We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cabin In Black Hills”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lost Bison Cabin

Lost Bison Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lost Bison Cabin
living room living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lost Bison Cabin
living room
living room
Living Roon
Bathroom
Bedroom
bed room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charles C
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Cabin In Black Hills”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed two nights at this cabin in the Black Hills on our way to the Badlands. The cabin is perfect if you want to be close to Custer and the Black Hills, but want some tranquility. The cabin is located a couple of miles outside Custer down an unpaved road and up a little into the hills. There were deer everywhere around the cabin.

The cabin itself is well equipped and has most everything you might need. All the appliances were up to date and in working order. The interior has a great woody feel. There are no immediate neighbors, so sitting on the porch really provided a tranquil setting. When we had a small problem shutting one of the windows, Rick and Patty (who were very nice), who live down the road from the cabin, came down to quickly to fix the issue. Otherwise we didn't really see them.

If you're looking a place to set up base camp and see all the different scenic drives in the Black Hills Park (Iron Mountain Road, Needles Road, and Mt. Rushmore) this is an excellent choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank You, for the wonderful review. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in the Black Hills.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cozy cabin with spectacular views!”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Peaceful area with cabin nestled up in the Black Hills. We loved watching the resident mountain bluebirds and got to see a chipmunk too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you liked the cabin. It was our favorite place to watch the animals also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi N
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Lost Bison is a little gem of a cabin, nestled in a wooded area, up a dirt road, away from it all. It is secluded, but very close to the town of Custer. It was the perfect stop for my husband and I (and our cocker spaniel) while we visited Custer State Park and the surrounding area. A couple of deer visited in the evenings... no noise, no traffic. The STARS were magnificent! We stayed three nights and would have stayed longer, if time had allowed. It's rustic, but had everything you need. Highly recommended....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to enjoy a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The cabin is well-kept and in a great location. It is far enough from town that you are able to enjoy the scenery and feel secluded, but close enough to go to town for dinner or shopping. We had a great time, thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing