We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you want a hotel in French Quarter with a walkingdistance to the mainattractions - this is the place. Exspecially if your into jazz and want to visit The Frenchmen street. At the same time the hotel is located in a more quiet end of the quarter. I had a good sleep even though I visited the city during Mardi Gras. The staff was great and very helpfull, and that means from the frontdesk to the housekeeping. The breakfast was not included, so be prepared to pay for it. You will also find nice places for breakfast just around the corner. I had some problems with the Wi-Fi, but in The French Quarter - with all the brickhouses - I was told that this is something you got to deal with. Sometimes I had to sit in the lobby to get a stabil line. However, it was nice, clean and safe at Le Richelieu. I would deffintly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwegiandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    447
    128
    41
    15
See reviews for
176
552
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

At the "locals" end of the French Quarter, a stone's throw from the French Market, the music clubs of Frenchman Street, and excellent restaurants, Le Richelieu is also a few minutes walk to all the popular "must-see" sites such as Jackson Square, Canal Street, and the "mighty Mississippi." Thanks to the streetcar line and public bus system, a car is unnecessary, though the Richelieu provides safe, on-site parking for a reasonable fee. The hotel is very "old New Orleans" and decorated accordingly with beautiful antiques. If you need anything, just ask. The entire staff is there to help you find your way around safely and comfortably. The cozy bar offers lovely drinks, the cafe attracts many New Orleanians, especially for Sunday brunch. The salt-water pool is an oasis of tropical pleasure and as the charming, octogenarian owner says, the lack of chlorine prevents damage to "the ladies hair-does!" My room was clean, comfortable, and the little refrigerator was great for storing drinks and leftovers from the great restaurants. If you like a small, cozy, quaint-but-elegant hotel with a convenient, safe, quiet(ish) location (New Orleans is rarely sedate!), then stay at Le Richelieu and enjoy the best town in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdsong352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We found it ideally situated, easy to walk to the French Quarter and also to get on one of the Paddle Steamers for a trip down the 'muddy Mississippi. We didn't eat at the hotel preferring to stroll to the coffee bars and restaurants to try the local fare.

It is an old hotel, only to be expected, but the staff were very helpful, we would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormajoTampaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days in January and really enjoyed this hotel. We booked late so we ended up taking one of the corner rooms on the street so there was street noise at night (to be expected in a busy city!) but that was the only drawback. The staff was top-notch - we loved leaving the key at the front desk when we left so we didn't have to worry about losing it on our travels! We spent a couple of sunny hours one afternoon in the courtyard by the pool, having a few drinks and reading (mostly resting our feet!) and we enjoyed that. The wi-fi worked great in the room and I also saw someone using their laptop in the courtyard.

The location is wonderful, especially if you like the music on Frenchman Street which we prefer over Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go so we will definately make this our hotel of choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcbcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My traveling buddy found this fine little hotel. Its location is excellent, just blocks from the French Market & the river. Very safe, clean, quiet and relaxed. Not recommended for the party crowd. Right across the street from the pompous, self-important, ridiculously expensive Soniat and much nicer all around. We frequently go to New Orleans as we live only 2 1/2 hrs away and will make this our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albizzia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): RM482 - RM1,386
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing