We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$159
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$169
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$966
US$839
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$958/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,692)
Filter reviews
1,692 results
Traveller rating
869
558
159
64
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
558
159
64
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskona coastgolf coursephase iigrocery storemain poolshopping center across the streetfull kitchenair conditioningthe big islandactivities centertime sharewasher and dryerliving roomvaulted ceilingsquiet poolactivity desktimeshare exchange
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,692 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We visited this resort 19 years ago and decided to go back and take our children. Our condo had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms along with plenty of room for 6-8 people. We were on the second floor with a view of the golf course. It was just as beautiful as the first time we went. It is at the end of Alii Drive and we were able to walk up the hill to the local grocery store, Longs Drugstore, Hawaiian Shaved Ice and a BBQ restaurant. We loved the location. It's quiet, not very busy and they have 2 pools, shuffleboard, grills and a restaurant on site. Our only surprise was that there was an $11 charge per day for air conditioning. Depending on the time of year, you may or may not need this. Housekeeping came once during the week. We used the washer and dryer and full kitchen several times. The outside porch was wonderful. We often had a sunrise breakfast while the palm trees swayed and the birds chirped. It really was a paradise. We wish it has access to a beach but otherwise, we would definitely stay here again. Staff was friendly and the property was clean. It's only a 10 minute drive to downtown where there are beaches, shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Best views would be from the 3rd floor. Only 10% of the property has an ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11Hjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Assistant General Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time at Kona Coast and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Big island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Overall: I'd stay at the resort again.
The rooms could always use updating, but they weren't ugly. And they were clean.
The staff was friendly.
The floors are thin, meaning if there is a heavy walker above your unit, it may drive you insane, so ask for an upper floor unit, if possible.
There is NO direct access to the beach. I saw conflicting information on that, but can tell you that there definitely is not access. There is a public beach nearby though. You probably want to walk to it though because parking is scarce.
The pools were clean, but nothing 'special'.
Food at the restaurant was ok. What I expected. Nothing over the top and mildly over-priced.
If the staff tells you you can walk to the grocery store, well, just know that you're in for a hike up a steep hill. Very steep hill.
One thing that was annoying...the air conditioner doesn't easily turn on just by 'turning the key'. And the cleaning staff turned it off when they were there. We had to call maintenance 3 separate times in order to get it running because we couldn't seem to do it ourselves. Maintenance was quick to arrive though and fix it. Plus they were friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room as the floors are thin.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDKimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The resort is beautiful. Condo setting with full kitchen as well dishes. It also came equipped with dishwashing liquid, napkins ect. All you need to do is buy the groceries. You should definitely rent a car otherwise there's about a half of a mile walk to a trolley($2 pp) that will take you into town or to the nearest beaches. The only unfortunate thing about the resort is that it wasn't beach front. There's a poolside bar/restaurant on the property which was pretty good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Balinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

These are condo style accommodations. Located at the end of Alii Drive. There is a great deal to do in Kona and being at the Kona coast resort allows you to centrally located to all the action Hawaii Island has to offer.

Room Tip: shop locally at foodland for groceries.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T634SIjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A Shell Vacations Club acquired by Stoneham, Kona Coast is on Alii Drive next door to the Mona Country and down the (steep) hill from the Keahoe Shopping Center. The lodging is condo style with living rooms, lanais, full kitchens, 1 or 2 bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. The units are on 1st, 2nd or 3rd floors; no elevators. They are cleaned mid-week. Many, but not all, have a view of the Pacific. He resort has multiple pools; the main pool habits a nice bar & grill and an exercise facility. Yes, they try to entice you to attend a timeshare sales presentation but you don't have to attend. While there is an inexpensive local open air bus that runs down Alii Drive to the middle of Mona and beyond, you have to climb a relatively steep hill to get to a bus stop. My view: if you are out of shape or getting on in years, a rental car is a good idea but you need to book ahead to get s reasonable rate. Loft and Ber services are also available.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Assistant General Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments as we continue to improve our property from an accommodations and service standpoint. Kona Coast is located about eight miles from downtown Kailua Kona which many visitors prefer. Across the street from Kona Coast is the Keauhou Shopping Center which has a grocery store, a few restaurants such as L&L Drive In, Subway, Habanero's, Tropics, and Bianelli's. The Keauhou Shopping Center also offers an Urgent Care Clinic, a movie theater, and a drug store. As mentioned, it's better to book as far in advance as possible to secure a rental car at a reasonable rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews