We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT AND COZY PLACE”
Review of Kona Billfisher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Billfisher
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, 1/2 block to all the bars and restaurants. Beatiful newly refurbished units great furniture, artwork, comfortable beds and a very helpful and friendly staff. The owners in house were very old group, snoopy and snotty, but they pooped out by dusk. All the other visitors were full of aloha at the barbeque areas, we had a few nice meals with people we meant there. Great place

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weezerhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2010

We are orginal owners way back in1977, have used the Billfisher every year but one, for one month, Bought another unit in 2000 & now stay two months each summer.This is the best location in Kona, walk to everything!! Still a tourest destination worth visiting. Complete rehab this year & it's beautiful with new furnishings, paint & a large contigient of owners present. We love our summer home & welcome you to enjoy it also. Aloha!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ourporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The kona Billfisher was a disappointment, the location is fantastic as it is a 5 minute walk from the strip which is wonderful but the rooms are not very nice, it was clean but so small and the fridge and closets were rusty, the beds were hard the air conditioner is loud. It has coin laundry, you have to take out your own garbage, your only allowed to change your towels once a week, I think it would of been ok for just two people who want to save some money and stay outdoors all the time but definately not somewhere to go for comfort or luxury. The pool was ok at least it goes to 8ft and was not busy. The $50 check in fee is a rip, the fee for air conditioning is the norm in Kona. I would recommend the Royal Kona across the street it was nicer and has a great Luau.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We (married, 30s) stayed at the Kona Billfisher through RCI and almost didn't book because of some reviews, but we are glad we did. It was a great value. I always would rather spend my money on food and activities, and the Kona Billfisher did its job--a clean place to stay with a kitchen.

Our 2nd floor one-bedroom unit was the perfect size for two. Small kitchen had a full-sized refrigerator (although the outside of it was rusty, the inside worked fine). The bed in the bedroom was nice and firm. Small bathroom had lots of cabinet space. The sofa bed seemed uncomfortable if you had four people, but it was fine to sit on for us. Our unit had extra blankets, beach chairs, and mats. For how we vacation, it worked. Not a 5-star--if you're okay with not being waited on, it's good. Paying for air conditioning is no fun, but understandable. Would have liked a mat in the entry since we had to take our shoes off. Towel exchange twice a week was great (many timeshares that we've stayed at only do it once).

The place had tons of people that were decades older than us, (like 3 or 4 decades older!) but that meant it was pretty quiet. We might have been the youngest ones there, except for kids. It seemed fairly family-friendly with a non-party atmoshere, which was fine with us because we needed sleep for our activities! We didn't use the pool or other facilities there (who needs a pool when there's beaches to go to?) The front desk didn't impress us (we felt they were a bit anal--doing their job, I suppose, but a little rudely), but the cleaning staff seemed nice and prompt.

The location is the best. A short 5-minute walk (or less) to some good restaurants on Ali'i -- Bongo Ben's, U-Top It, Island Lava Java, Lulu's, and many more, and a short drive to other places in Kailua-Kona. I would stay here again if I got a decent price that I could afford.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SKPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

If you are looking for a clean comfortable time share place to stay at Kailua, this is it.

Close to everything, no pressure to buy anything, especially more timeshare. Reasonable facilities, internet available at a hotspot by the pool, good if a little expensive laundry facilities, & nice pool.

5 star it isn't, but it's all quite comfortable. 2 only slightly negative comments, the aircon is available at an extra price, but the quick run we gave the system convinced us that the noise probably wasn't worth it. As it turned out it was totally unnecessary in September.

And the 1 bedroom units are really not adequate for additional guests who are not your children. The pull out bed in the couch has ( as most of them do) a bar in just the wrong place for an adult to enjoy.

Those comments aside, we had a ground floor unit in G block. The large Lanai had a view to the water, and was very comfortable.

With those minor grumps, we loved the place. The Luau across the road was fantastic, breakfast places and shops in very easy walking distance, and there was a beach not far away.

For people who think of Hawaii as lots of white sandy beaches, it's had some good advertising, but with the exception of Waikiki on Oahu not as common as you'd think. Having said that Kailua is one place with a few sandy stretches between the lava flows, and has some excellent snorkelling. If you are lucky you can dive with the Manta's ( they were eating at a different hotel the night we tried), and visit the best little find anywhere - the Sea Horse Farm, not touristy, but great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.8 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
1.3 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,206 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
317 reviews
0.4 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Billfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Billfisher

Address: 75-5841 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1329
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: RM951 - RM1,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Billfisher 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kona Billfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Billfisher Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Billfisher Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing