We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Only stayed one night but the hotel is very nice and in a wonderful location when visiting Kona.
You can walk to many great places to eat, shop, or just tour the town. The hotel is in good condition and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Self parking is available and is only $10 a night with in and out privilidges. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Aloha! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a short visit. We hope your next trip to Hawaii will be for a longer stay with us. Being located in the heart of town is great and the convenience of nearby shops and restaurants is an added bonus for our guests. Many thanks for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    1,321
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
798
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel was really nice. Very up-to-date, clean, and helpful staff.
So close to the ocean, as well as pier where many water attractions depart from.
We will definately stay at this hotel next time we are in Kona.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taunya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your great review about your recent stay with us. We love to hear positive feedback from our valued guests. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great hotel - more like a regular Marriott resort than a traditional Courtyard. Room was excellent. Great place to walk to the tourist area of Kona proper. Small beaches - focus is more on the small town than on beaches. Free wireless internet. Pay $10.00 per day for parking but it's worth it, as parking is very hard to find in the waterfront area of Kona.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirrand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is clean, the staff friendly, the price reasonable and you cannot beat the location. It is right on the beach where the Ironman swim begins and a short walk to restaurants and shops. Further, it is very easy to find from the airport (two right turns--though traffic is rough). This is not a "resort" and it is not a "motel"; the King Kamehameha is right in the middle of those accommodation spectrums. We chose this hotel based on the reviews about the lagoon being good for children--thanks to those reviews--they were absolutely correct (a land-lubber child was able to snorkel on their own). Even though there was a sold-out Maui Brew Company beer event with throngs of people, the hotel staff shielded its guests from the melee. Despite the very happy and quenched participants, we enjoyed a tranquil time at the beach, a great swim at the pool, and some fascinating people watching. One other addition, the breakfast buffet was very nice.

Room Tip: Unless you're a die-hard view fan, don't pay the extra for the view, there is too much to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthegolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Exec Admin at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear when our valued guests appreciate our cleanliness of our hotel, our hardworking staff, our great value and best of all our convenient location.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon coast
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The "King Kam" is a convenient location in Kona ... walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shops and other tourist destinations. However because it is in "downtown" Kona, there is lots of street traffic where Palani turns into Ali'i Drive. There was street construction during our stay, which meant the trucks were beeping their backup horns at 7:30 a.m. Motorcycles and cars whiz by continually. One morning a tour bus parked out front at 6:30 a.m. ... kept his motor running and continually pumped his air brakes.

Note: I was in the east tower facing the street and mountain, which is probably the noisiest side. But my sister was in the west tower and they had to listen to rock music from a nearby bar all evening.

2nd note: My room was described as a "partial ocean view". Well, if I stood on the small balcony and peered around the corner, yes, I could see a little slice of the bay.

All I'm saying is ... if you are dreaming of a nice relaxing Hawaiian vacation, with the sound of wind in the palms only interrupted by the music of waves crashing on the beach ... this is NOT the place for you!

Rooms at the King Kam are very nice ... recently renovated and nicely decorated. The lobby/common areas are beautiful with pretty carpets, a collection of paintings depicting Hawaiian history and some Hawaiian artifacts. This must all have been redone after the tsunami because the first floor of the hotel was pretty well flooded.

Service at the poolside bar is pretty terrible. You usually have to tackle a waitress to put in a drink order. They need more staff at times.

Travel tip: Be sure to visit the Hulihe'e Palace, only a couple blocks from the hotel ... beautiful furnishings and other artifacts, very helpful docents.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljr88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
37.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): RM703 - RM1,518
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing