We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rose(Mayrhofen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Mayrhofen)
US$172
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
US$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Manni(Mayrhofen)
US$156
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaegerhof(Mayrhofen)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
282
75
20
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
75
20
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch bellsski busitalian buffetwonderful hoteltraditional hotelthe main hotelbilla supermarketfood is excellentsuperior roomski roomvenisonaustrian charmtrain stationunderfloor heatingfamily runhalf boardevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The room was very spacious and very clean. Servicing of the room was excellent. The food was varied and well served by staff. The house wine good value. For the 'could do better bit'..... We found it annoying that they charged for tap water. No other hotels that we know of do this and many others in Mayrhofen do not. This smacks of penny pinching to me. So if you have spent 12 euros on wine the y charge you 2 euros for tap water. At breakfast it is free so try and figure that out. Apart from the main person in the restaurant the staff are pretty cool and unfriendly. Somebody at the hotel damaged their toe on the lip going into the bathroom in their bedroom. We found the same issue and had to put a towel their to remind us. So watch out.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kramerwirt, Manager at Alpenhotel Kramerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear uk144, Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about it. Our kitchen chef and his team are working hard to offer a varied selection of food and our service at the main restaurant are more than happy to look after our guests and provide them with recommendations about our beautiful area.
As you have noticed the tab water at the breakfast buffet is free. We do offer a water menu on your table witch is served at moderate rates: sparkling or nature water with different flavors and sizes. When you order a bottle of wine, you get tab water for free. To charge the service of water is quite common in other hotels, too. In some hotels you get mineral water (still or sparkling) and no tab water at all.
We are quite surprised about your opinion of some waiters, as we get positive feedback of other customers. Your hosts, Family Kröll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I last stayed at this beautiful traditional Austrian hotel in 1981 for two weeks while skiing. It was fabulous then and I am happy to report that it still is, and has kept its innate Austrian charm and superb standards of hospitality and cuisine – the kitchen is renowned for its excellence, made even more so by the Hotel using products from its own farm and bakery.

The exterior of the Hotel is a picture postcard in itself, and the interior décor and design is delightful, from the lobby to the many choices of rooms in which to dine. Bedrooms are traditionally furnished with individual touches that make them most comfortable.

Breakfast is an excellent buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs (help-yourself to scrambled or order any style), a super selection of home-produced meats, cheeses, butter and yogurts, fine bread, preserves and honey. If you fancy some nice desserts in the afternoon there is a mouthwatering selection. For dinner you can select half-board and choose from several items off a set menu. A la carte menu options are mostly traditional Austrian, and prepared to perfection. The pleasant tones and chimes of church bells are a lovely sound-characteristic of Austrian villages, and I find them a nice wake-up call - they were never a problem so please ignore the rather sad complaints from some other reviewers, who clearly should not be staying in an Austrian village .......

The Hotel is conveniently located at the north end of Mayrhofen, a 3-minute walk from the Zillertalbahn train station, which is also the departure point for all local buses. The Zillertalbahn is very efficient and convenient, with services every 30 minutes to Jenbach, which is on the main Zurich-Innsbruck-Salzburg-Vienna railway line. A trip on the Zillertalbahn steam train is wonderful, as is a trip on the steam Achenseebahn rack railway at Jenbach.

The Zillertal “Activcard” is good value, but be sure to check what you can (and cannot!!), use it for.

The owners of the Kramerwirt, the Kroll Family, should be commended for maintaining this gem of a hotel so well for so many years, and I hope they (and other local families) continue to keep the big corporate hotel and restaurant chains out of Mayrhofen.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a very belated review as I was here from 13-20 July.

The Alpenhotel Kramerwirt is a truly wonderful hotel and deserves all the praise it has received from other reviewers - wonderful friendly and helpful staff, very central and convenient location, amazing atmosphere (the blend of old and new is very special and unique), great food....I requested a quiet room as I had read about the chiming of the church bells (thank you other reviewers for that tip) They put me in a beautiful room where you could sleep like a baby!

Mayrhofen is a really lovely resort. I have been to Austria many times, but found this so visitor friendly. There is one long main street, and you simply have to take the cable car up the Ahorn on a day when the weather forecast is good for the entire day. The Penkenbahm on the other side is another beautiful day out. There is a huge variety of low-level walking along a beautiful valley. I tend to not travel out from places like this as I am afraid of taking the wrong bus or train and getting lost. It's easy from here though. It is a resort that gives a lot of variety and you will get more options in the Tourist Office.

To the management and staff of the Alpenhotel Kramerwirt, Thank You all for a wonderful week and I wish you all the best for the winter season ahead.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We visited this old, family, traditional Austrian hotel in the centre of Mayrhofen on our last night here, partly for nostalgic reasons - one of us having stayed there many, many years ago!
The menu looked interesting and included a number of traditional dishes and a variety of others all at reasonable, and varied prices. The food and its presentation did not disappoint. Our soups and fish were all of excellent quality and nicely presented. What did disappoint somewhat, however was the distinctly cool, almost sour service, which certainly detracted from the otherwise rather special ambience, the nice music, and lovely location. Regrettably, we would not be tempted to visit again unless assured of a somewhat warmer welcome.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Leaving the Kramerwirt today. Such a superb hotel in every possible way, location, friendliness, cleanliness, food outstanding... we are already planning our next visit to the family run Kramerwirt Hotel....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews