We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Excellence in Service and Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here the weekend of January 20th, 2012. We had 3 rooms. This hotel is very well located, the staff truly understands service, and this is an exceptional value. From the time you enter until you exit every staff member is truly there to help and make your stay more enjoyable. The included breakfast with make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, all types of cereal, oatmeal, eggs, etc.. is delicious. Everything is a few blocks away. The rooms are very nice, the beds are super comfy, rooms are very clean and spacious. A true value in New Orleans!!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,838)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,647 - 1,651 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I live near Birmingham and wanted to spend New Year's in New Orleans so we decided to take the Amtrack Crescent Train for the weekend trip. Having done this before we rented a bedroom car and left from Anniston, AL which means about 9 hours on the train. so we could start the New Year's clebration early nap and hit New Orleans ready to go! The train arrived on time at 7:30 Dec 31. We caught a cab to the hotel--about $11.

Arriving at the hotel you walk through a lovely gardened area into the lobby area which would remind you more of a Boutique hotel with the high ceilings-brick exposed walls and beautifully landscaped pool area visible from the lobby area. Even with a large crowd for the weekend_--we were quickly checked in and got into our spacious room on the 3rd floor. Everything fresh and clean with a sofa bed for us to plop our luggage on and head out on the town. This hotel is located right besdie the Convention Center and about 4 blocks from Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk & Trolleies. Got back to the room and enjoyed the kinqsize bed and quiet atmosphere since we were away from the crowds.

Awoke the next morning and was pleasantly surprised by a really nice hot breakfact buffet complete with true melt in your mouth hot southern biscuits. We spent Sunday afternoon and rest of the evening out and about-the weather was great for walking (just needed better shoes). Arrived back at the hotel well into the wee hours of the morning and had to be at the train station by 7am so just caught a couple of hours of restful sleep and left the hotel to catch our 7am train back to Alabama.

We needed the excercise so we walked to Bourbon Street and surrounding areas during our short stay-this hotel is perfect for those that can get around by foot. It would be less deirable for those who do not enjoy walking as you would have to take a cab or pay for parking if you bring a car - (And find parking as well). (Thus we take the train and have no car.) We would stay at this hotel again--we have also stayed at the Ritz Carlton (Superb Hotel), a couple of Bed & Breakfasts away from downtown.

Overall an excellent experience. We felt safe walking and there seems to be an excellent Police presence wherever you go.The rates for the weekend were adjusted for the New Year's Holiday so it was a bit pricey but when I compared to other places to stay for the same amounts I think we came out very well!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is basically clean and just fine. Within easy walking distance to the quarter and quiet. Just an FYI...you get what you pay for with the internet. It's slow and undependable if you aren't on a lower floor. If you do a significant amount of work on the internet you may want to bring your own source.

The only actual issue I had was being woken one morning by the housekeeping staff cleaning the room next door while playing the radio and shouting across the hall.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I travel to New Orleans at least once a year, usually two or three times. We have stayed in three French Quarter hotels, two historic and one tall and modern. We have also stayed in two hotels on St. Charles. All were nice, clean and we enjoyed every stay. But last year we found the Hampton Convention Center. Every staff person from the valet working the midnight shift to the ladies keeping the breakfast Buffett full were ALL friendly and helpful. Our rooms have always been clean and ready. We LOVE the location. Just a two minute walk from the riverfront streetcar (and thus riverwalk), and from there to Canal and the Quarter or on to St. Charles streetcar. But the best part of the location is that when your New Orleans day is done, you can return to the Hampton for a great night's rest away from the bustle and noise that is New Orleans. AND you will NOT find a better hot and FREE breakfast buffett. We stayed Monday through Friday and never had the same thing twice. If you love New Orleans like we do but you also love a good night's rest in a clean hotel room, with THE friendliest staff and the BEST hot breakfast buffet, then book a room at the Hampton now!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were within walking distance of just about everything in New Orleans yet it far away enough to be quiet. Loved the lobby (converted warehouse) but the hotel itself was kind of shabby and rooms were somewhat smaller than the usual Hampton Inn rooms are. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Breakfast was really good....probably one of the better Hampton Inn breakfasts around. However, wifi was somewhat spotty. Most of the time it worked very well but sometimes it didn't.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,547 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 165 in New Orleans
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: RM478 - RM1,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing