We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Garden District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Vincent's Guest House
Ranked #143 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 5 May 2017

This place is not for everyone but we love it. It has loads of character and the people working here are very friendly. Great location with a bus out front and the trolley car few blocks away. It has a pool which is perfect for a quick dip on the hot days and there's also a Pizza cafe on site with good food and there's an excellent coffee shop over the road. Magazine Street is great for it's interesting shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MezRayTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 572 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
254
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

The building is from the 1800's and the bedroom furniture is not much newer. 2nd floor hall not climate controlled but that is just a conditioning feature as your bedroom has 12 foot ceilings and a window AC unit for an 8 foot room. Not being insulated helps you stay warm (in summer). Has an elevator but stopped working and looked like it was from 1940's. Only one light bulb in room but you really don't want to look to close.
So it does have parking which most do not and if you are into hostiles - this is your room! Can walk to park behind hotel and corner coffee shop.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I chose this property because it's close to the Smoothie King venue. It's a beautiful old building & the communal areas are well kept however the private room with bathroom was filthy & the shower head encrusted with gunk! The bed was comfy but the nylon quilt is not the best thing in the heat of N.O. The staff are friendly & if you are on a budget it ticks most boxes in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aliclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

While the property is not for the faint of heart, it is a great and inexpensive option. Not posh nor plush, but its a great old property with lots of history. I had PLENTY of hot water, my room had three LARGE windows. The beds were comfortable. Again, no extras, but all that a traveler, who is exploring New Orleans during the day and nights need. After speaking with the front desk, I found that there are eerie things in September and October; children laughing and such. I plan on making a trip JUST to experience the cool things that might go "bump in the night".

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

It was definitely a different hotel that I have ever stayed in... The architecture and furnishings in the hotel are amazing!! The staff were great. Our room carpets were threadbare but it was clean and the bed very comfortable. I can see how it would shock you that you don't have a TV, shampoo or a coffeemaker.. We survived and it was a GREAT time... However I can say that if I knew about all the issues we probably would not have stayed there... BUT we were glad that we did!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared to 'rough" it but the stay in this hotel is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
633 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#115 of 166 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#140 of 166 in New Orleans
67 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#103 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: RM211 - RM406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Vincent's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 the guest house will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the city of New Orleans (the Lower Garden District). First opened in 1861 as a orphanage, the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing