We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location - Summer Food Tour”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - Summer Food Tour”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family and I stayed in this Hotel in August of 2011. It is a beautiful hotel located in the heart of the French Quarter. It has a beautiful swimming pool located on the top of the roof with a gorgeous view. My sister and I shared a room. It was pretty tiny but the beds were very comfortable. You do have to pay for internet while your there which is kind of annoying. I think its around 20 bucks or something like that. The lobby is beautiful. We had a great stay, Although after finding out it was on the Haunted Ghost Tour, I didn't sleep as well. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutiepet2tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,808
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,216
2,731
226
1,479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Monteleone during the marathon weekend (from Friday night to Tuesday March 3rd to March 6th). The hotel was lovely and historic and in a wonderful walking location for sightseeing, but if you are like me and choose to sleep between the hours of 10 pm and 3 am, then you will not want to stay on the Bourbon Street side of the hotel. When I booked our room in early June (for a stay the next March), I specifically requested a room with less noise on a high floor and they said that they would try to accommodate me. However, both of our first two nights we heard loud bands playing and crowd noise from 10 pm to 3 am. This is not good if you are trying to get up early (like I was when running a big race). After two sleepless nights, we requested a room change and were granted one. Unfortunately, the hotel made us check out of our first room at 11:00 am and we were not granted a new room on the quiet side until 5:00 pm. This made napping or rest impossible after a night with no sleep. If you want to party all night, this is a great hotel. If you want to rest at night and have fun during the day, try somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay on the Decatur street side if you want to sleep at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelWithFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here on a recent business trip and found the hotel and location to be fantastic. The room was a bit small but charming. The bed was comfortable with soft, crisp linens. The building feels old but in a good way. All too often we stay in chain hotels that lack charm and character. This place has both. The location cannot be beat, right in the heart of the French Quarter. Bourbon street is around the corner, close enough if you want it but not in your face if you don't. A small, quaint coffee/lunch spot is a few doors down, Cafe Beignet. The guy at the counter promised that their beignets were much better than Cafe Du Monde's. After happily sampling both, I have to agree. The cafe au lait was excellent as well.

At the center of the hotel is The Carousel Bar, a seemingly authentic revolving merry go round. It is a great place to meet for a drink. We had appetizers in the bar one afternoon which were surprisingly good. Also, as it was a corporate event dinner was on property. I was surprised at how good the food was. I was expecting the usual rubber chicken fare but it turned out to be very tasty. Breakfast was also quite good.

There is a roof top pool which unfortunately I did not get a chance to use. The lounges looked like a nice place to unwind after a day of sight seeing.

I came for business but would definitely return for pleasure given the chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I pass through New Orleans often and in general have enjoyed sitting and having a sazerac at the Hotel Monteleone's Carosel Bar. My enjoyment changed dramatically, however, during a recent trip when, as per usual, I ordered a single drink, paid for it with my credit card and closed out the account. The total I was to be billed was $11.88, so imagine my surprise when I looked on my statement to find that the hotel was withholding two separate sums from two fraudulent transactions totaling $12.35 and $99.50. I called the hotel with the original receipt in front of me and after being passed from employee to employee was finally connected with the credit manager who told me that the discrepancy "should be taken care of" sometime in the next several days and that there was "nothing she could do about it." I said that I had been to the hotel many times before and that I closed out my card after a single drink to which she kept asking, as if brain-damaged, "did you close out your card?" All in all the staff were thoroughly unhelpful, adding to the impression of dishonesty in connection with the Hotel Monteleone this incident left me with. I will not be going back, and will instead spend my money at the far more convivial Columns Hotel on St. Charles Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CaribIbnBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear CariblbnBattuta,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced by the accidental charge to your account and the resulting inconveniences with the service your received in attempting to clear up the mistake. I hope you will reconsider your impression of the Carousel Bar and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is based.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had $300 worth of corporate shirts stolen from our meeting room. The guest services representative, Riccio, promised to 'look into' the incedent by reviewing camera footage from the 2 cameras stationed at the two entrances. Nothing was done. After returning home, I contacted the hotel to find out if there was any consequence to the theft and I was dismissed. It was our fault, I was told (this only after we had left the hotel. While still there, we were told that everything would be taken care of...) We had rented the meeting room for 2 and a half days and nothing was offered to compensate us. Also, my private room was left open by the maid (number 934) when the deadbolt was left extended, so upon returning to my room in the afternoon, I discovered that anyone could have walked in and helped themselves to my belongings. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL FOR ANY EVENTS. Stay at the OMNI.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Melissa E,

Please accept our deepest apologies that this happened to you during your time at the Hotel Monteleone. We are appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,553 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,720 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,160 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): RM647 - RM2,339
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing