We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside deter you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown
Ranked #150 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The very look of its surroundings and the caged lot screams "run away," but inside are the largest standard motel rooms I have encountered and done up in a very modern decor. This comes at some price though as the raised platform beds, while chic, were Hades on the back after a day or two. Give me a good box spring next time. Fridge and mircowave were put to good use. Everything else is pretty much standard Motel 6. Internet was very fast in our location.

Room Tip: The interior corridors are dirty and depressing. Ask to be near an exit door if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buckimion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Location was 10/20 minutes to everything. Spacious rooms. Clean well cleaner than I had imagined. I loved the "courtyard" my room was viewing a palm tree along with a freeway in the back ground. I had a room by the exit on the first floor because I said I smoke and the front desk man here let's get you a 1st floor room which I thought was pretty cool. Uber were only 10$ to Bourbon Street. I had come to New Orleans to pick my sister who ported in from a cruise and to my surprise it was only 10mins from hotel. We did have problem with the toilet but once front desk was informed it was handled.Awful bedding,not the greatest pillows and It's New Orleans everything smells like mildew. Everything has water damage. Loud a/c but was just happy that it worked. Could use some updates but you get what you pay for...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Would come again if ever in the area. Very Affordable. No carpet but I actually like it that way. Housekeepers were very helpful and always greeted me with smiles. They even gave hugs on my last morning.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Dominique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I thought this place would be a bit rough because of the neighbourhood we looked to be in but found it quite adequate for a few nights stay. The laundry was fine. The room was spacious and clean and tidy. There looked to be homeless people living under the freeway just a couple of blocks from the Motel but we didn't have any trouble. We ate at local places with no issues but we didn't go out walking at night.

Room Tip: Not too close to the freeway exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RATZnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I was Ok with this Place until i woke up and tried to take a Shower.... No hot water. And the Bed was Hard . No Box Spring under the Mattress.. Security is good there. You can't even enter the Building unless you have a Room Card Key which is good.

Room Tip: Make sure you have Hot Water before booking room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#140 of 167 in New Orleans
23 reviews
Tremé
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#122 of 167 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#143 of 167 in New Orleans
89 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#66 of 167 in New Orleans
313 reviews
Quality Inn
#136 of 167 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown

Address: 4200 Old Gentilly Rd, New Orleans, LA 70126-4902
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: RM 245 - RM 491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 New Orleans is less than 5 miles from downtown. It is centrally located near casinos, shopping, museums, and the famous French Quarter. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, truck parking, coin laundry facility, and a meeting room. This is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 New Orleans - near downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd Hotel New Orleans
Knights Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing