We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay-get a room facing north”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Indiana
Level Contributor
209 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Another great stay-get a room facing north”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I've stayed here several times and never been disappointed. Not in the downtown core (about a half mile away) but closer to Capitol Hill. Booked at seattlesupersaver.com (and got a better rate than on Marriott.com, even with AAA). Got my favorite room (facing north). Some rooms are too close to I-5 or city streets. Room was spotless. Service was great. FREE use of the 24 Hour Fitness across the street. Nice breakfast. Alot of families here. I'm a picky traveller but can't find anything to criticize with this stay.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    338
    127
    46
    24
See reviews for
217
164
40
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We read the reviews and thought that it was worth a try especially since we were only staying for the night.

First, the rate was cheap compared to other hotels that are "downtown" - technically this place is a good 15-20 minute walk into downtown. The Mariott has a Best Rate guarantee and I went from paying $150 for a King Suite to $89 for a King Suite (excluding taxes). I found the better rate on the Seattle Tourism Board website and Mariott quickly recognized and beat the cheaper deal....so we're off to a good start.

Location:
Hotel is beside the I-5. There's a lot of one-way streets so it was hard to find the right street to turn onto. Therefore, take the Stewart Exit and stay in the left hand lane. Yale Avenue is like the 2nd intersection. I strongly recommend requesting at check-in for a room furthest from the freeway and as high as you can. We stayed with our 9-month old daugther and she slept so well during the night and I attribute that to our room - 726.

It definitely appears to be in an up and coming area - new condos being developed, great little shops towards the REI - but there was a shady patch near the bus depot along Stewart. I felt totally safe walking around during the day but I would prefer to take a taxi or use the Free Hotel Shuttle at night. Make sure you reserve the shuttle first.

Parking:
$20 per night for valet parking but you get in/out privileges. I would suggest calling 10 minutes ahead when you pick up your car. Once we called three times and even had to ask the front desk to check if anyone was there.

Amenities:
You do get a hot breakfast - sausages, egg, waffles, toast, muffins, bagels, coffee, tea, juice - but get there when it starts. It was already packed by the time we went down which was just 5 minutes past the opening time. We didn't try the pool but my husband and brother-in-law did use the 24 Hour Fitness pass (it's across the street beside a Starbucks) and really liked the facility.

Room:
Wow, a King Suite was great. Only downfall was you get a "privacy wall" which is just a short slab of drywall that just separates your face from the rest of the room while you sleep. We got a mini-fridge (freezer didn't really work, just kept things cool), a microwave, sink and even a dishcloth. It was spacious for 3 adults but once you unfold the sofa bed there's not much room for our buggy or even a crib.

The decor is like any other hotel chain - clean with some patterns. You get free wireless or plug-in Internet and there's a flat screen tv. I felt the bed was too hard but my husband thought it was great, so go figure.


Summary:
For the price we paid, we had an excellent time. We were within walking distance to downtown where all the shops and restaurants are, Pike Place, and REI. We had free Internet and breakfast and the exit to I-5 South is literally around the corner.

Just make sure you look around for a cheaper deal to take advantage of their Best Rate Guarantee.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I perused TripAdvisor for weeks before choosing Springhill Suites in Seattle.

Here are my issues:
* We booked a King Suite. It is listed as a two room suite. To me, two rooms means that the rooms are separate. This is not the case. There is a giant doorway between the bedroom and the living room. There is just one television on a small dresser in this doorway and it turns towards the bed or towards the couch. I booked this room because my husband always wakes up before me and likes to watch TV without disturbing me. Not this time.
* The area around the hotel is not a nice part of the city. We did not feel comfortable walking around. We were very far from the tourist attractions; not walking distance at all.
This is a big concern for me.

Here are my praises:
* The ladies at the front desk are very friendly yet professional. We felt welcomed. In fact, all the staff members we encountered were very courteous.
* There is a free shuttle from 7 am to 9 pm, every hour on the hour, that takes guests to The Convention Center, Space Needle, or Pike Place Market.
* Free in-room WiFi internet...always nice.
* Great view of the Space Needle from our room.
* Free breakfast.

Other info:
* Parking is $20. I like free parking better, but so be it.
* There is a mini-fridge and microwave in the room.
* There is a small indoor pool and a jacuzzi.
* The exercise room consists of two treadmills and one elliptical machine.
* There is a business center with a computer and printer.

We would not stay at this hotel again only because of the room configuration and the distance to the attractions that brought us here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

I just read the trip report of the people who satyed over the same weekend we did (4th July 2009 weekend) Everyone in our party of 6 loved this hotel.
Here is a mini summery of our stay.

mini trip report about the hotel.


First off whoever said they wouldnt recommend this hotel was just a bit off in my opinion.


We had a great time at this hotel.


The only charge per night is a 20 dollar a night parking charge...no biggie.(its a BIg city and Ive seen 60 dollar a night charges before)

We got 2 rooms thru Priceline for 65 each, 3 nights amenities incuded an indoor pool and hot tub, free wireless or free computer use and printers in their business center FREE buffet breakfast each morning (GOOD) good selection of Fresh and Buffet foods eggs sausage bisquits yogurts breads cereal orange apple juice milk coffee etc

The lobby was just recently remodeled and it looks like a 4* quality lobby. VERY Impressive remodel!!
Every employee was as nice as can be and very professional,


On sundays they have an appetizer promotion (2.50) and they were GREAT KOBE beef sliders/Chix Skewers Poke,,,,,pan asian spicy noodles... everything was GREAT.


The rooms are basic but nice enough and large.


Its listed as a 2.5* hotel but really is a 3.5* hotel.


Its and incredible deal


We even got a Space Needle View from our rooms.


I would Highly Recommend this Fine Mariott Property!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthMauiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed over the 4th July weekend, so the hotel was busy. Check-in was easy and friendly enough. I had a room facing the highway, which was a bit noisy, but the glazing cushioned it quite well. The room was a generous size, with amenties to aid in self catering if you prefer. However, although the bath tub has a "non-slip" surface for taking a shower, it is still lethally slippery in my opinion. On calling down for a non-slip mat, I was told there were non left as they had all been 'lent' out to other guests...The bathroom and basin areas are seperate which is quite a good idea, but the bath soap and shampoo are left by the basin for some strange reason, meaning if you forget them, you need to take a slippery wet walk out to fetch them????? On the occasions we needed something, the staff seemed not be as responsive or receptive to the enquiry as one would like, but there was one lady (from UTAH according to her badge) who seemed to be the best of the bunch for me.
Like I said it was 4th Jul weekend, so breakfast was extra busy. Nevertheless I was a little disappointed by the selection, which seemed to be limited somewhat. they ran out of waffle mix early on, and they couldn't bus the tables quickly enough. Also, I did 'catch' some of the staff exiting the kitchen actively chewing on something, which was very unprofessional.
We had a late flight, meaning that we had to check-out whilst they secured our bags for the afternoon. On our return, we enquired about if there somewhere we could freshen up, and the staff recommended the Gym across the street, which hosts guests of the hotel free of charge. However, when we asked about towels, we were told the gym SOLD towels. There was no effort by the staff to get a couple of their towels for us to use, and it was only on our suggestion that there may be some in the hotel pool area, that they though it was a logical idea. Even so, they expected us to go and get them although i felt they should have tried to do all they could to aid us. As a Marriot Silver Elite member, I expected more from the staff servicewise and this was the most disappointing thing.
Starbucks/Subway across the street shut on weekends. Long walk from downtown area, hence one reason I wouldnt choose here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): RM871 - RM1,730
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing