We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$121
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Place d'Armes Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$93
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pontchartrain Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
International House Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$140
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hyatt Regency New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$180
Otel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
688
332
87
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
332
87
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtsuperior grillcheese crackersgreat locationtulane universityfrench quartertrolley runsaudubon parkeasy accesstrolley carday passmardi grassmall pooli highly recommend this hotelfitness centerroom keywwii museum
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We selected this hotel for our pre-cruise stay due to its location. The hotel is located on a beautiful tree lined street directly on the street car line. Perfect for Mardi Gras as it is also a parade route. We were greeted warmly upon arrival. The front desk clerk, Rory, worked to give us connecting rooms near the elevators.

He also mentioned they were testing a new texting service that would allow guests to text questions and requests to the front desk. I agreed to participate. I thought it was very innovative. Within 30 minutes of check-in, he texted to ask if we were happy with our rooms. The answer was yes!

True to Hampton Inn standards, the rooms had fresh, modern furnishings. The room included a mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, desk, large screen TV, safe, iron and ironing board, toiletries, and free wi-fi. (FYI- there is a small fee for parking onsite. The lot is gated and requires use of the room card for access.)

We were invited to return to the lobby for a reception later that afternoon. It included fruit, cheeses, crackers, tea and lemonade.

There is a beautiful courtyard complete with a pool and comfortable furniture just off the lobby. What a great place to sit and relax after a long day in the car.

We texted Rory again for dinner recommendations. He replied very quickly with some great suggestions.

Breakfast was served in the lobby the next morning. It included eggs, sausage, fruits, yogurt, cereal, pastries, breads and bagels, waffles, juices, coffee and tea. Plenty to choose from.

We were very happy with our stay and the exceptional service we received. Kudos to them for thinking outside the box and looking for new ways to ensure guests are happy.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank RJG1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlisha W, Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for choosing the Hampton by Hilton - Garden District for your recent trip to New Orleans. Our location provides easy access to the many attractions of New Orleans, such as Audubon Zoo, Tulane and Loyola Universities and the French Quarter, via the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar. Our On the House Hot Breakfast is a great way to start your day and our complimentary evening reception provides a little refreshment whether winding down or just beginning your night. We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I took a group of 30 teenagers on a field trip and stayed at the Hampton Inn on St. Charles and we could not have had a better experience! Checking that many kids in can be a hassle, but the hotel staff was warm and welcoming and PATIENT as we all got settled in. The hotel was incredibly clean and super comfortable. The kids were told to eat breakfast every morning before we left and the food was very good, but the staff providing the food was even better! They were fun and personable...even with teenagers at that hour of the morning! The location was convenient, too. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlisha W, Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We're happy to hear your group enjoyed their recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton - Garden District. We're glad our attentive staff was able to make you feel welcome throughout your stay with us. From our unique above ground cemeteries to the French Quarter and Audubon Zoo, most New Orleans attractions are easily accessible via the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar, conveniently running in front of the hotel. Our complimentary On the House Hot Breakfast is a great way to start your day. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This Garden District Hampton Inn was centrally located. Bright & modern, room was nicely appointed-my only complaint, was that the window was very small, considering the large expanse of wall
I stay at Hampton Inns frequently & although the breakfast selection is similar in every hotel, this breakfast was more than expected, nicely laid out, replenished frequently, plenty of seating options
The internet was very frustrating, had to keep refreshing my log on, even after closing my iPad for only a few minutes, still in my room, very annoying

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlisha W, Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton - Garden District. We appreciate your comments and use them as an opportunity to better care for the needs of our guests. Our updated rooms provide our guests a modern, relaxing environment with all of the amenities and comforts you have come to expect from the Hampton Brand. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We stayed here on a recent vacation in New Orleans. We wanted a hotel close to the sights we wanted to see, including the French Quarter and Garden District. This hotel is located in the Garden District and is less than half a block from the St Charles Streetcar line. We were able to get everywhere we wanted to go on the streetcar. There was a self guided tour of the Garden District that started a few blocks from our hotel, which we also enjoyed. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and has lovely architecture, and tree lined streets. I think it is a great base of operations for a New Orleans vacation. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast area included seating out by the pool and it was warm enough for us to sit out there one day. The pool is in a lovely little courtyard. In addition to the proximity of the streetcar, there are also some restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a reception in the evening where they serve cheese and crackers and includes a free breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crisr506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlisha W, Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton - St. Charles Ave. We appreciate your comments. From our unique above ground cemeteries to the French Quarter and Audubon Zoo, most New Orleans attractions are easily accessible via the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar, conveniently running in front of the hotel. Our complimentary On the House Hot Breakfast is a great way to start a busy day visiting New Orleans and our renovated rooms and comfortable beds offer a great place to relax. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Crescent City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect location if you want something a little bit away from the crowds and noise of the quarter. It’s right on the streetcar line and close to nice restaurants.
We are our complimentary breakfast outside in the courtyard and it was very pleasant.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank liv2trvl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlisha W, Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. Our location in the Garden District provides a relaxing environment away from the busyness of the French Quarter and our complimentary On the House Hot Breakfast is a great way to start your day. Our renovated rooms provides a great night's sleep. We happy to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews