We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Kumbichlhof
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We travelled with crystal as a party of three (myself, my partner and my daughter who is 15), staying in a triple room. No one appeared to know the location if the hotel but once inside it started well (there is no lift), the room was clean but not the largest triple room we have stayed in, hot water was plentiful but the towels and pillows are in need of replacing. Breakfast is simple and was boring by the end of the week .. Location is good a short walk to the penken lift and closer to ahorn. In better conditions sure you could almost ski to the hotel from ahorn. The room does not stay a stable temperature and we didn't know we could use the dining room until the last afternoon. However on a whole the kumbichlhof is a pleasant stay, some areas are tired but all is clean. We took the half board option were you ate a 10 minute walk at the world cafe next to the ice rink, the staff were brilliant and the food was off a very good standard that included, soup a choice of meat or vegetarian main and a simple dessert often ice cream that was welcomed after such a great and filling dinner. We tried many of the bars both at après ski and after dinner in the evening, all were plesant and similar in pricing, we had fun at the crystal quiz and was pleased to escape a smoke filled bar. Conditions weren't brilliant but the mountain staff work hard to ensure all runs are open and able to be used .. I like the run to eggbahn and back which includes varied runs and ski paths with runs 66 and 10 being enjoyed plenty to. We went to the glacier on the free green line bus and even had some fun on the fun slope, the Penken park caters for all levels and is also worth a visit. We also took advantage of the lockers at the crystal office next door to Penken lift. i can also recommend the paragliding we used the company that are in green at the top of the lift excellent experience well worth the money. Mayrhofen is well worth a visit and caters for all.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairehowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Pension Kumbichlhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Not to forget: would be good to know German (however, I'm writing review in English intentionally).

Well, you get what you pay for. Quiet location (or I was lucky? taking in account adjacent comments), a bit fun to leave car between the trees (well, we weren't charged for parking!), breakfast included (quite good one). Yes, a bit "old-fashioned" bathroom, but everything works and you can even make hot water really hot (sometimes not a case for much more expensive places).

Thus I would recommend this place, just if you're not keen on fancy and expensive looking stuff.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sasha817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Well worth the stay.
My 2 criticisms would be that it is so quiet in the evening you can't stay in for a drink or a cup of tea, and the towels have been in use for quite some time and are old and rough.
These two luxuries aside the setting is beautiful , very Austrian tradition , the room clean and the balcony affords spectacular views.
Breakfast is the same everyday, bread, ham , cheese, muesli, yogurt, fruit , juice, tea or coffee.
Outside slightly up the hill is a quirky little bar supplying cheep good beer and great atmosphere with plenty of out door seating to enjoy the last few rays of evening sun.
The walk from town ensures peace and quiet. We were lucky enough to be able to leave our boots in the crystal ski office right next to the gondola.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

By unfortunate circumstances for someone else, who broke his leg, we ended up in a private apartment with two double bedrooms and separate bathroom. The intention was we would stay there one night but my savvy mate asked if we could stay there week and the hostess agreed. We had to sacrificed our booked balcony with a view but it was worth it.

Breakfast is limited and is the same each day but you can select from cereal, meats, eggs and yoghurt. Just make sure you get there before 09:00 as with Austrian efficiency they close on time, which we found out to our loss.

The hostess speaks good English and can advise on trips to suit your needs, which we found helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SoloNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

My friend and I stayed there for a week. I do not have a single complaint about this place: location is great, price-value ratio is amazing, breakfast is good, rooms are clean and well-kept, nice visitors.

This hotel is within walking distance from Penken (even with my ski boots on it was a very short and pleasant walk), the city disco is even closer. There are a couple of nice restaurants around.

We had a very good quality sleep, our room was facing Penken and although we've slept with an open window and we shared a balcony with one more room it was still very quiet.

Folks at breakfast greet and talk to each other (well, if they are German-speaking), very nice atmosphere. Breakfast selection is not as wide as in some bigger hotels but it is good.

Room Tip: Room facing Penken are great.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ekaterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Garni Rauchenwalderhof
Hotel Garni Rauchenwalderhof
#27 of 38 in Mayrhofen
25 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#23 of 38 in Mayrhofen
145 reviews
1.0 km away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
151 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gasthof Bruecke
Hotel Gasthof Bruecke
#25 of 38 in Mayrhofen
85 reviews
0.7 km away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#14 of 38 in Mayrhofen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kumbichlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kumbichlhof

Address: Kumbichl, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: RM306 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kumbichlhof 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Kumbichlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing