We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO BLOWDRYER IN A WHOLE MOTEL. Even for extra money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown
Ranked #150 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 3 February 2016

NO BLOWDRYER in a whole motel. You cannot get it even for extra money. Ended up buying a cheap blowdryer at the nearest Walmart. You can get an iron though (I am not sure if you have to pay for it). Clean sheets and towels (2 per customer per day). No shampoo, conditioner or lotion. 1 peace of soap per customer per day. Noisy air conditioner (worked fine). Microwave and a fridge in a room. We stayed in #110. New bathroom which is nice. My biggest issues: squeaky bathroom door and a constantly sliding mattress (won't stay in place when you want to lean toward the headboard and read). Hallway is a little bit smelly, furniture is very old. Free coffee in a lobby 6-10 p.m. Free tourist booklets. Subway is literally next door. Walking distance to Dollar Store and Macdonalds. About 10-15 min from French Quarter by car. $15 taxi to Frenchman street. Stayed 3 nights. Overall - OK motel. Own by Indians I guess. Very thin blanket (it is not an actual blanket). But they gave me a second when I asked.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor. So you will be able to open blinds without people staring at you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khariton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2016

I think with places like this (motels) you get exactly what you pay for. It wasn't extravagant, but I felt safe and the place was as clean as it possible could be, despite the aged look of the place. It worked fine for a place to lay my head at night, but I wouldn't want to spend long amounts of time in the room awake since it is not very appealing. Check-in and check-out was fast and easy.
The only complaint I have is the bed is not very comfortable. I'm usually not fussy about beds (I've spent wonderful nights sleeping on couches), but the bed was a platform bed (no box spring) with no slats, just a board. I think when you have a bed with no box spring sitting on a board the mattress should be super comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Armous32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Didn't end up staying because of a mistake I made in my reservation, but wanted to thank the desk clerk (Harry) for being very helpful and customer service oriented. Helped me cancel and keep my vacation on track

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagotraveler653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Not fancy, but great place to sleep. Great price, clean, and close to French Quarter 20 mins.or so easy access to I-10. Wood floors, great place if you have allergies. Coffee only in the morning, vending machines with snack foods. Close to Ihop & Waffle House.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FLcraker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This was a great value hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful, they left a bag of towels on my door in the morning, without my asking, because I had a do not disturb sign on the door. The room was very clean and recently updated, but a bit sparse. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the parking lot was gated which kind of told me I might not be in the best neighborhood. All in all, it was a quality hotel for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#140 of 167 in New Orleans
23 reviews
Tremé
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#122 of 167 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#143 of 167 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#66 of 167 in New Orleans
313 reviews
Quality Inn
#136 of 167 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown

Address: 4200 Old Gentilly Rd, New Orleans, LA 70126-4902
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: RM 245 - RM 510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 New Orleans is less than 5 miles from downtown. It is centrally located near casinos, shopping, museums, and the famous French Quarter. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, truck parking, coin laundry facility, and a meeting room. This is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd Hotel New Orleans
Knights Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing