We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Dream Come True!”
other travellers have booked this property
735 Touro Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
735 Touro Street
Voodoo sofa and day bed Voodoo living room and fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
735 Touro Street
Voodoo sofa and day bed
Voodoo living room and fireplace
Voodoo living room
VooDoo Day bed and trundle
Voodoo kitchen
Voodoo bath
Voodoo Bed
Jazz Bedroom
Jazz Bath
Bordello Bed
Bordello Desk
Bordello Fireplace
Halloween Guests
Bienvenue - Back house for groups of 8 or more
Back House Living Room
View of dining room and sofa sleeper
Shiny new kitchen ... brand new appliances !
Back House Master Bedroom
View of Living Room and Sofa Sleeper from Stairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom with exit to Balcony
Back House Sunset/Sunrise Balcony
THE COTTAGE -- for larger parties...3 additional bedrooms
Breeze way to Back House
Breezeway Cocktails
Breakfast and BBQ
Ruby Slipper - Breakfast and Lunch
Mule Carriage Route to Jackson Square
Okra Man
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Linda B
Salmo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True!”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Five mature women hailing from Ontario and BC Canada, and Idaho all traveled to New Orleans for a holiday and to celebrate the 70th birthday of one of our party. We rented the house in back as the front rentals were already booked until half way thru when 2 of us relocated to the front cottages. The places are historic, quirky, eclectic and a real feel of the old French quarter. In the morning the horses would clop clop by on the street and the steamboat would set off a horn blast as it traveled up the Mississippi River. Our hostess Nadine was as sweet as cherry pie and treated us royally, gifting us with fresh flowers for the table and offering helpful advice. We felt safe in this neighbourhood, which is a stone's throw from Frenchman St. where we heard amazing music nightly. I sat a lot in the big black wooden chairs in the outdoor patio area with the outdoor resident kitty Reed on my lap. We loved this old residence and I would return and rent any one of the cabins on a return to New Orleans. We experienced Southern hospitality at its finest and were amazed at the city and the shops and the quaintness of it all as well as all the musicians and street performers. It is an unusual city with a lot of layers. We loved having our home away from home and recommend it highly to any one who wants a taste of the old and is not in need of some sterile swanky 5 star expensive hoighty toighty hotel. This is the real authentic creole cottages built in1810 or so and it with a few of its own quirks it is just a lovely and warm and amazing rental. I would return in a minute if I could. We loved it and thank the owner Dayna for having such an amazing rental available so close to the music scene and for her daughter Nadine who is such a lovely ambitious young woman. A dream come true for me!!!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architecture, location, friendliness of hostess
Liked least: Nothing it was all amazing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Hello Linda and the Lovely Ladies from the North,
Well, I just cannot thank you enough for your stay, and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We are very grateful that you came to celebrate with us and hope that you are already planning the 80th, 90th and 100th !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahHa...
Defiance, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite from Mardi Gras hustle.”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I came down for Mardi Gras with family and friends and were lucky enough to find this place. While a single rental it is comprised of three units that accommodate seven people comfortably. Having this layout was perfect for all of us.

Dana and her daughter, Noreen were so hospitable. Noreen was available to us for any concern and offered many wonderful suggestions about the city and transit options.

The house was quaint, clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the Quarter and three blocks from the jazz clubs on Frenchman Street. Located across the street was Horns; a quaint restaurant & bar offering breakfast, dinner & cocktails.

If we are ever so lucky to return to New Orleans, this would be the first place I would check for availability. Thanks for your hospitality Dana & Noreen.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Hello Mardi Gras Revelers ..
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay in the historic creole cottage. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit, in spite or perhaps because of Mardi Gras .. like the 1800s cottage, it is not for everyone. You all were delightful guests and a pleasure to host. We do hope you make it back someday soon! D&N
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanTs
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent location and fantastic accommodations”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The location of the property was fantastic and within a 5-10 minute walking distance to both Bourbon and Frenchman Street. The property is a little old, however each room is unique has it's own charm.

The heat in the Voodoo room was touch and go during our stay however the units in the other two rooms worked excellently. WI-FI on the property was spotty and was hit or miss from room to room and seemed to work best in the Jazz bedroom however it was not a huge concern for the group.

Lastly, Dayna and Norine were extremely accommodating and were both readily available and accessible by phone if any problems came up. Would definitely recommend staying at this property if you're really just looking for a central location to stay while being within walking distance to all the great cultural events and foods that New Orleans has to offer.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write - we appreciate your honest commentary and would like to mention that you were excellent guests! Come on back y'all ! Dayna & Norine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardMar...
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location with a few caveats.....”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This house is in a FANTASTIC location - easy to get everywhere you want to go without a taxi or Uber. The party scene of Bourbon Street and the jazz and entertainment of Frenchman Street is just a couple of blocks away. If this was all I was going to review this is a FIVE STAR property.

We read all the reviews before we booked and thought we knew what we would be getting - a charming Creole cottage. My wife and I travel frequently and are not fancy travelers by any stretch. We did not expect anything upscale based on previous reviews as well. We were traveling with our adult children and their spouses who share our style.

This cottage is in terrible condition - and not only because of it's age. For example there is visible black mold in the Voodoo bathroom on the wall. This is a maintenance issue. The two other suites have doors that although they lock, can be easily penetrated offering no security - again - a maintenance problem, not charming. The oven was not working for a couple of days - but they did get it repaired. The heat was not operational and again the issue was handled by the owner before the temps dropped into the 40's. One of the doors in the Voodoo bathroom is literally hanging on one hinge.

On the positive side - the owner Dayna is a pleasure to deal with and although she was not in the area did everything she could to be accommodating and helpful.

If you are heading to NOLA and will be spending the majority of your time out and about this is a great option - just be prepared for what you will be getting.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: Condition of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Dear Gerard and Family,
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Thank you also for your patience as we worked through some of the cooking and heating issues in the cottage. I will address the other issues that you mentioned. Thank you again for your stay, as well as your constructive feedback. Dayna, Norine and Marnix
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Ocean Township, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and the feel of New Orleans”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just a two block walk to Frenchman St. and great jazz this is a great place to stay. It is not a five star hotel but it is the true New Orleans. The guest house is clean and comfortable and Norine lives on the premises which is great. You can walk to everything in the French Quarter and experience NOLA. Horns a restaurant across the street is a great spot to start your day. We had six people in our party and all enjoyed the stay. Dayna was very professional and Norine was very cordial.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: television reception
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We are very appreciative of the time and effort. You all (y'all) were fabulous guests and we would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.