We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Oysters Rockefeller”
Review of Royal House

Royal House
Ranked #125 of 2,018 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Royal House is a French Quarter oyster bar and seafood restaurant with a classic New Orleans atmosphere and menu featuring fresh-air dining and local seafood dishes. From fresh-shucked to charbroiled and Rockefeller to Royale, you’re sure to find your new favorite oyster dish here. While enjoying a dozen at the bar or a cool cocktail on the balcony, you can usually catch a street performance from a jazz musician, an experience unique to New Orleans. Whether you’re a traveler to our great city or a New Orleans native, we’ve got the perfect place for you at our restaurant and oyster bar. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Visiting New Orleans again for the 3rd time. Finally got a chance to go to The Royal House Oyster Bar. The Oysters Rockefeller were excellent (although authentic Oysters Rockefeller does not have cheese....just sayin) but very tasty. The Crab Claws were good because the French bread was toasted nicely. The Chopped Chicken Salad was sufficient and tasty, not exciting, we just wanted greens to end our meal

Thank DaleI57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Had dinner on the balcony here and the setting was perfect with a street entertainer out the front playing music. The food was delicious, however the meals were small and quite expensive compared to a lot of similar places around.

Thank JoeroyJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for this feedback. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This place is a tourist trap. Just because it is located in the middle of the French quarter does not make it a good place. Food is terrible, fish over seasoned, broiled mushrooms served ice cold and a waiter that didn't even know her way around the restaurant. In fact just stay away of every place in the French quarter, all the best places are in the warehouse district

1  Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We truly appreciate this feedback to better ourselves. We hope in the future, you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stopped for Dinner based on recommendation from hotel (the Omni). Was not disappointed. Wife loved the Red Beans and rice and the oysters were awesome and fresh. We went back twice for breakfast and totally enjoyed. Our final night stopped in at the bar for drinks (try the Voodoo) and some oysters on the half shell... could not have started a night in NOLA any better. Staff was friendly and service was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jmac304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for a bite to eat on the way to a party. She ordered a dozen oysters and I got the crab claws. My crab claws, though small and not the best crab meat I've tasted was in the best roux I've ever had. The bread they served with it was perfect for soaking it up like soup. The wife said the oysters were so so but tasty. The last time we were here the food was okay but not for the price. This time the roux saved the day.

Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you Sarah for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our crab claw dish so much. We hope you come try some of our other amazing dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing