We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect Island cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kathleen...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect Island cottage”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Mango Cottage was a highlight on our trip to the big Island, the pictures and amenities were exactly as described. The cottage has everything you need and is so private and peaceful you will not want to leave! The location is great for exploring all area's on the Island with easy highway access.There are so many little touches that make it special, Thank-you to Christine for making our stay so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Great guests to have here at mango cottage! Please come again and thank you for nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen J
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 stars are not enough to describe this heavenly cottage.”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wild parrots in the trees, tangelos and papayas that you pick from the trees for breakfast on the lanai, and heavenly sunsets in paradise....what more could you ask for? We were instantly relaxed the moment we stepped on the property. We would have probably missed a lot of Hawaiian nature had we stayed at a hotel. The Mango Cottage was fully equipped and left us wanting for nothing. We would definitely make the choice to return to the cottage if we get the chance. If Christine was not a Master Gardener at some point in her life, she should consider it; the attention to detail in the layout of the property and the privacy was greatly appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we got to live as true Hawaiians for a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
This is why I love creating memories for our guest! Thank you so much and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildcat_F...
Wilmington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with great views and amenities”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All of the prior glowing reviews were spot on. We spent seven nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were welcomed to the cottage with plumeria blooms (my wife’s favorite) placed throughout the cottage providing for a great aroma as we entered for several days. Christine also had water and beer in the fridge along with fresh fruit. The landscaping was well maintained and watching the birds was relaxing. I was able to enjoy one of the best avocados I've ever tasted as well. We had our teenage son with us who also was able to enjoy his down time (thanks to the WiFi) when not using the boogie board that was provided during our time at Kua Bay. Christine literally has thought of everything to make her guests stay pleasurable. Also, the higher elevation provided for cooler night air that was refreshing.

We have stayed on Ali’I Drive multiple times in timeshare locations, yet when we visit the Big Island again we will be staying at Mango Cottage.

One final comment, the directions to the cottage were spot on (I would suggest to Google map it once given the address and familiarize yourself especially if coming in at night), and the one lane road was a neat road to drive albeit slowly as birds flew all around and seemingly played “chicken” with the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views of the coast and sunset and privacy.
Liked least: Had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
So great to have you! Do come back the birds are willing to sing to you again! You are great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keriann68...
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming cottage, tranquil setting”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Mango cottage. One week didn't feel like enough. The cottage is very charming, so we relaxed the minute we arrived. A Bali feel to the interior and exterior. Lovely, private gardens with fragrant plantings and a soothing water fountain. Christine has made sure that you'll want for nothing during your stay. We ate most of our meals at the cottage. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, prep and serving items. We loved eating our dinner out on the lanai watching the sun set. I hadn't planned on cooking while on vacation, but we found we didn't want to miss the sunset from such a lovely spot. We hope to come back to this peaceful slice of paradise.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Aloha and look forward to seeing you both again! It is my pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah4171
Magdalena
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely private cottage in gorgeous garden with ocean view.”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a great week at Mango Cottage up in the hills above Kona. We arrived at night and the private garden was filled with the scents of many flowers. We love the privacy of the garden and the small lanai with great ocean and sunset view. The cottage itself was perfect for the two of us. We also loved the small Asian decorative touches. The owner had left fruits and coffee as well as a bottle of wine to welcome us. We really enjoyed our week there while exploring this beautiful island and we hope to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and the lanai.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
It always feels good to know our guest are happy! See you again in the future I hope. Mahalo christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing