We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Oaks Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$155
US$147
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,333
US$839
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
120
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homeboogie boardsfarm fresh eggsthe big islandbeach towelsmacadamia nutsbottled waterfresh towelsgoatsrickamyhostsprivacyaccommodationssnorkelshawaiiretreat
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a wonderful place and Rick and May could not have been more accomodating and friendly. The accomodations are spacious, very well maintained and elegant. We could not have asked for more. You are way above the hustle and bustle of Kona with a beautiful view and the sunsets are knock outs. The grounds are lovely. We were looking for a quiet, restful sanctuary which also is positioned as a ground base to access the other wonders of the Big Island. It met all of our needs in spades. We were here for nearly two weeks in April 2014. We will return again next year. We have done a lot of International traveling, seen a lot of places, and this ranks with the very best. And we don't have to drive on the wrong side of the road, can understand road signs, can speak to the locals, and it's close! Hard to beat! And Rick is a master professional photographer. He gave us some well received hints and even took us on a photography outing. The pictures in the Ranch House where we stayed are his. Wow!
Jack and Sue Hammond
Canby, Oregon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack and Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a delightfully different place to stay. With only a few accommodations, this is a homey, warm, fun place where owners Rick and Amy make you feel very welcome. The cottages are well appointed with everything you will need, including coffee and chocolates with macadamia nuts! There are goats and horses in fields nearby and we even got to see three baby goats born the night before we left. Best of all, Silver Oaks is up on a mountain, out of the crowded tourist area but still only ten minutes from the center of Kona. Four of us stayed in two different cottages and highly recommend Silver Oaks!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Salmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When I started researching on a place to stay for our 25th wedding anniversary I had a few things in mind. 1) The Big Island of Hawaii, 2) A place to stay away from the hustle and bustle tourist trap area. 3) wanted to stay and do something different from our other vacations. Well we found the perfect place In http://www.silveroaksranch.com/ our hosts Amy and Rick took extremely great care with us. They were able to direct us and inform us with all the questions we had, they were like our personal concierges. I can not give praises enough on the time we spent there and the peaceful tranquility we experienced. People look no further this is where you want to stay. We stayed in the Ranch House Cottage a Large (800 sq ft) one bedroom, dramatic views of Kona, Kailua Bay, coastline, property Large bedroom with king-size bed, high vaulted ceilings, walk-in closet, Living/dining room, full kitchen with dishwasher, TV, VCR, Stereo Private bath with shower, washer/dryer, Deck with spa and porch swing Wireless desktop with internet.
The animals on the ranch were a treat and friendly Nigerian Dwarf goats, sheep, Hens of all types and last but not least Turkeys. Everything in terms of stuff to do dinner, shows helicopter rides, supermarket are just 15-30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the ranch. Thank you, Rick and Amy. Everything we needed was readily available. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The bedroom was large and airy, perfect for getting the rest we needed. The view is lovely. The location is quiet, yet near enough to all Kailua sights. We felt at home immediately! We were glad to have a kitchen, which included everything needed to cook for ourselves. We will return, I have no doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We traveled to the Big Island of Hawaii to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and found the perfect place to stay at the Silver Oaks Ranch. The owners, Rick and Amy, are the nicest people you will ever meet. They are kind and generous folks who treated us just like family while sharing their beautiful property with us. We rented the Ranch Guest House and it was perfect in every way - very clean, spacious, well-equipped, and comfortable. All of the amenities you could wish for were there - snorkeling gear, beach chairs and towels, back packs, reef shoes, coolers, etc. There were some nice extra touches as well, too numerous to mention, except to say that Rick and Amy are very thoughtful hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Oaks Ranch. Most of all, we appreciated it's peaceful and quiet location, just a short drive from Kona. It was a fun and relaxing place and we highly recommend the Silver Oaks Ranch. It is one of the best places we've had the privilege of renting during our many years of vacationing.

Karyn and Jeff (Plymouth, MA)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karyn and Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews