We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balcony Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$499
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Market Inn(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Marie(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lamothe House Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grenoble House(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
131
94
27
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
94
27
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilk roadrestaurant downstairsfrenchman streetfrench quartermaster suitemarigny districtdirect accessgreat neighborhoodhoneymoon suiteminute walkevery morningquiet neighborhooda great place to stayfour nightsvisit nolahome away from homebourbon st
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

unique-quirky...that's the general feel....until you open the door to a room that isn't clean, has a mouldy shower, and well, an odor. I wish I would have taken some pics of the bathroom to share---a $2 tube of caulk can do wonders.

On the positive side, you do have a bar/restaurant downstairs, and friendly staff--just need to clean a bit better. They do give you a free drink in the bar (maybe to take your mind off of the lack of cleaning). And the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We booked this B&B because it has a balcony and many of the Mardi Gras parades go right by the place. It was a great place to stay. The location is about 6 blocks from the French Market, making the start of your day great. Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant, a local place. While it isn't served until 9 or later, if you're an early riser, there is a coffee shop a block away. We'd get our coffee from there, sit on the porch in morning and then have breakfast downstairs. Or, if we wanted an early start, we'd walk to the market and grab breakfast there, or at the Cafe du Monde.

Our room was a little small, but clean and accommodating and we weren't there most of the time. The staff was very friendly, and pets are welcome! We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, but saw the master suite. If you plan on spending more time in the room, then we recommend the suite. There is a common sitting area, and the balcony is open to everyone.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reds_place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I went to NO in January for a little get away. It's about an 8-10 minute walk from the French Quarter. Not bad at all. We felt safe walking the ENTIRE time. Even all the way from Bourbon St. late at night. The room was basic. Just what we needed. A bed, internet access, a small bathroom, and t.v. We could walk out onto the balcony right from our room. The place itself is SO neat. It's a convenient store/ laundry mat/b&b/bar/Indian and American Restaurant. We ate there twice for dinner. The Po Boy and the Indian dish we tried were both REALLY good. The cooked breakfast was great! They have great happy hour specials on their beer-- $2 for whatever kind your heart desires, and there are a lot to choose from. The staff behind the bar was SO nice, and extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for anything and everything. If you hang out at the bar around dinner, the locals are all nice, and very happy to converse. It wasn't anything fancy, but it had great character, and we loved being in the neighborhood and amongst all the locals. When we go back we're staying here. 3 days wasn't long enough!

Room Tip: Go to their website, and it will tell you which rooms have balcony access. THAT would be the room I would choose.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KRVitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here during Mardi Gras week and were so pleased with our choice. They didn't price gouge us and even included a delicous breakfast each morning. Upon arrival, we were offered a free cocktail of our choice and Chuck took our bag to our room. We weren't going to New Orleans to sit in our room so it was fine that the room was small. Although it was small the bed was comfy and the balcony area was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Balcony Guest House again because of the awesome neighborhood, hospitality, and great food at Schiro's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fperez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This place has ALOT of character and if you are looking for a true New Orleans experience you will like this place. The location is safe but far from the sites, get a trolley day pass. Breakfast isn't served till 9:30 - 10:00, we are early risers so this didn't work for us. Not very clean or private and you will smell the restaurant downstairs the whole time. But if you want that gritty NOLA experience...here is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front balcony room seems like a good idea but it's not a private balcony and the drapes offer NO privacy so get ready to show your birthday suit to Royal St without receiving the beads!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews