We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, cheap place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging
Ranked #24 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I stayed at the Moby Dick Hostel for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend and really enjoyed it. Cheap, close to attractions, free parking and linens. It was fun to get to know the other solo travelers and the kitchen was stocked with everything you might need. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A clean, cheap place to crash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Moby Dick Hostel is conveniently located in downtown Seward and is walkable to everything. Most places in Seward charge for parking so it was nice that I could leave my car at the hostel and walk to everything in town. I stayed in the dorm style room and they provide bedding at no cost. There is a communal kitchen which is nice though I did not use it. It was affordable and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emschulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hostel offered clean linens, outlets, big windows, comfortable (small) lounge loft, hot water and multiple bathrooms, and a quaint shared kitchen. Outside there's a small area for sitting, enjoying the garden, and a couple sets of stilts to try while the dog watches. Folks who run the place seem to be good, humble environmentalists and outdoor enthusiasts. Short walk to get to shops & restaurants. Location is also near Forestry office and short drive to boats for Kenai Fjords National Park and around the corner from Exit Glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ec0adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

First off, I just start this off with , I have only stayed in a couple of hostels and have good experiences with those... but we did not love this one. We stayed here while visiting Seward. We booked it for 2 nights, but my wife was not willing to stay another night so we move to a hotel. The host said that she would reverse our money back to us for the second night but did not.

The property felt pretty clean, but we could not deal with the smell. It smelt like, a combination of wet socks, curry, fish, and was hard to sleep with all those smells. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative for seward then go with them. But If you have a little more budget, then I would go else where.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tosh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Quaint little place . Very friendly and helpful staff . They helped me with trying to get my phone straightened out . They have me directions to the library . The rooms are what I expected . The bathrooms are what I expected . The location is somewhat convenient . I parked on the street and that worked out . The wifi is kind of weak .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank cbo1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
0.6 km away
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
#10 of 13 in Seward
105 reviews
1.7 km away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#12 of 13 in Seward
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging

Address: 432 Third Avenue, P.O. Box 624, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: RM 86 - RM 312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in downtown Seward, Alaska and offer the following types of accommodation:- Lodging Rooms, with a full and a twin size beds, kitchenette, shared bathroom- Hostel Private/Family Room, with a queen size bed, some with additional bunk bed, shared kitchen and shared bathroom- Hostel - Dormitory style accommodation, shared kitchen, shared bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing