We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Price and Great Location”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent the 2nd night of our two night stay on the Big Island at Uncle Billy's in Kona. The first night was at a run down hotel in Waimea for $120.00. So, we were extremely pleased to be able to find a hotel in the heart of Kona for $79.00 and nicer than the one in Waimea. The room could use a little fresh paint, but it was clean and roomy. The price included free Wi-Fi in the room, 2 double beds, cable TV, small refrigerator, and a continental breakfast. The property had a nice pool and a small wading pool for children. The room had a nice lanai overlooking their parking lot, but it was landscaped with lovely tropical foliage. The hotel is in walking distance of many good restaurants and right across the street from the beach. If I ever get back to Kona, I will stay here again. We would much rather be here than at a Sheraton or Hilton for $100.00 more.

Room Tip: Book on the internet for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Aloha crawley20

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay.
I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; as you mentioned in your review we do offer great amenities at a fraction of what you’d pay at the big resorts and we don’t charge any hidden/resort fees. There’s a lot to see and do in Kona and Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay is centrally located right in town. It just goes to show that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to have a great vacation and build awesome memories.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    117
    162
    85
    84
See reviews for
101
192
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We live on the Hilo side of the Big Island and after weeks of winter rains we needed some sun. Friends of ours recommended Uncle Billy's and I booked a double room for $89.00 on the internet.When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly receptionist who gave us a free room upgrade before we even asked! The room was on the 3rd floor, recently renovated, clean and comfortable with two queen size beds, a shower with tub and a large TV. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. The location is perfect for walking to farmer's market, beaches, restaurants and shops. I will go there again and recommend Uncle Billy's for the true aloha spirit and good value.

Room Tip: Upper floor - renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Venetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Aloha 4Venetia

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your “staycation” in sunny Kailua-Kona. It’s like I always say, our employees are a valued asset and I will certainly pass on your kudos to them. And as you mentioned in your review, we are centrally located in the heart of Kailua-Kona and close to everything.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you’re over on the Kona side of the island!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Overall, it's a nice hotel offering free wifi access in the guest room, pool area, and free breakfast. which has papaya, coffee, juice, toast, etc. Parking is at the back of the hotel, cost $5 per day. That's a down side. The front desk people are very helpful for pointing out good spots for snorkeling, beach, etc. The room is big enough for two of us. The sink has some drainage problem so it accumulates water.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gummybeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Aloha gummybeary

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay.
I’m happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and took advantage of our many free amenities that we have to offer. We want all of our guests to enjoy their time with us and as always our friendly staff is on hand to offer information about our beautiful island. We do charge for parking in Kona; however this is to ensure our parking lot is patrolled and secure for our guests. I do hope that you mentioned the slow drain in your room to our front desk; I’ve made our maintenance staff aware as well so that they can resolve this issue.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Spend 6 night and was pleasantly surprised by the good location, king size bed, nice deep round pool and a nice breakfast included papaya and English muffins.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyrogalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLDSTREAM
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

To be honest, we didn't stay at Uncle Billy's initially because of the negative reviews we read. So we booked into the Kona Seaside. Well they didn't have a lot of the ammenities that Uncle Billy's had, and were more expensive!

The room was extremely clean. the king size bed was cushy comfy, with FIVE very fluffy pillows. There was a hair dryer and large TV in the room.

The internet was free in the room and around the complex.

The complimentary breakfast was great. very fresh. We stayed for a week, so the only complaint would have been that a variety of fruit would have been nice, but that's not really a complaint, cuz it was lovely.

The whole wing we were in was completely non-smoking, in fact with a $200 fine if even a whif was smelt in the room, which was reassuring.

The staff were soooo friendly and helpful.

I would not hesitate one bit to recommend Uncle Billy's hotel in Kona.

yes, it is an older hotel, and the outside sure could use some upkeep/updating but for a place to rest or head after a great day exploring Kona, we could not have asked for a better place.

Room Tip: The top floor are the larger rooms, but you hear everything at night from way down the beach - all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Aloha GandK2012

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay! I’m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us in Kona; here at Uncle Billy’s we extend our warmest aloha to all of our guests visiting our beautiful island. And as you stated in your review we do offer more amenities such as free wifi and free continental breakfast at a great low rate. I’m glad that you decided to give us a try despite the negative reviews, it just goes to show that you can’t believe everything you read on the internet :).

Everyone is entitled to form their own opinions but sometimes one person’s opinion may not necessarily be the same as your own; thank you for choosing to form your own opinion.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
9.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Property: Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): RM527 - RM720
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing