We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprises! surprises!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2015

It's true that we were a bit surprised (not in the good way) when we made a turn into the neighborhood. Also true that although the exterior of the house looks lovely, the first look inside was full of clusters. However, as soon as we dragged our luggage upstairs and opened the bedroom door, we were so pleasantly surprised. Clean, spacious and very comfortable and many artifacts of interest. And the garden is also full of delights--flowers, berries and waterfalls which are truly amazing. If you are expecting something posh or hip, don't come here. in big bear, we really got to get a sense of the local dwelling as well as a bit of the local history, which the owner shared with us during breakfast the next morning. I learned about the stories about the bears, sourdough yeast and the hard working people as they are, and for that knowledge and experience, I am grateful.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are quieter and our room (the grizzly) looks down upon the garden which is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2015

Taxi here from train cost $12. Room was huge and decoration (bear hides and heads and other trophies) were quite nice. Breakfast was amazing (home cooked and fresh). Host was nice and house was quite. Plenty of parking for all guests. On road towards Denali so perfect for our next day. Supermarket just up the road

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed here with another couple for 4 days to explore Anchorage before heading off to Denali. Located slightly out of town but only a few minutes from a regular bus route if you do not have a car. Also close to a bike trail into town as we hired bikes for a couple days. Carol, our host is a great cook and we had different Alaskan breakfasts each day. Rooms were clean and comfortable with ensuite. Carol is also a wealth of information and has many great stories of growing up in Alaska and her family's history.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexico Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. A big reason for chosing this place was that it should be a fragrance free environment since my husband is allergic. To our disappointment it wasn't! The bathroom there smelt more of perfume than any other bathroom on our trip! That gave my husband headache. The room was OK but it was a bit to warm in there. The wifi was a bit slow and the bed a little to small for two. The bathroom and the shower was in a closet, but that was OK. The breakfast was good, but you couldn' t chose for yourself what you wanted. The choice was made for you. It's not like staying in a bed and breakfast in England. The distance to downtown Anchorage is OK.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Carol is the best innkeeper. She stayed up late to let us in her home when our flight was delayed. The room and bed we had was very comfortable.
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay. Carol is a fabulous cook and historical story teller.The house if full of bears and history.
Great location for day trips around Anchorage.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
18.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
48 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,162 reviews
8.5 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
4.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
4.5 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing