We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging
Ranked #24 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here Suzanne is very friendly and accommodating our large group of six. Even provided a large pot for us to cook our crablegs in. Nice and clean good kitchen overall great place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sourdoughought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Classic hostel, very tiny cramped rooms, upper bank almost hits the ceiling, access is through gravel parking lot, meaning mud (it rains a lot), but sheets were clean, and basic services are provided, and the price is really low.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has flat ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yael655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I stayed at the Moby Dick Hostel for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend and really enjoyed it. Cheap, close to attractions, free parking and linens. It was fun to get to know the other solo travelers and the kitchen was stocked with everything you might need. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A clean, cheap place to crash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Moby Dick Hostel is conveniently located in downtown Seward and is walkable to everything. Most places in Seward charge for parking so it was nice that I could leave my car at the hostel and walk to everything in town. I stayed in the dorm style room and they provide bedding at no cost. There is a communal kitchen which is nice though I did not use it. It was affordable and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emschulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hostel offered clean linens, outlets, big windows, comfortable (small) lounge loft, hot water and multiple bathrooms, and a quaint shared kitchen. Outside there's a small area for sitting, enjoying the garden, and a couple sets of stilts to try while the dog watches. Folks who run the place seem to be good, humble environmentalists and outdoor enthusiasts. Short walk to get to shops & restaurants. Location is also near Forestry office and short drive to boats for Kenai Fjords National Park and around the corner from Exit Glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ec0adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
8 km away
Nauti Otter
Nauti Otter
#7 of 46 in Seward
196 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.3 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
5.5 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging

Address: 432 Third Avenue, P.O. Box 624, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: RM90 - RM327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in downtown Seward, Alaska and offer the following types of accommodation:- Lodging Rooms, with a full and a twin size beds, kitchenette, shared bathroom- Hostel Private/Family Room, with a queen size bed, some with additional bunk bed, shared kitchen and shared bathroom- Hostel - Dormitory style accommodation, shared kitchen, shared bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing