We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfy cottage in a rainforest for a different...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wood stove for thoses cooler nights washer dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
wood stove for thoses cooler nights
washer dryer
surrounding forest
Tropical flower abound!
Jackson cameleon in the forest
Surrounded by Ohia forest
orchids love this climate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kenneth W
Sierra Madre, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A comfy cottage in a rainforest for a different Hawaiian climate”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at this guesthouse rental for ten days and it is lovely, well maintained, and in a beautiful lush rainforest setting. The owner is very pleasant and happy to accommodate. The cottage is roomy and very conveniently located for visiting Kona, Waimea, and even Hilo by the saddle road (about an hour a a half drive).
But you do need to be aware that it is at about two thousand feet above sea level and, thus, a lot cooler climate than a place closer to the beach would be. So if you want tropical heat this may not be for you (there is a wood stove, so you will not be too cold). So, it's perfect if you are from Canada or Europe, but may be too cool at night for People from the south or southwestern U.S.
Also the main bedroom has a double bed, not king or queen size and there is no wi-fi, but cell phone coverage is o.k.
It's definitely a five star stay, but one should know these few little things about it as well...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firas M
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing retreat in the middle of nowhere :-)”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I booked this place for our honeymoon, and we had a blast! The cottage was suitably secluded, there was a giant forest around the property. The place was very well stocked and we had everything we could have wanted.

There are no street lights on Hao St. so I'd recommend that the first time you go there you go during the day. Katherine was really nice and found us lost on the road and took us to the property fairly late at night.

The only downside to the place is that there's no wifi, but depending on the type of vacation you're looking for, perhaps that's a good thing!! We got an AT&T SIM card and it worked okay for quick things, but service in this area is fairly limited.

Much recommended if you want to escape the real world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
562dno
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“This is a beautiful little home in the middle of the tranquil tropical forest”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bill and Kathryn's home above Kona. It was a very peaceful and cool respite from the hot sunny days of hiking and exploring we did all over the Big Island. We had two full weeks at the cottage and felt completely relaxed at the end of our stay.
The only thing we would do differently is book two of our nights on the Hilo side of the Island just to limit the driving when we wanted to hike around that area. It is really a very big Island and we had to limit some of our trips over to the windward side because the driving took 3 hours each way. Other trips to the beaches were no issue at all and we welcomed the cool altitude when we returned for the night.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEankin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Far from the Crowds”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I don't enjoy the condo/resort scene, so we try to look for "off-the -beaten-track" accommodations. This lovely home suited our needs perfectly! It is located about an eight minute drive out of town, so a car is a necessity. The house is situated at the end of a long, private driveway, nestled in the topical forest. It was spacious and clean, with a lovely little outdoor tub. Due to the elevation, the temperature will drop as you ascend the hill, but a wood-burning stove with ample supplies of kindling is provided. A pleasant surprise was Kathryn's little garden, with fresh herbs and varieties of peppers. Take the 3 to 5 mile hike, trail-head almost right across the street from the driveway, to jump-start your morning before heading out to town. We did not have internet at the house, but you can get a signal if you walk up the driveway. We recommend this beautiful site!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ag27404
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This place was the perfect fit for my vacation to Hawaii. It was close enough to town and everything that I wanted to do so I was not inconvenienced but was outside of the hustle and bustle so it was quiet and relaxing. Loved the scenery, outdoor tub and amazing stars at night. Wish I had booked a few extra days at this cottage. The rest of the places I stayed paled in comparison to this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quietness
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will come back to see us again. Yes we do have a really special bit of paradise up here.

Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing