We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #36 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

The food here is really good. Lots of spicy dishes and many types of beer.
The room is cozy, but unfortunately the balcony upstairs is reserved for the b&b guests.
The only thing I missed was a few more child friendly options on the menu.
But all in all very good.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zackary R, Social Media Manager at Balcony Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for submitting your review and stating that you enjoyed the food at Silk Road. The balcony upstairs is for the bed and breakfast, Balcony Guest House. Sorry we could not allow you to dine upstairs, but perhaps you can stay with us in our B&B sometime, even as a stay-cation, and enjoy the restaurant, B&B and balcony! We appreciate your comment about needing more child-friendly options in the restaurant and will certainly give some attention to that. We hope to see you again soon.
Silk Road NOLA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

We arrived very early and the super friendly staff was able to put us in the room before check in. The room had access to the beautiful balcony. Though the room was a bit small it was very cozy! It was just two of us and we didn't stay in during the day so it was perfect for our needs. The location was perfect! Just close enough to everything but not in the middle of it. I will most definitely book again on our next trip to NOLA. :)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BJBGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balconyguesthouse, Owner at Balcony Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Very kind of you to give us such a nice review.
Merci beaucoup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

The owners were some of the most welcoming and most accommodating hosts I've met in my lifetime. They made sure my friends and I were enjoying our stay the entire time.

The location is based not too far from the party of Frenchmen St/ French Quarters and a 20-minute walk from The Joint BBQ (really good brisket).
The innkeeper was pleasant and continental breakfast was bare bones (no big deal, just expect it). Rooms are decently sized and were fine.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this place again.

-Michael

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PDXNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zackary R, Social Media Manager at Balcony Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for submitting your 5-Star review of Balcony Guest House. Your comment that "The owners were some of the most welcoming and most accommodating hosts I've met in my lifetime" is so good to hear. We do try to take care of our guests. Thank you for choosing Balcony Guest House and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This house was a perfect spot for a large group...we were 14 girls in total, and had room to spare! The whole staff was amazing, helpful, and all around a pleasure to work with. Not to mention the delicious food downstairs :) The beautiful large balcony was an great feature as well, hence the property name. Location was great -- only a short walk to French Quarter but nice to be a few minutes away from the tourist craziness and large crowds that the French Quarter is known for. All around, I'd definitely stay here again whether I rent the whole house for a large group, or even just a room for a quick weekend getaway. Thanks Zak and everyone at The Balcony Guest House & Silk Road Restaurant!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simrit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zackary R, Social Media Manager at Balcony Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

It was such a joy to have all of you stay with us. What a fun group! We are happy we could accommodate all of you and that you chose to stay with us at Balcony Guest House. Thanks, also, for your kind 5-star review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

I'll get this out of the way: if you travel to be waited on hand and foot, this is not the spot for you. And in fact, that is what I probably loved most about it. The experience is akin to staying with gracious friends for a few days; they give you the key and you come and go as you please.

We booked almost the entire house for our group of 10 Jazz Fest travelers. The innkeeper, Zak, was extra helpful (and patient) over 9 months as I tried to coordinate confirmed travel, number of people, payments, etc. The arrival and check in was seamless, and we were all met with the most friendly welcome by he and his staff. Once checked in, we were pretty much left to enjoy the space, unless we needed to communicate an issue.

The guest house is located in the perfect neighborhood - Marigny is an eclectic, lovely and surprisingly quiet area positioned right between the vibrant Frenchmen Street and rapidly revitalizing Bywater. A perfect jumping off point for any NOLA adventure.

It was mentioned the inn's decor is something like the home of a well-traveled aunt, who has collected treasures from abroad for display. And that seems just about right. Funky, fun and relaxed. A place you want to lounge in, chat, enjoy. The deluxe rooms are small but comfortable and the suites are quite nicely sized with additional seating rooms. The bed was excellent. The balcony was a perfect hang.

I also can't say enough about the Silk Road restaurant in the "lobby" of the inn. It literally feels like your most beloved local haunt. The food is excellent and the wine list is top notch.

When next down NOLA way, we're heading back for certain.

Room Tip: We loved the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phi1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zackary R, Social Media Manager at Balcony Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Wow! Your 5-star review is awesome! It is nice to know that your group was satisfied and had a great experience with us during your stay. Thank you for choosing Balcony Guest House and please do come back again. Thanks again for such a detailed and kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
235 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#45 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: RM515 - RM718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Silk Road NOLA restaurant (ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the Mississippi River. Historic, alluring and relaxed (Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing