staying someplace else if you are smart
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hondokathysierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robpatrick, Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We apologize for any issues you had during your stay however new owners mean new policies. Ray and Alvin retired several years ago. As you had been informed, the owners have a second property that is staffed for 24 hours nearby for any issues you may have after hours.

You were upstairs because we did not have a request on file stating that you needed to stay on the bottom floor. With such a request, we will lock the room in our system so it cannot be moved. Please note that we will do the best we can to accommodate such requests but they are not guaranteed at any lodging location as issues happen with rooms. When you insisted you had to be moved from the original room, we informed you that the other room did not have working cable, we did not know when the cable company would be able to come to fix it due to it being Jazz Festival and the ceiling fan was broken. You agreed to move to the room anyway or we would never have put you in the room so our question is why you would complain about it after the fact when you knew what you were moving into. When the cable company did arrive at 2 pm (not 6 pm), you turned the repairman away at the door with the front desk clerk and a housekeeper as witness.

Sheets are cleaned every 3 days during a guests stay, not every day, unless on request, to save on water and time. Sheets are always cleaned on checkout.

We were not informed of problems with your toilet during your stay or it would have been repaired.

New Orleans has something called Palmetto Bugs, they live on the banana trees and are everywhere. They are a form of cockroach that sometimes get inside if you leave the doors open. We cannot control this anymore than we can control flies and spiders. Please keep your doors closed.

It is our hope you will find happiness elsewhere in the city as our many glowing five star reviews here and elsewhere show that others enjoy our establishment with many guests praising our customer service in the highest regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Do not ever book with this guest house! I cannot speak to the quality of the rooms or the property since we never made it past the front desk. Based upon extensive research and positive online reviews, we made a reservation in February of 2018 for the second weekend of JazzFest in May of 2018. I provided a credit card to secure this reservation.
I called the day before our arrival to inform the staff that I would be arriving late and to ensure that we would be able to check in. I was told that this would not be a problem and was even provided with the lock box code to access the premises if we arrived after the front desk closed. Upon arrival at 10:30 PM on the first night of our reservation we were informed by the staff member present at the time (Julianne) that our reservation had been cancelled by one of the staff members (Melissa) on April 23, 2018. I was never informed of this despite the fact that the guest house had my email address and telephone number on record. Julianne told us that there were no rooms available and that there was nothing she could do for us to accommodate us. So, at 10:30PM during one of the busiest weekends in New Orleans, we had nowhere to stay. We eventually found alternate housing at a lesser quality and more expensive hotel but only after some frantic online searching time and traipsing through the French Quarter on foot with all of our luggage.
I called the next day to speak to the manager, Don to figure out why this had happened and to try and resolve the situation. He told me he would call me back later in the day after checking with his staff. Needless to say, he never did. When I called on the following day to speak with him Don immediately became defensive and belligerent and refused to offer me any sort of compensation since, according to him, Melissa followed proper protocol and called me to inform me of the cancellation. This is a bold faced lie. He said that he could not offer me any compensation since I did not stay with him for the second two nights of the reservation. When I told him that this was not possible since I was forced to prepay the whole reservation at our alternate location to ensure that we had accommodations throughout our stay he said there was nothing that he could do and that he was not going to offer any sort of compensation for our increased lodging expense let alone our inconvenience, stress, and aggravation.
In short, this guest house is run by and owned by horrible people who care nothing more than making a quick buck. They should not be trusted and should be avoided at all costs! Reservations mean nothing to them so DO NOT BOOK HERE...EVER!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank razoo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robpatrick, Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

I am very sorry you had a problem with your stay. However, you seem to be having some difficulty with your memory.

It is standard policy to charge in advance for all special event stays (example: Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, Essence Fest, to start). Evidently this possible guest knew their credit card had a problem and that it had to be replaced. Our staff member (Melissa) tried twice to contact this possible guest by phone. The phone did not ring through and simply kept ringing and ringing. The possible guest had provided a work phone number, not a cell or home phone where they could be reached if there was a problem as confessed by the possible guest to management during the discussion with the guest on the phone. If the credit card doesn't clear for the special event, the reservation will be cancelled and this is stated on all reservations booked with the hotel. The possible guest knew they had an invalid credit card, knew the policy, and failed to contact the hotel to give them the new credit card number so their reservation was not cancelled.

The Guest House is not responsible for the actions of those who did not stay with us nor are we going to pay for their stay elsewhere because they decided not to supply us their new credit card in advance and not to supply us with a valid phone number where they can be reached at any time.

I must say, trust goes both ways. At this point, we are forced to assume this is simply to try to cause problems for the hotel as the exact same review has been posted multiple places. No lies have been made but this possible guest doesn't like the result of their lack of willingness to provide information.

We hope that all guests will inform us of any problems they have to prevent issues with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Pretty disappointed with the stay here. Bathroom was very tired, dirty and super budget fit out. It hadn’t had a deep clean in a long time. Bedsheets and linen showed signs of wear and staining. Door locks didn’t all function, and there were lots of them (I think each time one broke they just added another next to it).

Breakfast consisted mostly of prepacked food, fresh fruit and (warm) milk was also available.

Location was very good and the only thing to drag this up from a 1 star rating, it’s only 2 minutes walk to heart of the French quarter, the building is also French quarter style with open courtyard and the former slave quarters converted into more guest rooms at the back of the courtyard.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HardB0iled3gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robpatrick, Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

The Guest House has been slowly upgraded, unfortunately this takes time and we haven't reached everything yet due to the busy season. We do clean and deep clean as cleanliness is important to us. Any issues with staining on the sheets and broken door locks weren't brought to the Guest House staff attention or they would have been fixed immediately. If we don't know, we can't fix it.

The Guest House obtains it's food from the same business as most of the restaurants and hotels in the city. Yes, it is prepackaged because we don't have space for a kitchen. We provided sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, several kinds of breads, sweets, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit, as well as 24 hour coffee and tea, and cold orange juice and milk. If it gets warm, it needs to be brought to the agents attention and it will be replaced.

I highly recommend bringing any problems to the staff attention to fix because we would never let them fester for the entire stay but we don't know everything. If we are not told at the time, we cannot fix it. Keeping complaints until you can speak them online leads us to question the validity of the issues. Our sincere hopes are that you will reconsider this tactic in the future. Our business is hospitality, but it's difficult to maintain hospitality when people keep secrets from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was really enjoyable. Beautifuly restored property a short walk from Bourbon Street with secure onsite parking at a reasonable rate.
Rooms are charming with a private balcony for second story rooms.
Continental breakfast included is also very good.
Don on the front desk was very friendly and really helpful with good knowledge on things to see and do in the area.
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trandy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robpatrick, Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your very kind review. We strive for guest happiness in all matters.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews