We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT hotel!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our company hosted a 3 day conference here for customers and it was really much better than I ever expected. The rooms, although small, were cozy and very clean. The bathroom, again small, was well put together and very pretty. The service was exceptional from the maid staff, to the catering staff, to the bar staff. The only complaints I had were, seperate elevators for certain sections of the hotel, roof pool closing at 10 pm, and the resturant not being open. But...really, those are very small complaints.

Room Tip: If you have a phobia about ghosts...don't choose the 14th floor as it's claim to fame is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,559 - 6,563 of 7,697 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Perfect location for the french quarter and I think the nicest hotel there. Staff is wonderful and the history and charm of the hotel are attactive as well. Now this hotel is older and so the rooms are smaller than the average hotel and the walls are not sound proof...more like paper thin. Beds are comfy but no charger for an iphone or mini bar in the room? Who doesn't have an iphone charger in the room anymore?? Had to walk down the street to walgreens and buy one for $12. If you are a smoker, you'll have to stand right by the front door entrance because this is a non smoking hotel and the rooms do not have balconies and the windows in your room are sealed shut. This is a really nice hotel and bottom line, I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: avoid a room that faces the street. Instead opt for a room overlooking the airconditioners and roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ja7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My daughter and I just stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for Final Four weekend. Its a beutiful, charming hotel that we had a wonderful experiance in. we stayed in a suite which was fresh and updated. The hotel is as nice as the Ritz but for less money and the location cannot be beat. Its on Royal street, one block from Bourbon street, away from the noise but a short block to the fun.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We can't wait to come back!! Excellent location on classy Royal Street & a block away from Bourbon Street.
A gorgeous hotel with excellent service. They upgraded us upon arrival for our anniversary & made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It's nice to see that the ideals of "service" still exist. Every member of the staff did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And the location couldn't be better, on Royal Street and just 1 block from Bourbon Street and a short walk to Jackson Square. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigintdevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,586 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: RM795 - RM2,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing