We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hello.....?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Splasher's Grill

Splasher's Grill
Ranked #10 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Hello.....?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our first time back to Splashers since the tsunami, so were interested in their new location and much larger restaurant. We arrived in the early afternoon, wanting a light lunch and a beer. We were told it would be a 10-15 minute wait, but one of the girls said "oh wait, #7is open", grabbed a couple of menus and walked away. Apparently we were supposed to follow her, and by the time we did, she had dropped the menus on the table and walked off, not once looking at or speaking to us! Fortunately the table was front row and cool, so we enjoyed the almost 15 minute wait for our server to come take our drink orders, and another 5 until we even got a glass of water. The food came eventually, and the portions were large, and tastey, definitely larger than what we expected for appys. Our server, when we saw her was pleasant and helpful, but the first impression is what is staying with me, and it was not good. I think they may be a victim of their own success - it was far friendlier and funkier in their old location.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sevenof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    885
    252
    51
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Splasher's Is Alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Splasher's has, within the past year, changed locations. They are across the street from the King Kamehameha Hotel on Alii Drive in Kailua-Kona. The menu is quite large and has reasonable prices for a vacation restaurant. the views are nice; the restaurant is open air, on a 2nd floor, and there is a breeze which can get a little cool at night (take a sweater) as the restaurant is right at the mouth of the bay. the waitresses are nice and there is ample ambience. great place for families. they don't do separate checks but they will separate your bill for you at the end of the meal. it was a fun place to eat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hairfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Splasher's staff was very friendly and accomodated us when we changed our orders. The fish and chips was HUGE and fed two of us.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomn8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food and Hawaii Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Splashers is a large casual restaurant & bar on the second level just across from the Courtyard Marriott, with a nice view of the bay. Service was good, staff were very friendly and helpful, and prices reasonable. We ate there twice. I had seafood fettuccine, which is something I often have if it’s on the menu. It is not uncommon to only get a sprinkling of fish on the noodles - here the fettuccine was loaded with huge scallops, lots of good-sized shrimp and other fish, likely the best seafood fettuccine I’ve had. As well, it was not as rich as sometimes, which can cause me problems later. My wife had mahi mahi rolled in macadamia nuts covered with pineapple sauce, along with veggies on a bed of rice pilaf - very delicious. The second time I had fish, calamari and chips. The calamari was cut in strips rather than “rounds”, and both were very lightly breaded. Without a doubt, this was the best calamari I’ve ever had - exceeding my previous “best” at Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco. My wife had a Fisherman’s Platter, which included some mahi mahi, sauted or grilled jumbo prawns, and a crab cake, along with veggies and mashed potatoes. The mahi mahi was great, the prawns were a little “under-done”, and the crab cake was an average crab cake. Veggies were not overdone and tasted OK, but the mashed potatoes were “very sad” - tasteless, cold and lumpy, and should not have been served. Portions in all cases were large and we could have easily shared one entree. This way were were stuffed and missed the sweet fare. Overall, Splashers is “tops” for fish when you are in Kona.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prairiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Probably wouldn't visit this restaurant again, service was slow, food very average and prices seemed high for what you got.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Splasher's Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 

Been to Splasher's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing