We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Kona Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
US$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$1,279
US$1,039
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveller rating
649
1,236
706
308
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
1,236
706
308
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingparking feewatch the sunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great location...Good staff...Ocean front resort with a great bar & gathering area. Open atrium to rooms and nice features.I did not appreciate the daily inter-net fees It just needs some rehab to be a first class resort.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank macs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha
For your review of our resort on tripadvisor we value your feedback and comments. We are delighted to read that you loved our great location and well as the onsite bar and gathering area. We are sorry to read you did not appreciate the internet fee. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon for your next vacation.
Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The views at the hotel are amazing. The rooms say they have a kitchenette, which is really just a mini fridge, sink, and coffee maker. The rooms on the courtyard are noisy in the evenings (you can hear the luau and bar easily in the room). If you are parking a vehicle at the hotel, good luck finding a spot on the evenings of the luaus. The furniture is barely functional (only able to use part of the drawers, the closets stick, and some of the lights were unuseable). Bugs are an issue, but might be at most hotels in the area. No wake up call was received when requested. And communication with the check-in staff was an issue the entire stay. However, the lagoon was beautiful. The location was great (within walking distance of multiple shops and restaurants). The concierge desk was good, offering insight and recommending amazing tours and activities. In order to get to many of the activities, you will need a vehicle.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort on tripadvisor. We are delighted to see you found our views to be amazing we are very lucky to be in such a wonderful location. We pride ourselves on legendary service in all areas of our resort, and we are very sorry these expectations were not exceeded during your stay with us. This certainly is not typical of our staff and we will bring your concerns to the attention of the department heads so that we can ensure that these were isolated incidents. We are a bit puzzled by the comments of the room stating it has a kitchenette, none of our rooms at the Royal Kona resort have a kitchenette and our website shows no verbiage stating we have a room with a kitchenette. We are not sure if you booked this room through a third-party site, however we will look further into this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort soon.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel should not be on the list for timeshare holders with Diamond Resorts. Outdated rooms, popcorn ceiling (asbestos). Very dark, stained carpets, a terrible bed with dirty bedding. Outdated furniture. I almost had the shower handle in my hand when turning on the shower. Broken toilet paper holder. This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at with Diamond Resorts. The private lagoon and ocean view are the only positive about this property. Very close to downtown area. Though loud music from the main tract every night due to events.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on tripadvisor and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you felt we did not deliver on our promise of luxury and that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We always strive to provide the finest facilities and personalized services to our guests as is synonymous with The Royal Kona Resort. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously as it helps us to improve, and we will be certain to address these issues and hope to welcome you to our resort in the near future.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
... perfect ... it doesn’t get any better than this

Great Lobby Bar and restaurant
with ocean view and trade winds.

Our room (not sure of other rooms)
was s bit “dated” and had minor
maintenance issues ... but we had
great Lanai... with a view of the private lagoon (way cool)

loved this Ocean Front Hotel
loved being walkable to all that
Kailua Kona has to offer

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort with fellow travelers on trip advisor. We are delighted to see you love our location and we couldn’t agree with you more are very lucky to be in such a perfect location. We are happy to read you had the opportunity take in the views and our great lobby bar and have a peaceful vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for your next vacation.
Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I never write reviews but on this one I needed to. I am a Dimond owner and this place shouldn't even be on the list. The pictures are so deceiving. The only reason I stayed was because of the photos and the trust I had with dimond over the last 10 years. When you have paid good money for your timeshare not to mention maintenance fees you expect a lil more than a 2 star hotel. It is by no means a 3 1/2 star place. The place has never been maintained. The beds are extremely old and between the stucco that has fell off or the dirty walls to mold not to mentions the worn down furniture. Our first room smelt so bad and the bed was so worn the moved us to a nice room. well the only difference is it just didn't smell as bad. After 4 nights there we left and checked into a marmot down the road that cost us Good money but the remainder of our stay was a way better experience. DIMOND OWNERS DONT STAY HERE!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha
We would like to take this opportunity to offer our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience on your recent visit to our resort. We always strive to provide the finest facilities and personalized services to our guests as is synonymous with the Royal Kona and we failed to meet your expectations and we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand the frustration, and we will share your feedback to our upper management team, housekeeping department, and engineering team to address the issues you have stated in your review.
Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews