We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$264
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
35
21
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningprivate bathroomanchorage areacarolalaska
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2014

really good breakfast and much storys, really a great place to stay,
a oasis in the middle of nothing almost
much things in the house to look at, nativ things, books and so on
microwave, fridge and koffi, tea and chocolate 24/7 for free

Room Tip: we had the toklat because it have two beds
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank norwaygirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stay in Big Bear for one night,didn't were there much time ,but enough to see how many interesting artifacts are there on very small place. On our cozy room was comfy bed ,there was point to prepare tea and cafe, breakfast was simple but enough,the many kinds of jams was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Yea, the neighborhood may or may not be great but we liked this place a lot. I had reserved the Denali room because my wife cannot do stair easily and we were surprised to find what amounted to a two room suite complete with a jetted tub, shower and even a bidet. This place is full of photos and memorabilia as well as beautiful old furniture. To some maybe it would be cluttered but we enjoyed Carol's stories that went along with her trophies. We had the place to ourselves so noise was not an issue, had a wonderful breakfast the next morning and got another story about one of her sourdough starters. We enjoyed ourselves and the house and her beautiful gardens!

Room Tip: If you need to avoid stairs the Denali Room is on the main floor. As a side benefit it is huge with a jetted tub and a view of the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank preams1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The minute you walk in the door there is bear skins, bones, antlers and everything Alaska!! We stayed in the Denali room I loved the bed, the screen and the shower but the toilet in the cupboard was interesting (although have stayed in a hotel where it was in the shower!!) our room was very noisy, and at 2:30am some new guests arrived and sounded like a herd of elephants above us not reall happy about that! We had arranged with Carol to have our breakfast at 7am but when we came out the table was full of other guests and so we didn't get fed until 8 or 8:30 the food was good though. I would stay here again. The neighbourhood is not so great but we felt safe in this little oasis. The whole family were very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in the Denali room. There is a lot of stuff...everywhere but that didn't bother us because we came to Alaska for the scenery and wildlife, not the B&B. Frankly, if you use B&B's for more than sleeping and having breakfast, you'd probably be happier at an all-inclusive resort or hotel- regardless of the B&B in question. Breakfast was great; most toppings and syrups for the waffles were either homemade or organic or both. Breakfast is also served around your schedule, so if you need an early breakfast, let Carol know the night before. If you're accustomed to only feeling safe in well-manicured subdivisions, then this probably isn't the place for you, however we never once felt that our safety was compromised. My only complaint is the mattresses; they were so soft it almost felt like we were sleeping on a sponge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank michele_f531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews