We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be better”

Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #11 of 307 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A cute & cozy BBQ joint specializing in FRESH hickory smoked meats. Located just 1.5 miles from I-73, exit 273.
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Not sure what happened but this place kind of went down hill, not that it's terrible, just not as good as I remember. It's always a plus to go and get dog bone too

Thank tavaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chic D, Owner at Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Sorry to hear that you feel our quality has "went downhill". We use the same quality meats and the recipes have not changed in 8 years. I would love to know what you ordered so I can keep a closer eye on the product. Thanks for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Big Shanty is a barbecue joint. It's not fancy. Seating is fine but it's not a place that will impress restaurant designers. Parking is terrible. Where it will impress anyone who knows good cue is in its barbecue. Quite simply the best brisket around. Any meathead can smoke pork butts, but it takes a great deal more skill to consistently produce good brisket. And their sausage, made from rib meat, is outstanding!

1  Thank DLGilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chic D, Owner at Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

This is a GREAT BBQ joint right in the middle of Kennesaw.
We love all of the food and generally get a sampler platter and split it. Can't go wrong with Big Shanty!

Thank Chowyunfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Delicious BBQ and friendly service! PLENTY of gluten free options, including their delicious Brunswick Stew!

Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chic D, Owner at Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I'm from Ohio was heading to Florida we was looking for lunch and saw shantys so glad we did we have nothing that even comes close to this BBQ in Ohio it was so good had the ribs and Mac and cheese the Mac and cheese is the best as well if ur in the area and u want some good bbq for a good price it's a must

Thank rootster800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chic D, Owner at Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thanks for the great review! Hope you can stop back by next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing