We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B +museum”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stay in Big Bear for one night,didn't were there much time ,but enough to see how many interesting artifacts are there on very small place. On our cozy room was comfy bed ,there was point to prepare tea and cafe, breakfast was simple but enough,the many kinds of jams was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Yea, the neighborhood may or may not be great but we liked this place a lot. I had reserved the Denali room because my wife cannot do stair easily and we were surprised to find what amounted to a two room suite complete with a jetted tub, shower and even a bidet. This place is full of photos and memorabilia as well as beautiful old furniture. To some maybe it would be cluttered but we enjoyed Carol's stories that went along with her trophies. We had the place to ourselves so noise was not an issue, had a wonderful breakfast the next morning and got another story about one of her sourdough starters. We enjoyed ourselves and the house and her beautiful gardens!

Room Tip: If you need to avoid stairs the Denali Room is on the main floor. As a side benefit it is huge with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank preams1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The minute you walk in the door there is bear skins, bones, antlers and everything Alaska!! We stayed in the Denali room I loved the bed, the screen and the shower but the toilet in the cupboard was interesting (although have stayed in a hotel where it was in the shower!!) our room was very noisy, and at 2:30am some new guests arrived and sounded like a herd of elephants above us not reall happy about that! We had arranged with Carol to have our breakfast at 7am but when we came out the table was full of other guests and so we didn't get fed until 8 or 8:30 the food was good though. I would stay here again. The neighbourhood is not so great but we felt safe in this little oasis. The whole family were very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in the Denali room. There is a lot of stuff...everywhere but that didn't bother us because we came to Alaska for the scenery and wildlife, not the B&B. Frankly, if you use B&B's for more than sleeping and having breakfast, you'd probably be happier at an all-inclusive resort or hotel- regardless of the B&B in question. Breakfast was great; most toppings and syrups for the waffles were either homemade or organic or both. Breakfast is also served around your schedule, so if you need an early breakfast, let Carol know the night before. If you're accustomed to only feeling safe in well-manicured subdivisions, then this probably isn't the place for you, however we never once felt that our safety was compromised. My only complaint is the mattresses; they were so soft it almost felt like we were sleeping on a sponge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank michele_f531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Older B&B stuffed with all things Alaska to the point of being junky. Hostess was very helpful and breakfast was very good though don't know how she had room to cook in the kitchen. The bathroom in a closet did not work well for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
18.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
48 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,162 reviews
8.5 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
4.5 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
4.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing