We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Hotel Kramerwirt. Having had a bad experience last year in Seefeld, we were hoping for a better experience. The Hotel Kramerwirt didn't disappoint. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The food was amazing. We found all staff very friendly but definitely need to mention Christian in the restaurant. What a character - such a lovely man and very very funny! Had a lovely stay and would definitely go back. One tiny negative (as previously reviewed), I also disagree with the charging for tap water at dinner particularly as we are led to believe, that the residents of Mayrhofen don't pay water rates!! Rant over. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinawright07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed here in 2009 and came back in 2017. Hotel room upgrades were done which was nice. We had a bad experience at dinner. Manager Marika Kroll singled us out for our dress at dinner. My wife had hiking boots on. We had come back from hiking and did not have time to change. There were several other parties that had shorts and sandals on which I guess was acceptable. She stated we needed to be well groomed. Our hair was combed and our clothes were clean. I guess the intrepretation of "groomed" is different. Breakfast was good but food at dinner was not all that great. It reminded us of institutional food. Could not believe we were charged at dinner for a caraffe of tap water. We will not be staying here again,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kramerwirt, Manager at Alpenhotel Kramerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Mister Mikki W,
I am happy to explain the situation: on Wednesday we do have a small reception with Aperol-Spritz for all our guests followed by a traditional "house buffet" with specialities from our region. You got an invitation at your breakfast table and we do not require an exceptional dress code for that occasion, even though it is written in our Information brochure.
On hot summer days people like to wear shorts and sandals, that is right. And Yes, I have been really surprised to see you coming in heavy hiking boots - not for this special evening. We like to maintain certain standards in the dining room and therefore please understand my reaction. It would have taken two minutes time to change the boots. Thank you for having stayed with us again. Marika Kröll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The room was very spacious and very clean. Servicing of the room was excellent. The food was varied and well served by staff. The house wine good value. For the 'could do better bit'..... We found it annoying that they charged for tap water. No other hotels that we know of do this and many others in Mayrhofen do not. This smacks of penny pinching to me. So if you have spent 12 euros on wine the y charge you 2 euros for tap water. At breakfast it is free so try and figure that out. Apart from the main person in the restaurant the staff are pretty cool and unfriendly. Somebody at the hotel damaged their toe on the lip going into the bathroom in their bedroom. We found the same issue and had to put a towel their to remind us. So watch out.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kramerwirt, Manager at Alpenhotel Kramerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear uk144, Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about it. Our kitchen chef and his team are working hard to offer a varied selection of food and our service at the main restaurant are more than happy to look after our guests and provide them with recommendations about our beautiful area.
As you have noticed the tab water at the breakfast buffet is free. We do offer a water menu on your table witch is served at moderate rates: sparkling or nature water with different flavors and sizes. When you order a bottle of wine, you get tab water for free. To charge the service of water is quite common in other hotels, too. In some hotels you get mineral water (still or sparkling) and no tab water at all.
We are quite surprised about your opinion of some waiters, as we get positive feedback of other customers. Your hosts, Family Kröll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I last stayed at this beautiful traditional Austrian hotel in 1981 for two weeks while skiing. It was fabulous then and I am happy to report that it still is, and has kept its innate Austrian charm and superb standards of hospitality and cuisine – the kitchen is renowned for its excellence, made even more so by the Hotel using products from its own farm and bakery.

The exterior of the Hotel is a picture postcard in itself, and the interior décor and design is delightful, from the lobby to the many choices of rooms in which to dine. Bedrooms are traditionally furnished with individual touches that make them most comfortable.

Breakfast is an excellent buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs (help-yourself to scrambled or order any style), a super selection of home-produced meats, cheeses, butter and yogurts, fine bread, preserves and honey. If you fancy some nice desserts in the afternoon there is a mouthwatering selection. For dinner you can select half-board and choose from several items off a set menu. A la carte menu options are mostly traditional Austrian, and prepared to perfection. The pleasant tones and chimes of church bells are a lovely sound-characteristic of Austrian villages, and I find them a nice wake-up call - they were never a problem so please ignore the rather sad complaints from some other reviewers, who clearly should not be staying in an Austrian village .......

The Hotel is conveniently located at the north end of Mayrhofen, a 3-minute walk from the Zillertalbahn train station, which is also the departure point for all local buses. The Zillertalbahn is very efficient and convenient, with services every 30 minutes to Jenbach, which is on the main Zurich-Innsbruck-Salzburg-Vienna railway line. A trip on the Zillertalbahn steam train is wonderful, as is a trip on the steam Achenseebahn rack railway at Jenbach.

The Zillertal “Activcard” is good value, but be sure to check what you can (and cannot!!), use it for.

The owners of the Kramerwirt, the Kroll Family, should be commended for maintaining this gem of a hotel so well for so many years, and I hope they (and other local families) continue to keep the big corporate hotel and restaurant chains out of Mayrhofen.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a very belated review as I was here from 13-20 July.

The Alpenhotel Kramerwirt is a truly wonderful hotel and deserves all the praise it has received from other reviewers - wonderful friendly and helpful staff, very central and convenient location, amazing atmosphere (the blend of old and new is very special and unique), great food....I requested a quiet room as I had read about the chiming of the church bells (thank you other reviewers for that tip) They put me in a beautiful room where you could sleep like a baby!

Mayrhofen is a really lovely resort. I have been to Austria many times, but found this so visitor friendly. There is one long main street, and you simply have to take the cable car up the Ahorn on a day when the weather forecast is good for the entire day. The Penkenbahm on the other side is another beautiful day out. There is a huge variety of low-level walking along a beautiful valley. I tend to not travel out from places like this as I am afraid of taking the wrong bus or train and getting lost. It's easy from here though. It is a resort that gives a lot of variety and you will get more options in the Tourist Office.

To the management and staff of the Alpenhotel Kramerwirt, Thank You all for a wonderful week and I wish you all the best for the winter season ahead.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.3 km away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.1 km away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 39 in Mayrhofen
224 reviews
0.6 km away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 39 in Mayrhofen
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rose
Rose
#14 of 39 in Mayrhofen
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#9 of 39 in Mayrhofen
441 reviews
1.6 km away
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
#10 of 39 in Mayrhofen
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Kramerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Kramerwirt

Address: Am Marienbrunnen 346 | 6290 Mayrhofen, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
#2 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: RM634 - RM1,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Kramerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and seekda GmbH so you can book your Alpenhotel Kramerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing