We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi Gras 2012”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras 2012”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Was here for Mardi Gras. Location is excellent. No free wifi - was $10 a day. When we booked there was supposed to be a free continental breakfast. When we got there it wasn't included anymore. We brought this to their attention and they said unless we have something on paper too bad. Although very nice, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,800
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,215
2,727
225
1,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

.......... or at least I thought this hotel was a perfect location because I was able to walk to so many different places (shops, restaurants, the French Quarter) without having to rent a car! The shuttle from the airport is so conveniant that renting a car would have Only meant more expense. Why? I would have had to pay for parking. Shuttles aren't for everyone but it was perfect for me.

If you choose to stay at this hotel I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pennydaredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We've stayed at the Monteleone for Mardi Gras several times. We generally go to the city on Monday and leave on Wednesday so we don't have to try to get away on Fat Tuesday (which we did once to our regret). It's a great location, close enough to be able to get into the swing of the holiday but not right on top of insane revelry. I'm ready to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la-rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and friends chose this hotel for Mardi Gras based off TripAdvisor reviews.This was the perfect hotel ever! Staff was excellent. Our room was a little on the small side but perfect for the amount of people staying. The bed were really comfortable. The updated bathroom was small but the granite counters and floors for some reason just made it seem nicer. Bathroom was also very clean. We had no issues with the noise level. Breakfast was to die for! The original description made it seem as if the breakfast buffet was included.. surprisingly it was a whopping $18 bucks but we weren't really upset because the food and service was worth it. Location was fabulous!!!! Once again the location was FABULOUS!! The only down side was housekeeping was not fully operating due to Mardi Gras so no one ever came to clean our rooms so we had to clean ourselves. When we called to ask for a trash bag no one ever bought it up to us so we had to use our shopping bags. We plan to come back and hopefully the housekeeping will be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrice383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

very good breakfast, good location to walk to parades, shops, restaurants, clean and quiet rooms, friendly staff and wonderful lobby with attached resolving Bar so you see the whole street scenic view.

Room Tip: Helpful staff at the garage, for MardiGras make sure to get to garage early we had challenges gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,705 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): RM660 - RM2,320
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing