We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay close to Bourbon Street”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I liked that the hotel was close to Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to the party but quiet when I was ready for bed. The hotel is an older establishment so the rooms are small and there aren't very many plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenmar5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,255 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had extended family in town for Mardi Gras...couldn't put them all up at our home, so we booked the Hotel St. Marie. Great staff--the front desk, valets, stewards, and even the housekeepers said hello with a smile! The rooms were just perfect for our needs-- a little dated, but very very clean. Close to all that the French Quarter and Bourbon Street offers but a little off the path so they could get some sleep. We joined our family for breastfast one morning in the Vacherie and what a great find--we will be back as "locals". The service was great, the bloody mary's were to die for and the food was outstanding--try the specials. We enjoyed it so much that we joined our group for dinner one night--again, another great meal and friendly service and also stayed over into the bar to watch the local sights of carnival. Again, we will be back and I will book future stays at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent one night in early February at the Hotel St. Marie after returning from a cruise.The Hotel St. Marie is just off of Bourbon on Toulouse within a block of Bourbon Street with very competitive rates. We were given a Toulouse Balcony room - shared with two other rooms - and had a birds eye view of all the action on Bourbon Street, but once we closed the door, we couldn't hear all the noise. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a charming courtyard with a small pool and a beautiful lobby. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The only drawback we had was when we tried to park our car there earlier than check-in time, their lot was full so we had to come back later. This location is within easy walking distance to everything in the vieux carre. We always enjoy the bars and music and usually finish our evening with dinner at the Red Fish Grill. We will definitely stay at the Hotel St. Marie again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kms430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was very nice and clean. We had a group and all the rooms were nice and large. No complaints from anyone in our group. The location is excellent -- close to Bourbon St., but not too close.

If you want a historic French Quarter hotel with unique character, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights (Sunday - Tuesday) in early February and it was perfect for our needs. We stayed in a room with a street balcony and lucked out by getting a room on the corner of Dauphine and Toulouse.
The location was great - close to Bourbon, but you couldn't hear much street noise. (You could hear a lot of noise in the hallways.) The bed could have been a bit softer, but the room was just the right size. We loved having a drink and relaxing on the balcony. We visited the bar and the cafe downstairs - delicious breakfast sandwiches and pretty good coffee. We didn't have much interaction with staff other than checking in and checking out, but they were courteous in both instances. Would stay here again or recommend it to others based on the price and location.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank la_dge_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#25 of 167 in New Orleans
2,423 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
1,706 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#12 of 167 in New Orleans
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,365 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
3,581 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 167 in New Orleans
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: RM 573 - RM 1,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing